Fiction logo

Fear

Don't convince people of what scares you. We share our stories hoping it could heal that void that fear created in our souls. Fear will always be there. We can only hope we can be stronger than it.

By Jonas CasillasPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Growing up, I had my share of, let us call them "occurrences", and when I share these stories, they are understandably met with curiosity, skepticism, and sometimes with incredulity.

Fear is such a personal experience, and no matter how you tell it, the event has to be experienced by oneself.

Have you ever seen shadows in your room when everything is dark? Have you ever felt that you are being watched or followed when you go back to your room after getting a late night glass of water or after going to the bathroom?

We feel sometimes that it's just our brains playing with us but what would you say if I tell you that you are indeed being watched?

My mother always told me she would pray while everyone in my house was asleep so our soul could find our way back once we were ready to wake up. Our souls have a funny way to reflect what we feel at some point in our lives. The only time I felt at peace and not angry all the time was when I was trying to sleep.

Sleeping was a escape of the burden of my daily life. Every once in a while I had a bad dream where I woke up sweating and exhausted, almost as if I was being chased by something.

One day, I woke up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom but this particular time, it felt wrong. There was no noise. I know it was late and everyone was sleeping but this eerie silence was something else, almost as if no sound was allowed to be inside.

I felt someone, something, watching me while I was walking back to my room. At the end of the hallway, before making a left into my room, there was a very large mirror. I started walking with my head looking down because something told me that if I look into the mirror, I would see something I wouldn't like. I was afraid.

I rushed into my room and when I was ready to get into my bed, I felt these cold hands grabbing my neck and pushed my face into the pillow.

I tried to scream. I was trying to call my mother's name so she could help me. I was trying to get her to pray for me. I saw this black mass, almost inhuman, attacking me. "Why are you doing this?!" was the only thought going through my head.

In a split second, I was able to free myself from its grasp. I ran towards the hallway and there she was, my mother waiting for me with her arms wide open ready to embrace me and comfort me. I had tears in my eyes, I was trying to catch my breath after almost being suffocated by this strange being.

"Where were you, mom?" I said. "Why didn't you pray for me?"

"She tried." My mother calmly expressed while caressing my head.

I look towards the hallway mirror, and I couldn't recognize myself anymore. I couldn't see my face. I knew I was gone.

All this time, I wished to be away from this world, and now, I don't even know why I wanted to escape. My anger consume me to the point that I was no longer the person I once knew. I don't know if I granted my own wish to sleep forever or... am I awake? I don't know anymore to be honest with you.

If you see me wondering around, please, do not be afraid. I was once like you and I mean you no harm. I'll try to keep the bad ones away. The ones that feed from our negative thoughts. I'll try me best so you can sleep well.

I will pray for you.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Jonas Casillas

Retired Witcher & Gwent ex-champion,

Keeper of the Dalish & useless pop culture references,

Soccer prodigy but then I took an arrow to the knee.

Comics, Film, Sports

IG: jonascasillas7

Twitter:@KirkwallChamp7

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.