Fiction logo

Finding R&R

Striving to be in the moment

By Kohl YoungerPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Finding R&R
Photo by Josh Duke on Unsplash

We dove up the snowy, winding road towards the cozy A-frame cabin. We were both relieved we made it. We lost cell phone connection an hour ago, but one of the amenities to this getaway cabin said it had Wi-Fi. Besides, for me, I didn’t care if I had cell phone service or not. It was just good to get away from the hustle and bustle. Carmella was asleep in the passenger seat.

“Carmella… Babe?” I nudged her shoulder a little. She woke up looked over at me and then stretched.

“hhhuuuuooooo. How long did I sleep for? Carmella asked me. She looked around observed her surroundings.

“You slept for about 45 minutes or so.” I replied.

I smiled at her and waited for her to look at me while she looked at her phone.

“Ah. Still no service.” Carmella said as she dropped her hands in her lap holding her phone. I smiled.

“They have Wi-Fi. Besides we here to enjoy ourselves. Remember?” I leaned over to give her a kiss, but she was totally into her phone and got out of the car.

“Hey.” I spoke.

“What?” Carmella said still looking at her phone.

“I tried to give you a kiss.” I said as she stood there with her body facing me. She then looked at me.

“Oh, I’m sorry babe.” She leaned in, gave me a kiss and grabbed my cheeks. “Your right babe, but I’m just anxious about the the email from the guy who is doing this Lyrical Poetic Social. This social is starting to take off and- “, I cut her off.

“Babe, you going to get it you’re a badass writer. Let’s go in and get the Wi-Fi code.” I spoke.

“Thank you.” Carmella said and gave me a smile of appreciation.

“Here you go.” I said as I handed her the card key to the front door.

“I will grab the bags.” I said and got out of the car.

Carmella had made some hot cocoa in the kitchen as I checked the house and put our bags upstairs in the bedroom. The cabin/house was very clean and had vintage furniture. I thought to myself I hope this place isn’t haunted.

I walked in the kitchen and Carmella was sipping her hot cocoa and checking her phone. I grabbed her from behind.

“Hey how is the house?” Carmella asked me. “Any ghost?” She looked back at me smiling searching my eyes.

“The furniture and textures are vintage.” I said as she turned back around to scroll her social media and look at her email.

I took a deep breath. Carmella sensed my concern that she was going to be on her phone this whole getaway.

“Don’t start. You know how I get when it comes to landing a job.” Carmella decided to get off her phone and walked over and poured me a cup of hot cocoa.

“Let's go outside,” I said as she handed me my cup.

“Let's go.” Carmella said. I glanced back to see if she picked up her phone. She didn’t pick her phone up.

“It is so nice and quiet out here.” Carmella said.

“Look.” I went over to the fire pit which was surrounded by outside furniture with a cover over head. I pressed a button and a fake fire lit up the fake logs on the fire. There was a real fire pit, but it wasn’t cleared or covered.

“Wow, that is cool.” Carmella said.

“Babe, I just want to spend quality time with you and for you to relax while we’re here.”

We heard the phone Bing. Both our eyes lit up.

ExcerptShort Story
Like

About the Creator

Kohl Younger

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.