Fiction logo

Feeling Human part six

Futurama fanfiction

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1

Oh my God, Bender is hot.

I mean, super, mega, ultra hot.

He’s like Brad Pitt and Benicio Del Toro mixed together. Spleesh! I see everyone trying to sneak a peek of him.

He has these huge brown eyes, but they have this greenish tint to them. It’s unreal. That long black hair..

And his smile…

Oomph!

Yeah, I dated him before, it was no biggie. But that was before he was human!

Like, I see Fry is linked hip to hip to Bender, and following him everywhere!

I definitely think Fry is becoming a bit head over heels for new human Bender.

I mean.. who wouldn’t?

By Warren Wong on Unsplash

Leela even gave him a few glances, and I swear I saw Fry give her the evil eye.

All week, this first week Bender has been human, Fry spends all his time with Bender.

Leela is over it. I asked her to come out with me, tonight, but before I talk to Bender a bit while Fry is in the bathroom.

“You doing good? How’s the body?” I asked him.

“Uh, pretty good, Amy. It’s… taken a while to get used to.” He smiles this charming grin and his eyes are so big and sweet looking, I can’t even stop myself from grinning back.

“You… you and Fry are hanging out. A lot. You two.. doing good?”

Bender looks down and licks his lip in a shy way, then says, “Uh… we are doing fine. Why?”

“If you need a breather, let me know.” I can’t help but wink at him, and he grins bigger.

Suddenly, it looks as though he remembered something. He looks away and then at me solemnly.

“Fry is… we are..” he starts to say and then out comes Fry, latching onto Bender’s arm.

“Come on, we are going to miss the movie!” Fry says, pulling him away.

I wave, and say, “Hey Fry! What are you guys up to? A movie?”

“Yeah, Amy. We’re seeing this movie, gotta go! Have a great weekend!” Fry says hurriedly.

Bender looks flustered but I see they start holding hands as soon as they turn the corner to leave.

“Thanks! Bye Fry! Bye Bender!” I yell.

Leela walks in and says, “Did they already leave? They didn’t even say good bye!” She groans.

“What’s it matter? You usually don’t care when Fry and Bender leave for the weekend.”

“It’s.. I don’t know… why is Fry only hanging out with him? I get it. Bender’s a human now, he’s good looking, he is interesting! So… yeah.. is it what I think it is?” Leela’s eye looked at me in this desperate pull, and I frowned.

“I don’t know.”

“Ugh! What is going on?”

“Leela, aren’t you happy he isn’t asking you out anymore?”

“No… yes… I don’t know!” Leela puts her hand over her eye.

“Let’s go out. My treat. Girls night out, okay?” I say and Leela smiles and nods.

“Sure, Amy. Sounds great!” Leela says and grabs her stuff.

We head to a bar lounge and I buy us a couple rounds of martinis and margaritas, with some yummy nachos to share.

“So,” I eat a few chips smothered in carnitas and cheese, “What do you think of Bender?”

She gulps down a strawberry margarita, looking at me expectantly, “I was thinking the same thing, what do you think, Amy? I mean…. Bender is known to change himself in drastic ways. But this.. wow. I was shocked.”

I nodded, “Yes. I was too. A huge shock. But, Bender seems so happy.” I lean in close and whisper, “Isn’t he really hot?”

Leela covers her mouth and giggles. “Uh.. yes. He’s very hot.”

“With that snarky voice, I just… mmm! He’s yum.”

Leela laughs, “I get it, Amy. And I agree. Though, Bender isn’t my type.”

I frown, “Okay, spill. What is your type?”

“Not anyone I work with, for one,” Leela says as she dips her finger on the rim of her glass (pink sugar was on it) to taste it.

“Again, you’re not telling me what your type is. Only what isn’t your type!” I roll my eyes.

“Guys who are mature. Who got it together. Guys that know what they want.”

I nod. “That’s all good things. I agree. But… hmm, can I ask you something?”

She drinks a martini and nods. “Go ahead.”

“Why won’t you really give Fry a chance? Even I gave Fry a chance…” I trail off and look down. Leela grimaces.

“He’s a man child. He is very immature,” she sighs. “He’s very sweet, but just.. too much. Too much immaturity.”

I nod but shrug. “He’s changed.. I mean… he seems more put together now than from when we first met him,”

True…” she looks forward in a thoughtful way, and then sighs again. “Fry is cute. I just… let’s talk about the elephant in the room… this whole thing about Bender and Fry being inseparable.” She looks frustrated all of a sudden and I detect a hint of jealousy too.

“I think Fry is smitten with Bender, I mean, they’ve always been close. And best friends. Fry is attached to Bender now, and it’s obvious.”

Leela blinks her eye in a tight way and opens it slowly. “What’s… obvious?”

Her tone is stone cold and my heart leaps a bit. She is jealous.

“I think he’s… he’s… in love. That’s what I sense…” as I say it, Leela looks devastated.

“Amy, I think I need a stronger drink. Please…” she covers her face with her hands.

I nod and order us some vodka sours. “Okay, Leela, tell me what is going on right now in your head?” I say as supportively as possible, and place my hand on her shoulder.

“I never thought I would say I’m… jealous,” she says the word as though it’s a dirty secret, and I shake my head. “But I am. Seeing Fry this last week since Bender’s change, he constantly looks at Bender, always talks to him, smiles in this dumb, dreamy way when Bender is next to him… I just..” she tears up. “I just can’t believe it. Yes.. I admit it,” she looks at me with a teary expression. “I’m jealous. And I think… I love Fry..” she starts crying and I move in to hug her.

“It’ll be okay. We are only guessing here. We don’t have any concrete proof anything is going on between him and Bender. You know? So… just relax. I’m sure Fry isn’t over you.”

Leela hugs me back and sighs softly. “Thanks, Amy. You’re sweet, sometimes…”

I snort with a laugh. “Yeah, you’re right. Sometimes I can be a real bitchy skank, huh?”

Leela laughs and leans in toward me, bouncing her hip against me, and I grin.

“Well… so can I, right? We can be empowered bitches. Right, girl?” Leela teases.

I nod, “Yes! I love that. It’s so… empowering and junk…”

Leela nods and chuckles. “Thanks again, Amy. This was just what I needed. And..” she leans in close. “Please, I need you to promise me.. you won’t tell anyone about what I said. Okay?”

I nod seriously, “I swear, Leela.”

We continue to drink and talk, and I feel that heaviness on my shoulders… wondering just how all of this will actually play out.

Fan Fiction
1

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Lol, now she loves him!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.