Fiction logo

Eternal Loop

Co-written by Marioson and Alpha Beharie

By Eagles Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Road

Work

Break

Greetings

Rest

Same

Endless repetition, this cycle called life

Moved only through muscle memory, ironic its the only memories held close

Until that too gives way

Losing one's way, only moving forward.

If hope exists in a continuous world, it's reward being an escape from its loop -

an end.

Nearing the next checkpoint, vision blurred but only growing darker

Suddenly becoming sight less, is it over?

Finding comfort in the unknown, only knowing my presence won't be noticed - comfortable.

That's when I had a flashback, wow when people go out we really do think back hey..?

"Comfortable.." I turned to see an old pal of mine sat next to me on the edge of a cliff.

This seems familiar, summer of 08. We'd just completed a team race and placed 2nd. Him and I ran off to check out the view before it got dark. Our breaths barely intact, as he said that word.

"I know it's not first, but 2nd is comfortable right? Maybe we still have a shot with the ladies"

It was in this moment I remembered, despite his bellowing laugh I'm sure he felt a tinge of disappointment as months of our training only won us second best, and yet still he glowed brighter than the view of the sunset.

"No matter, we'll try again. We'll try as many times we need!"

It was his best trait, even if unreal the ability to continue, knowing we won't win. His ability - Endless repetition - that was his life cycle.

Endless repetition, this cycle called life

Moved only through muscle memory, ironic its the only memories held close

Until that too gives way

Losing one's way, only moving forward.

If hope exists in a continuous world, it's reward being an escape from its loop -

an end.

Nearing the next checkpoint, vision blurred but only growing darker

Suddenly becoming sight less, is it over?

Finding comfort in the unknown, only knowing my presence won't be noticed - comfortable.

That's when I had a flashback, wow when people go out we really do think back hey..? "Comfortable.." I turned to see an old pal of mine sat next to me on the edge of a cliff.

This seems familiar, summer of 08. We'd just completed a team race and placed 2nd. Him and I ran off to check out the view before it got dark. Our breaths barely intact, as he said that word.

"I know it's not first, but 2nd is comfortable right? Maybe we still have a shot with the ladies"

It was in this moment I remembered, despite his bellowing laugh I'm sure he felt a tinge of disappointment as months of our training only won us second best, and yet still he glowed brighter than the view of the sunset. "No matter, we'll try again. We'll try as many times we need!" It was his best trait, even if unreal the ability to continue, knowing we won't win. His ability - Endless repetition - that was his life cycle.

Speaking of life cycle , seems mines about to end. Always felt like the hurt and pain was like a never ending story , I still remember crying over that damn horse , feeling the lose as he did. I turn around only to see green , think is this the time I was being tippy and then I see him and his black fur with the white patch on his chest, running my way after I throw that ball. I raised my hand to early and he stopped and looked at me confused , then walked closer and dropped the ball , rubbed my head feeling like a stupid for not realizing that this was when I first actually connecting with what others call an animal but I call family.

Turns out even after all that it's coming to this... the endless darkness. What now , will it just be darkness my old friend and my intense over thinking... no, what's that , I see a light , and is that music , I feel myself get up , and walk through , emerge to that bar 360 , I see all friend , remember the request we made for our little big rapper , seeing everyone's smile , dancing with my people , feeling this is it , these people are what my life will be about , not just me , but having them here with me , the good times, the laughs, jokes, and the love. I'm sorry darkness but seems like you and I are gonna have to prolong out reunion, I have alot left to do and I know I'm not done.

With that I open my eyes just to see the dumb look on my friends face , and me telling him " I dont think it's time for wither of us yet, get up we have alot to do , and I sure as hell am not happy with what I was about to leave behind" I'm not sure if I'll ever be satisfied with what I leave when I do eventually leave , but I'm not giving up yet , you only die once(YODO) I'm about to live every day till the fullest, what's your plan?

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Eagles

We write about the absolution of love and the dissolution of the soul. Poetry group comprising of the following poets;

Mackalan

Alpha Beharie

Marioson

Amy Void

Kimiera

Saveourscripts

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.