Fiction logo

Family Lines

A fictional story about family legacies.

By Tiahna - Education = ChangePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Family Lines
Photo by Ján Jakub Naništa on Unsplash

Family Lines

Chapter 1:

Tears began to well in my eyes as I took in the grand structure that stood before me. My hair blew about in the wind and the ever-darkening sky warned of the storm coming. I could hear people hurrying about the street trying to get home before it hits. Yet still, I could not tear my eyes away from this home. No, this house. It has not been a home since she passed away.

Taking hold of the rail I grudgingly began to ascend the stairs. Each step making my heart feel heavier and my soul feel hollow. It has been years since I last stepped foot into this place. I wonder if she hated me for that. Her regret was evident at the hospital, it showed clearly on her face.

‘This is the first time in years we have all been together. It’s sad that it takes death to bring a family back together.’ Her words were true but hurt us all as if they were daggers.

I took hold of the cold brass doorknob and twisted it as I pushed open the door. A musty smell hit my nose signalling the lack of life this place had seen these past few months. Walking through the threshold I felt the familiarity of this house but could also feel the cold difference. Over the fireplace a family portrait hung. Staring at it, I fell to my knees in tears.

‘I’m sorry Grandma, I am so sorry. I miss you and I know I wasn’t around as much as I should have been!’ I cried out to the deafening silence. Knowing my grandmother passed away in this big house alone hurt more than I ever realised possible. Knowing that she left this all to me, the granddaughter that once she had practically raised.

‘No, there is no more time for this.’ I said to myself as encouragement. ‘Grandma wanted me to find the locket as her last gift to me. That’s my mission today.’

With these words helping to fuel me and the note Grandma left me burning a hole in my pocket I took the stairs two at a time. I pulled the note out and read it for the umpteenth time since it arrived in my mail. ‘Aria, my dearest. Please go to our home and find the locket I have drawn below. It rests in a jewellery box in the attic. Remember that things are not always as they seem, and we all have the power to a better future. Your Grandma.’ I carefully placed the note back inside my pocket and entered the dusty attic.

Boxes were piled, surrounded with cobwebs and dust. The dark sky could just be made out through the small foggy window. A gap in the window and wall allowed the wind to come howling through. I shuddered at the cold breeze and began to search for the jewellery box.

‘There it is!’ I all but yelped out as I finally found it behind some rusting metal trellises. Climbing up on to the wobbly boxes I stretched my arm right out to reach for the box and just managed to get a hold of it before I fell.

‘Ouch!’ I yelled as the trellis scratched my arm. ‘I’m probably going to need a tetanus shot now.’ Grumbling I opened the box I fought so hard to get and gasped as I saw the locket inside. I delicately pulled the locket out by its chain and studied its heart shape. It was beautiful and elegant.

‘Just like Grandma.’ I smiled as I studied it more. My heart was finally beginning to feel full again. This is why Grandma want me to find it.

‘What is this?’ I looked closer at the small inscription engraved at the base of the heart. ‘Through our hearts and family lines our future is revealed.’ I read the puzzling words and shook it off as my grandmother being eccentric again.

‘Thank you, Grandma.’ I whispered to the wind as I opened the locket.

‘Ahh!’ I screamed as a loud shrill pierced my ears and everything went black.

Chapter 2:

Opening my eyes, I groggily moaned.

‘Ow.’ My head hurt and the bright light was not helping. ‘Hold on, bright lights?’ I questioned myself before I forced my eyes open and blinked to adjust them.

‘Woah, where am I?’ Before me stood a tall canopy of trees with the sun shining right through. Slowly standing up, I looked around and took in the view.

‘This is not Grandma’s house.’ I voiced out loud to the eerie quiet. ‘Ah!’ As I fell to the ground, I felt the rubble beneath my hands. I started moving the leaves and debris away. As I held the familiar object up, I realised it was a brick. A very weathered brick, but a brick none the less.

I started to feel around for something, anything that might help me figure out where I am.

Cling! I pushed something onto the brick, and it shattered. ‘It’s a glass bottle, well it was. What’s this?’ Inside the bottle was a newspaper article. I quickly unrolled it.

WWIII Update - March 2042

This war has officially been declared nuclear. We suggest for everyone to get to their bunkers immediately. What we have all feared is happening. Take your families and stay safe.

‘2042?’ My question came out as a whisper and still there was no one around to hear. How is this news clipping 21 years from where I was this morning? It doesn’t make sense.

Although as I sat there and looked around, I started to notice the familiar setting in front of me. I imagined the buildings and busy road. I clearly saw in my mind’s eye that this was once my grandmother’s street. I don’t understand how, but it is.

I stood up brushing the dirt off started on a wander through this ethereal place. It was so quiet, no animals or people or traffic to be heard at all. Nature had truly reclaimed this dystopian land. Regardless of the tragedy of lives lost, I still found myself in awe of my surroundings.

Once I reached the top of the hill, I couldn’t help but let out a small gasp. It is so beautiful. The vast land that was a mix of ruins and forest. The sun shining high above it all.

As I took in the incredible view, I felt something in my pocket begin to heat up. I reached inside and pulled out the heart shaped locket.

‘Of course, this is what started it all, my grandmother’s locket.’ I opened the clasp and watched as the world went dark while I covered my ears as the high pitch ringing returned.

Epilogue:

‘I’m back!’ I yelled to the silent attic. I looked at the inscription on the locket and now truly understood the words. Obviously only our family could see a possible future with this locket. Maybe it was shown to me so I could prepare and save the lives of those that matter to me, or just maybe I could prevent it all.

‘Thank you, Grandma.’

By Gaelle Marcel on Unsplash

Sci Fi

About the Creator

Tiahna - Education = Change

My main aim with my writing is to teach you something or make you question something.

Otherwise I hope you find some enjoyment from my fictional stories. 💕

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Tiahna - Education = ChangeWritten by Tiahna - Education = Change

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.