Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Every Which Way

When our choices catch up with us

By Joe PattersonPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 13 min read
Like
Every Which Way
Photo by Max Kleinen on Unsplash

Choices. Life is all about choices, the ones we make and the ones we do not make. Very often we get stuck in the limbo-based spectrum of choices that brings us to the most defining moments of our lives, much like this one.

Orlando Jefferson wakes up to a sunny Saturday morning. He gets out of bed and turns on his Bluetooth speaker. The voice of the rapper Scarface can be heard playing on the speaker:

“I woke up to a tune on the radio, check it

An old church hymn behind a breakbeat record (yeahhh)

Sounded kinda funky so I pumped it, right

But rudely interrupted by a neighborhood street fight”.

As the lyrics of Brad “Scarface” Jordan graced his ears Orlando got in the shower and then got himself dressed so he could begin his Saturday. Sporting a white t-shirt with navy blue denim shorts, he made his way downstairs where he was greeted by his mother, Odessa. “Where you headed, little troublemaker?” Odessa asked him sarcastically.

“Well mom-dukes, I was thinking about maybe sticking up a liquor store and maybe robbin’ a bank for my retirement fund” Orlando replied. “Boy please!” Odessa began. “You only 15 years old, you wouldn’t know what to do with some retirement money. “Wrong mama-duke.” Orlando said cheerfully. “I would settle down in a remote location, maybe south of the border.” “Yeah yeah, whatever son. Where are you goin?” Odessa asked curiously. “I’m just gonna go hang out with Vic and Hector for a while.” Odessa then gave Orlando a pierced look of concern. “Son I thought you were turnin over a new leaf after all that mess from last year?” Odessa asked. “I am.” Orlando started. We’re just chillin out, ma. We ain’t gettin into nothin’…and I meant what I said last year. I’m done bein a troublemaker. That life caused me too much trouble and after a year in juvie I’m ready to start over.”

Odessa focused on Orlando with a slight smile. “It’s not just you I’m worried about, O, its the rest of your friends. I’m not so sure Hector and Vic are tryna walk a new path like you.” “They…ain’t been in no trouble either.” Orlando said out loud in a quick train of thought, but Odessa could hear the uncertainty in his voice and she knew he was not fully sure of himself. “How much of that do you really believe?” Odessa asked him. “Well it is true.” Orlando started. “I mean, they really ain’t been in no trouble. You talk to both of their moms often, so you should know.”

“Yeah I do talk to their mamas and both of them believe that they’re sneaking around and gettin into trouble behind their backs.” Odessa said sharply. “Ma, I swear we’re just chillin at the house. They know I’m not down with any trouble and they know they can’t sway me into any, trust me mama. I’m not gon’ let you down. I’ll see you later.” As Orlando went out the front door, Odessa’s eyes followed him with worry and concern. She had a gut feeling that something was going to go wrong, but she knew she could not persuade Orlando not to go with his friends.

As Orlando made his way to Vic’s house he monologued with himself, walking and talking as he thought a lot about what happened in his life over that past year. “So last year I let Vic, Hector and the rest of the crew convince me to steal our old rival J-bone’s car as revenge for him having his boys jump us at a pep rally after school. I can’t believe we actually sold it for three stacks and got paid. Needless to say J-bone wasn’t happy and sent his boys to jump us again, only this time he came with. Another twist was our crew was ready this second time around. That’s why we stole the car in the first place, to provoke another fight.”

As Orlando thought back on the story he initially chuckled during his recollection, but his glee then turned into serious regret as he thought about what happened next. “So J-bone and his crew tracked us down after the car went missing. We had words that turned into a fist fight and when it was over one of our homeboys got stabbed, Bone’s crew got bruised up pretty bad and we all got busted by one-time. Cops showed and took us all in. Every single one of us got a year in juvenile hall and as we walked out of that courtroom, J-bone swore he and his crew was gon get back at all of us for what we did. We all got out a month ago and never heard anything about Bone so I guess it’s all good.”

Orlando finally arrived at Vic’s house and was met by Vic standing on the front porch. “What up fool!?” Vic said to Orlando with a smile. “Not much Vic, it’s been a minute, what you up to?” Orlando asked as they bumped fists. “Just waitin on Hector slow self to hurry up, so we can go to the store and get this smoke.” Orlando’s mind was then hit with hint of concern. “I thought you said we was just gon chill at the house, V?” “We are.” Vic responded. “Don’t start that again, Lando. I told you I ain’t gon’ get you into any trouble. I’m tryna turn over a new leaf too, I don’t wanna go back to juvie either. We just gon’ get this smoke and head right back to the crib and kick it at the spot.”

Orlando’s nerve then began to calm a little bit as he took Vic’s words into account. “Ight, V” we can do that. “Cool.” Vic responded. The duo was then approached by a good spirited Hector as he made his way to Vic’s front yard. “Yo squad, what’s good?” Hector started with a cheer and a smile. Orlando and Vic approached Hector, bumping fist with him as they departed Vic’s yard and began their walk to the store just a couple blocks over.

“So what y’all fools been up to?” Hector started. “Well you know me.” Vic began. “Tryna stay low key and avoid moms so she don’t stay on my neck about gettin’ in trouble. “I see you V, what about you OJ?” Hector asked Orlando. “I’m just tryna stay busy, bein that I’m bout to be 16 soon I’m lookin for a job to keep me busy so my moms don’t worry. What you up to tho, Heck?” “Well my uncle is about to let me come work for him while he’s driving trucks, I think that bread should be good enough to keep me outta trouble for awhile.

“Did y’all ever hear anything about J-bone and his crew when y’all got out?” Orlando asked. “Nah not a peep.” Hector responded. “What about you, V?” Hector asked. Vic walked quiet for a brief moment before making eye contact with the other two, as if he knew more than what he was preparing himself to say. “Nah I ain’t really heard much myself.” Vic responded. “You know them fools. Always into something. They’ll make their presence felt real soon. You ain’t gotta wonder.” “Yeah you right, so what y’all thi-“. Before Hector could finish his statement Orlando’s eyes caught the site of a gray Pontiac G6 that was parked next to the store entrance a mere hundred feet away from. As the trio got closer to the store front the car quickly cranked up and the driver began speeding toward the group.

The rest of the trio quickly noticed the car coming towards them. “Who the heck is that?” Uttered a startled Hector. “I think I know.” Vic replied in a low tone. As Orlando stared ahead silently, Vic pulled a gun out of the small of his back. “What you doin with that?” said a shocked Orlando. As the car neared the group the windows on the vehicle rolled down and gun wielding hands came out and began firing shots. The trio as well as the other bystanders in the area ducked down and screamed out in terror as the gunshots lit up the air. As the shots flew in the direction of Orlando, Vic and Hector, Vic used himself as a barrier between Orlando and Hector and began firing shots back at the car. As the shots from the car hit the walls and glass around the trio, Vic’s shots hit the wheels of the car and put holes in the tires causing the car to swerve in the opposite direction. As the driver of the car tried to straighten the car up he was unexpectedly sideswiped by a pick up truck that sent the car flying into other parked cars.

As Orlando came to and recovered he noticed the screams all around and the sound of approaching sirens. “Y’all aite?” He asked his two friends and received no response. He looked to his right and saw Vic laying next him groaning in pain holding his hip. Vic had a bullet wound to his hip and was bleeding out. When Orlando looked to his left he saw Hector laying motionless with his eyes open and a bullet wound to his stomach and one to his chest, with blood coming out of his mouth. Orlando was horrified at this site. He was so horrified that he did not notice that he too was bleeding from his left arm. “SOMEONE CALL AN AMBULANCE!!!” Orlando screamed out in terror.

Orlando frantically shook Hector’s body by the shoulders desperately hoping for a response. “HECTOR! HECTOR GET UP!!!” Orlando screamed fanatically. There was no response, Hector just laid there motionless with blood coming out of his mouth as Orlando shook his body back and forth. “Is he even breathin’?” Vic asked Orlando in a pained tone as his hip continued to bleed out. “No!” Orlando said in an exhausted tone as he turned to Vic and grabbed his hand. Less than a minute later thy were surrounded by four police cars, three ambulances and two fire trucks. As the first responders converged on the scene Orlando suddenly noticed that the car containing the three men that shot at them was now engulfed in flames with the three men still in the car laying motionless in the now engulfed vehicle.

As police and paramedics surrounded Orlando and his friends, Vic and Hector were both loaded into two of the ambulances. Orlando quickly hopped in the one with Vic as Hector’s did not have enough room for him. As the ambulances quickly took off with their sirens sounding off the ambulances made their way to the local hospital. Vic began to fade in and out of consciousness as the paramedics questioned the duo about what had just happened. “Guys I know you both are in pain and shock right now but police are gonna want to know what happened.” the first paramedic exclaimed as he tended to Vic’s wound. “I don’t know.” Orlando said in a confused and shaky voice. “We we’re just on our way to the store and then that car just came out of nowhere and started shoot-” “I know who it was.” Vic said while cutting Orlando off. “You do?” Asked a confused Orlando. “Yes.” Vic replied. “It was J’s homeboys. I had a run in with them last week. I fought two of them when they started talkin’ wreck less about how they were gon’ get us back for what happened last year.”

Orlando’s confusion was now replaced with anger. “You told me you wasn’t mixed up in no mess and that you hadn’t seen Bone or his boys since you got out and now look at us. WE GOT WET UP BECAUSE YOU LIED!!!” Orlando exclaimed in anger. “I’m sorry.” Vic responded while groaning in pain. “I didn’t think it was gon’ get this bad.” “Well it did.” Orlando responded angrily. “You almost got us killed, V.”

The ambulances finally made it to the county medical. As the medics rushed Vic into the ER, Orlando quickly looked back and noticed that the medics were slow to get Hector out of the ambulance in which he was being carried. His focus was quickly broken by the medic who came to look at his arm. “Son, you’re bleeding too. We need to get you looked at.” The medic said hastily. “I’ll be fine.” Orlando said anxiously. “I just want to make sure my friends are ok-” “The other medics will take care of that, but we have to get you checked out first.” the medic interrupted. Two medics quickly walked Orlando into the opposite direction of Vic and led him to an empty operating room where there were already two doctors waiting to look at his arm.

As Orlando sat still and the doctors worked on his arm he thought a lot about what has just happened and how his mother tried to caution him against this earlier in the day. He was angry and felt guilty. He also carried alot of regret in his mind wishing that he had stepped away when his mother warned him about running in the same circles. His train of thought was suddenly broken when a new doctor entered his room with a look of disappointment on her face. “Hi Orlando, I’m Dr. Jennings.” the woman introduced herself. “How are you feeling, Orlando?”. “Honestly ma’am, my adrenaline is so high that I really haven’t been in much pain.” Dr. Jennings gave him a slight smile.

“I’m glad you’re feeling ok.” She started. You’re mother has been notified and she’s on her way. We’re gonna keep you over night as a precaution.” “I figured as much.” Orlando responded with a sigh of exhaustion. Dr. Jennings closed the room door behind her and walked closer to Orlando with a look of pity on her face. “Orlando…” she began in a low tone. “…there is something I need to tell you about your friends.” Orlando slowly looked up at her with a look of concern on his face. “What?” Orlando asked sharply. Jennings was struggling to get her words out, for her, uttering the next statement felt like torture.

Jennings sat down next to Orlando and held his hand in comfort. “Your friend Vic is ICU. He’s hurt bad but he’s gonna make it.” “What…what about Hector?” Orlando asked, stammering on his words. Jennings took a deep breath as she struggled to give Orlando a response. “The doctors did everything they could Orlando, but Hector didn’t make it. I’m so sorry son.”

Orlando’s chest warmed with shock. He felt paralyzed as his mind went into a million different directions of disbelief. Once the disbelief passed, the heartache set in. One of his best friends was dead. Jennings put her hands on Orlando’s back in an attempt to comfort him. “I’m so sorry Orlando, I can’t imagine what you must be feeling. Your mother’s on the way now.” Orlando was at a loss on how to put his words together. “Can I see Vic?” “Yes. Follow me.” Jennings responded. Jennings and Orlando exited the room and made their way to ICU down the hall. On the way their Orlando and Jennings unexpectedly walked past the room where Hector’s lifeless body lay surrounded by doctors, police and Hector’s wailing parents. This sight sucked the life out of Orlando as Jennings forced him to look away. As they finally reached Vic’s room Orlando was greeted by the sight of a pained and exhausted Vic who was bedridden with a look of grief on his face.

“I’ll leave you two alone.” said Jennings as she left the room. Staring at Vic with a look of anguish and pity, Orlando finally addressed him. “Did you hear about Hector?” “Yes.” Replied a tearful Vic. “I’m so sor-” “DO NOT SAY YOU’RE SORRY!” Orlando shouted angrily. “You did get into it with Bone’s crew didn’t you?” Orlando asked in anguish. “Yeah I did.” said Vic as he began to cry. “I thought it would be over before things got this bad.” “You know this still ain’t over right? Orlando asked “You know they’ll come finish-” “Bone is dead.” interrupted Vic. “That was him in the car with his boys and all of them are dead. I killed them.” Orlando stood shocked, but he also felt relieved. “So what happens to you?” Orlando asked Vic. “After I recover it looks like I’m probably goin’ away for a long time, but as for you, I think you’ll be able to turn over that new leaf you been sittin’ on. I told the cops that you ain’t have nothin to do with what happened today, so you’re free to go, but take that freedom and live a different life…a better life. Not for me, not even for Hector, but for yourself.”

With tears in his eyes Orlando walked up to Vic and gave him a big hug. He knew he was saying goodbye to a brother who he would not see again for a long time. After hugging him a couple of doctors entered the room. “Son you’re gonna have to go and let him get some rest.” said one of the doctors. “Much love, Lando” said Vic with encouragement in his voice. “Much love.” Orlando responded with hope in his voice. As Orlando left Vic’s room he was greeted by a tearful Odessa. His mother embraced with the tightest hug ever. “Oh son I’m so sorry.” she cried. “No mama.” Orlando interrupted. “I’m sorry and I should’ve listen to you before, but I know better now. I lost someone I love and I owe it to you and them to change and be a better person. I think I’m really ready to change now, ma. Life always takes us every which way and I’m ready to pick a better way.” “I believe you, son.” Odessa replied with a smile. Orlando and his mother went back to his room together. Holding hands as they sat together they knew life would never be the same as new choices were destined to be made.

Young AdultShort StoryCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.