Fiction logo

Fakefetch

n. the act of attempting to grasp something multiple times before finally taking hold of it; v. (while trying to obtain something) misjudging the distance between one's hand and the target object, repeatedly

By Bethany LarsonPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
3
Fakefetch
Photo by Jacek Dylag on Unsplash

I'm breaking a sweat, eyebrows forming a monobrow the way I'm furrowing them, and all that's happened so far is my alarm went off. Then it fell on the ground. Well, got slammed on the ground. I hate Mondays.

The kitchen tiles are cold under my feet, but the laundry isn't dry and the dog ate one of my slippers last night. Shoot, the dog needs to go out.

The dog got out just in time. Now the kids are waking up. I just love hearing their honey-sweet voices first thing every morning. "GeT oUt Of tHe BaThroOm aLreAdy!" "WheRe'D yOu Put mY ToOthpAste?" "DoN't MaKe Us LaTe!"

No, they're not even teens yet.

I start the coffee maker, open a cupboard. Doug, my darling husband, has once again taken my favorite travel mug to work with him. It's fine, I say aloud, but I'm still cold and the dog has started barking and the kids are slamming doors and the coffee maker is about to pour coffee all over my unswept floor. So I grab the first mug I see.

Finally, the kids are grabbing their school bags and heading to the door, yelling at me to hurry while I toss their dirty breakfast plates into the sink. I think I heard one crack.

I'm rushing out then remember my keys on the counter. I reach for them, then once again, then a third time. Still they're not in my hands. I sigh, exasperated.

And it's only Monday.

MicrofictionHumor
3

About the Creator

Bethany Larson

I'm a recent college grad who studied Cinema and Linguistics, and I enjoy using the medium of writing to to express my ideas and learn more about the world

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Cindy Larche6 months ago

    Spot on! Great word and application

  • Omgggg! Fakefetch is sooooo real! I'm so glad you came up with this word. Loved your story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.