Fiction logo

Escape

A Story Every Day in 2024 April 29th 120/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished 17 days ago Updated 14 days ago 2 min read
17
Escape
Photo by Juliandra Durkin on Unsplash

"There's no getting over it. In your eyes, I'm just not good enough."

"Now, that's just not true, Leah. Just that, on this occasion, we thought that, well,..."

Leah tuned out. Once more, she had been overlooked and was being served platitudes to keep her placated. She was starting to feel like this was always going to be the case; that she would try, pour all of her into her work, only to be presented with nothing.

She envisioned herself as a fly batting against a window, fruitlessly banging to get out, only to be thwarted. There was only so much a trapped fly could stand before they caved, exhausted, a crisp husk with whiskery legs on a windowsill.

"...and of course, we wouldn't want to lose you..."

Suddenly, Leah knew that she needed a break. Her boss was still wittering on, smiling and preening, and she stood, and without waiting for a pause in his speech said, "I'm taking some leave for two weeks."

Her boss spluttered, "But what about the Anderson account?"

Leah paused, looking directly at her boss, waited a little longer than was comfortable and then shrugged before turning her back and walking out.

***

The drive to the farm took hours but once she was out of the city, she felt like she'd entered a new life.

Aunt Dotty was standing at the front door, waving frantically as she drove up the drive. Her parents would be hurt that she had not come to them for solace but she needed freedom, not advice.

"Leah! Come on in!"

Her aunt hugged her and Leah savoured her earthy smell; farm mixed with home-baked produce. On the table was a feast. Uncle Fred was sitting in a chair, reading a book and smiled at Leah as she came in.

It was so different, Leah realised. This was organic, wholesome; she'd left a world of steel, heat; sharpness, intent on assaulting her.

Jip the collie came with her sheepish smile and nudged her hand.

Aunt Dotty saw the fatigue on Leah's face.

"Stay as long as you want," she said and Leah, in a day of impulsive decisions, knew that she would not be leaving.

***

366 words

Time for a lifestyle change. I don't blame Leah a jot. A treadmill keeps you moving but does it ever take you anywhere? Good for her for jumping off and trying the good, country life. I reckon it will work out for her.

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this, please drop a comment as I love to interact with my readers!

Yesterday's story, Starlings has not been approved at time of submitting this one but I am still on track with my streak, having written A Story Every Day in 2024, just not now in the right order.

120/366

Short StoryMicrofictionLovefamily
17

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 15 days ago

    This line is funny: Jip the colley came with her sheepish smile (a collie dog? with a sheepish smile?, LOL) and the comment her boss was "wittering" on! Hilarious.

  • D.K. Shepard15 days ago

    Love the contrast in her emotional/ mental state from the beginning to the end. A change in scenery and perspective!

  • L.C. Schäfer15 days ago

    I love that the opening line is a touch ambiguous. She could be speaking to a boss or a boyfriend or a mother 😁👍

  • Caroline Craven16 days ago

    I felt like I could breathe too once Leah made it to the farm. You can’t beat escaping.

  • Sean Elliott16 days ago

    What a great first line, it just hits you in the face and can go so many different directions. Personally, I love where you did end up going with it. Incidentally, I was just talking to some friends yesterday afternoon about something similar, how sometimes with work no matter how hard we try we can't get ahead. We didn't use the fly in the window metaphor but I think it really is apt.

  • TheSpinstress16 days ago

    Interesting decision! It sounds like Leah will be a lot happier in the countryside, but isn't she losing anything valuable in the city?

  • Marie Wilson16 days ago

    Excellent! I especially enjoyed the metaphor-paragraph about the fly! Perfect.

  • Mark Gagnon16 days ago

    Your treadmill analogy is great. Well done!

  • Shirley Belk16 days ago

    I loved the thoughtful shrug she gave to her boss...not my monkeys and not my circus anymore.

  • M. A. Mehan 16 days ago

    If I could choose a farm over city life, I'd never leave either!

  • John Cox16 days ago

    The boss that expects everything but gives nothing in return. Been there, done that. This is another utterly convincing slice of life, Rachel!

  • Well-wrought! As one stuck in the city I can relate!

  • Andy Potts16 days ago

    Ah, the joys of escaping a toxic boss. For all the stress of freelance life, I'm hugely grateful for the flexibility to ditch employers who aren't helping.

  • I quit my job because of that. I was severely burnt out from being overworked, micromanaged, being told whatever I did was wrong, etc etc. Gosh it was hell. I'm just so happy that Leah wouldn't be going back there!

  • Beautifully refreshing… like country air!

  • Hannah Moore16 days ago

    Ah, it was like breathing out.

  • Abdul Qayyum16 days ago

    A stunning write. Well done https://vocal.media/fiction/a-horrific-bus-stop

  • D. J. Reddall17 days ago

    Sadly, this is a scenario with which many can identify, your humble reader included. You captured the frustration and the bucolic relief dexterously. Deftly done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.