Fiction logo

Eternity Waits for Everyone

Tomorrow may come

By JBazPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
13
Eternity Waits for Everyone
Photo by Dan Meyers on Unsplash

I watch as she pours herself a long cool drink of suicide. Stirring the ice with elegant fingers before bringing the chilled liquid to her crimson lips.

She pauses before drinking, then sets the glass down prohibiting the elixir of death to seep into her blood, which would allow her to float in an everlasting dream of permanent sleep. A melodic tone rings out as she delicately traces the edge of the glass, while staring at nothing. I patiently wait to welcome her soul into my embrace.

Her tears fall like dew from a morning flower, staining the paper. She scribbles once more, words written to console those left behind or to alleviate her guilt, in truth it does not matter.

Lifting her head, her eyes pass through me, and look out the window. I am no more real to her than this life she wishes to leave behind. I turn to see what captures her attention. It is a park, with a lone child on a swing, forward and back he glides, then nothing, the vision disappears. The empty swing rocks in the breeze. It was the same child who's picture rests upon her mantle.

I have done this for an eternity and realize that I have no control in the outcome. I can not scream for them to stop or encourage them to continue. All I can do is observe, wait, and help ease their journey.

Ultimately the choice is theirs.

Microfiction
13

About the Creator

JBaz

I have enjoyed writing for most of my life, never professionally.

I wish to now share my stories with others, lets see where it goes.

Born and raised on the Canadian Prairies, I currently reside on the West Coast. I call both places home.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristen Balyeat6 months ago

    Oh my- What a gorgeous and haunting piece! Even with its brevity I was completely emotionally invested. Brilliant work! 💫💞

  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    JBaz, this was so emotional and chilling for me! You were so beautifully able to portray that sense of foreboding, helplessness from the narrators point of view and pity. My soul aches after reading this and I kind of love it!! Your use of imagery and the way you painted the image of this scene is heart palpitating and left me awestruck!! Brilliant job!!

  • Tell her to get on with it! If she doesn't, I'm gonna drink and happily greet Death, lol. I really liked this perspective of how Death watches someone contemplate suicide but not being able to do anything. It was very creative!

  • Mark Gagnon8 months ago

    There is no good choice or bad choice. There is only a choice. Great writing!

  • Colleen Millsteed 8 months ago

    So few words but so much impact. Fantastic work.

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    Such a good piece of work, I really feel the hollowness of this woman, and waiting impotence of the protagonist. It's like a curious disinterest - watchful, but not invested.

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Wow. You had me from the first line. Excellent.

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Wow! What a surreal picture you’ve painted. This is outstanding work, J.

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    Oh this was right in the feels 💔

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    WOW.. Just. wow. This is breathtaking and heartbreaking.😢❤

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.