Fiction logo

Fell For The Grim Reaper

Short story on falling in love with the grim reaper (WARNING HEAVY TOPIC WITH DEATH)

By Dristin VanderleiPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Like

I guess I never really loved her. I loved something else a bit more. I had fallen in love with death. That's the relationship that mattered to me I guess.

Jack Cross, my name, I'm just your normal average guy who works at the local supermarket. But in my head I'm not really average. I'm a hero, in my imagination of course...well I guess that means my head right. I have saved the world, the universe, many times in my head. I have accomplished so much in there. I'm the leader to the characters in my mind. So I think I have accomplished enough.

I dated this girl I really liked, I'm talking really, really liked. This girl was freaking perfect, but I didn't show it enough, I just let whatever that was there die. Her attraction to me I let die, I told my friends she doesn't like me just so they could leave me alone about her. They always wanted to bring her up, and I always just wanted to talk about dying. That's why I probably pushed her away, I didn't like her distracting me from knowing that I am gonna die. She made me to happy in my existence, which only caused me to not welcome death. But now with her gone I can welcome death with open arms.

Death

Death, my one true love, the only thing that helps me peacefully fall asleep at night. Knowing I am gonna die. I love death. That's why in my head me and death have parties, we hangout, we dance, we do whatever we desire to do in the moment. If it wasn't for death I would be lost.

I mean like I said I am only average man working at the supermarket. Death always kept my mind straight.

Everyone is so scared of how much time they got left, and here I am hoping today is my last day. There is nothing to be afraid of. I stopped seeing her, cause the relationship was all over the place, I never knew where it was gonna go. I guess I was to scared of her disappointing me, breaking my heart. So I chose to chase after death again, the grim reaper, cause at least then I knew what I was going to get.

That's the problem with relationships with people, you never know where they are gonna go. You can never trust a person, not even your own parents. They are not in your head so they won't get you. It is your job to chase that thing you think of from the time you wake up till the time you go to bed. And all I ever thought about was the grim reaper. Something I feel is misunderstood, like me. I say that cause everyone is so scared of it. I think that's cause they don't spend their time thinking about it as much as me. They all just think about their relationships with their parents, friends, girlfriends, boyfriends, family the whole bit, or maybe their doctor appointments and all that jazz. All just clinging to life, to live just one more second all because they are scared of the grim reaper.

I mean I guess if that stuff is important to you follow that. But, the only relationship that is important to me is the one with death, the grim reaper.

I almost forgot to mention, it's my birthday today, everyone I work with at the supermarket got me a cake, I made a wish of course. I will never not make a wish, making wishes is one of my favorite things ever. So, what was my wish, I mean I guess you probably already know. I just wished, to see the grim reaper.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Dristin Vanderlei

I'm Dristin someone who found his passion for writing when I was kid and fell in love with movies, once I figured out I could basically just tell my own stories I been writing ever since. Appreciate if you check out my writings plz comment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.