Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Experience of Living in a Haunted Mansion

Discovering the chilling secrets of unseen forces and the mystery of the living soul

By Ameer BibiPublished about a month ago 4 min read
Image created by the author via Bing AI

The lamp fell as soon as I entered the house. My husband was lifting our luggage, so he didn’t notice much. But deep inside, I knew something was going on. A tingling sensation flowing down my spine, indicating that something was terrible. We had to move to a new city in a hurry, and we got a big mansion at a very cheap rate.

Anyhow, days went by, and we lived there peacefully. After one month, we started to feel strange things. The kitchen would become smelly with a specific scent, like decaying roses and a rotten dead mouse smell. The lights would blink irregularly, creating ghostly shadows that flickered ironically on the walls and would disappear on their own.

Image created by the author via Bing AI

My husband didn’t care much because he was busy with his new schedule in this new town, but I was staying at home and often felt unseen movements and sensed that the house was not empty. I comforted myself by saying that I was overthinking as I was new to this place and that everything would be fine in some months. But every whisper and flicker seemed to signal that something was wrong.

As I lay conscious at night, I heard the house fall around me. Every click of the clock reminded me that we weren’t alone. The lovely interior of the house suddenly felt like it was suffocating, and the dark hallways seemed to hide unknown horrors just beyond the edge of sight.

At night, when darkness came over the house, there was an alarming sound, as if the house was beating with some dark energy.

After two months, the clock started to get stuck at exactly 01:50 AM. This was ridiculous. How come all the clocks stop at a particular time? Time was also afraid to move forward. My patience was finished when I saw a dark and twisted shadow trying to stab me in my sleep, and I woke up shaking.

Image created by the author via Bing AI

I cried out to my husband that I was sure that thing was right there, but he denied it. Now, I was convinced that there was something paranormal, like an unseen opposing force lurking in the shadow of this house, but my husband insisted that I was overreacting, and we had a lot of quarrels on this topic.

I kept on seeing things like stains on our bedsheets, the knives covered with blood, and footprints in our room, but whenever I tried to show them to my husband, they would disappear, making fun of me. My husband was so annoyed with me that one day, he wanted to hit me in frustration.

Image created by the author via Bing AI

That evening, I encountered an old neighbour. I asked her who lived in this house before us, and her facial expression suddenly turned to fear.

On my insistence, she told me a story about a couple who lived there a decade ago, and the wife cheated on her husband. When he found out, he killed her by stabbing her in the chest, and he hanged himself to death as well.

After listening to this, I understood why this was happening. The home was cursed. I decided to tell my husband this and leave home as soon as possible, but when I came home, he was already asleep, so I lay down and waited until the morning.

I don’t remember when I fell asleep, but the next thing I remember is my husband was standing next to me with a knife in his hand. I could see he was surrounded by shadows that appeared to spin and swirl continuously. The moment he tried to stab me, I jumped to the side, and his knife got stuck in the mattress.

Image created by the author via Bing AI

I ran towards the main gate, and my husband came after me. His eyes didn’t recognize me; he looked like a puppet with scary strings. I couldn’t open the gate in a hurry, so in my defence, I subconsciously picked up a flower vase and hit it on my husband’s head. He fell to the ground, and his face turned into a frightening look.

I was so traumatized that my whole body was shaking in fear; some of our neighbours came rushing after hearing the noises.

They called an ambulance for my husband, and he went to the hospital. While I was sitting in the hospital, the fluorescent light flickered above me. I realized that the spirit roaming in that house was insidious and waited for a specific moment to possess my husband and trick him into killing me.

The thought came over me like a gloomy, heavy fog, and I knew we had to get away from that horrible place before it killed us both. We left the house the next day and found a smaller but safe new home.

This story’s primary message is always to trust your gut feelings when something appears out of routine/place. If you have any strange feelings, discuss them honestly with your loved ones. Prioritize safety above time or money.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The writer has previously published this story on Medium, and the writer retains the copyright. No one is allowed to publish this story under their own name.

LoveMysteryHorrorfamily

About the Creator

Ameer Bibi

I am a mother of three. My life is full of stories and I love to read human stories.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Asad Message15 days ago

    Fantastic story

  • This was so scary! I am not sure if it was a real story or not, I hope it was fiction. But still, the suspense was high and I was afraid. These types of story give me the spooks. Very well written!

  • Murali26 days ago

    Wow, you wrote a good horror story! This story was so scary.

  • Novel Allenabout a month ago

    Scary and horrid ghosts. Hopefully they get dragged to hell pretty soon. Do they pay rent or mortgage. So out of order.

  • Ainy Abrahamabout a month ago

    I don't understand why that lady was waiting for. When she was continuously seeing things out of the world then why she did not ask her husband to leave that palace?

  • Farhat Naseemabout a month ago

    creep scary

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    So glad they managed to move out of that scary place! Loved your story!

  • angela hepworthabout a month ago

    Creepy!

Ameer BibiWritten by Ameer Bibi

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.