Fiction logo

Fever

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
7
Fever
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

My darling wife was becoming hotter by the hour and I was becoming more worried. I called the advice nurse, I gave her cool compresses. She is not responding to homemade soup, medicine or even my love.

“Deirdre, please, we must go to the hospital!” I cry, holding onto her clammy, ghost white hands. Her fingers are edging on the blanket, looking as though they are spelling out a message I cannot ascertain.

“No… Felicia, I won’t….” She rasps out, coughing.

“Where is your phone? I’ll charge it..” I say and she gives me a strange smile, not responding.

Suddenly she sputters out a intense rattle like cough, the intense pain on her lovely, once vibrant face gone and she says nothing, looking forward in a catatonic state.

Comatose, eyes open, never sleeps, walks around Babbling nonsense.

Hospital X-Rays show she somehow lodged the smartphone’s motherboard deep inside her brain, possibly in a car accident.

She never told me about the accident and covered up the scars and injuries, somehow… and as I hold my phone’s keyboard to her dead starving stare, she types out without looking, “itssss a catching fever”.

The term “phone zombie,” just doesn’t have a ring to it anymore.

MicrofictionLoveHorror
7

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran12 months ago

    Whoaaaa this was sooooo creepy! Especially when Felicia found out that Deidre covered the whole accident and scars up. That was creepier that lodging the phone's motherboard in her brain, lol!

  • Novel Allen12 months ago

    I think we all have one in our brain. It's what caused the C virus. We all need help!!!!

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    Oh wow, great story . Very Original. Thanks for entering it to the Zombie smartphone challenge 🥰

  • Leslie Writes12 months ago

    Oh dang! Extremely relatable. I’m think I’ve had this fever for several years now. It’s terminal!

  • Haha nice one❤️💯😉

  • I'd leave a comment for you, Melissa, but I think I need to check my phone first....

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.