Fiction logo

Enter the Phoenix

Fortune, Lightning, Phoenix

By Kylecovey SmithPublished 12 months ago 7 min read
3

It was the year 2250, the world everyone knew as planet Earth had been reduced to a near desolate wasteland after being invaded by the dreaded Umbraxians. Gargoyle-like aliens that possess dark magic called the “Necroforce”, but the true extent of this power could only be unlocked by a large ingestion of water. Something their planet lacked. Twenty-Two years prior Earth’s astrologists discovered a mysterious 10th world, in the Solar System and initiated a homing beacon to attract possible life. This action proved to be dire, as the lifelong fear of an alien invasion became a reality. The beings from planet Umbra followed the homing signal to Earth and drained the latter’s entire water supply; from the oceans to lakes to rivers everything was drained, causing worldwide drought and decimating over half the planet’s population.

In the last 2 decades the Umbraxians control Earth’s water. Nearly all of the plants and animals have been wiped out thus with the Earthlings struggling to survive from dehydration and starvation. Many sought refuge in the only safe haven on the deteriorating planet, the city of Falzar. Falzar, a domed city constructed by the world’s greatest scientists deep in the mountains that cloaked its location from the Umbraxians. The city was the only sentient area on Earth that still contained a reasonable amount of food and water.

A young man by the name of Shinobu Hikari, was an honest individual who was respected throughout the city of Falzar for his delivery of rations to refugees. One day a fierce storm appeared out of nowhere. Thunder, and Lightning raged, people attempted to get to safety then suddenly, a being of pure darkness emerged from the dark clouds. The being announced himself as Prodius, Lord of Darkness. “I don’t know how you fools managed to stay hidden from me for 22 years, but the Umbraxians are not to be trifled with. Prodius the mighty king of Umbra will absorb every last drop of H20 on your precious planet until it’s made in my image!” The time has come for Falzar and the whole Earth to be shrouded in shadows exclaimed Prodius. People screeched in fear while Prodius shot black ooze at them, turning them into beings of darkness; not even children were safe! Ahahaha! You pitiful humans will finally serve a purpose in this world, which are my own personal wraiths! And with all of you as my loyal servants who can stop me now!

Meanwhile Shinobu escaped the carnage and ran to the Ruins of Falzar. Phew that was close I can’t imagine being turned into a wraith. But I can’t stay here forever. Shinobu noticed a line of golden flares that resembled the sun going down a hallway in the ruins. This place is creepy but it’s better than being out there. Shinobu followed the flares. There he discovered an ancient text. What is this? It seems so complicated Shinobu wondered? This text seems to be some sort of puzzle.

Shinobu began to connect the stone pieces together and when he finished, the carvings made an image of a powerful creature. It’s a Phoenix! Then writing appeared under the picture, stating, “Those who are patient and pure of heart may wield the power of the Phoenix”! A white light flashed in front of Shinobu, and unveiled a crimson and gold heart-shaped locket. An archangel-like spirit projected from the locket. “My name is Arenith, young warrior, because of your intuition and willpower you are now the guardian of the Solaris Locket; my power is now yours; you will be the Solaris Warrior.” Me? You are able to fight any malevolent force that crosses your path, use it well and use it wisely. Wait! The spirit vanished. The locket attached itself to Shinobu and lightning surrounded his body as he transformed him into a crimson and gold armored knight with Phoenix wings. Whoa. This is awesome! Arenith’s voice addressed the knight. Shinobu, you now harness the power and spirit of the Phoenix within the Solaris Locket. Now fulfill your destiny and bring good fortune to Falzar! Shinobu came out of hiding only to find everyone in Falzar had been turned into wraiths.

He confronted Prodius at his new Shadow Spire where he sat on his throne. Shinobu yelled, Prodius, your day of tyranny ends here! Don’t make me laugh foolish boy I control everything! What could you possibly possess that can make me even waste my time with a worthless worm like you! I’ll be happy to answer that question, because you’re not controlling anything anymore, Solaris Power!

A golden aura flowed around Shinobu’s body. I am the legendary Solaris Warrior, the Guardian of Light and the one that is going to end your dark influence over Falzar and the Earth. I’m impressed but I can also change form. I must say I am truly grateful for your planet’s vast quantity of water because now I can use the true power of the Necroforce! Prodius mutated into a Dark Dragon, and clashed with Shinobu. The two were evenly matched with neither one willing to give the other an edge in victory. Prodius breathed a dark flamethrower while Shinobu shot an energy beam with the heat of the sun, with both attacks doing massive damage on their targets. Surrender Solaris Warrior and I promise you will perish quickly! Never!

I was only a baby when the Umbraxians invaded Earth so I didn’t see the initial onslaught. But I did see the results of innocent people dying because there was no food or water, including my parents who gave me the little rations they had to keep me alive. They gave their lives for me, and I won’t let my parents' sacrifice be in vain! Ahaha idiot human prepare to squash- Shinobu suddenly appeared behind Prodius. Why don’t you wake up, you’re hurting people, what have they done to you? Prodius swiped Shinobu with his dragon claw but to no effect. I can’t let you take your anger out on innocent people anymore. What are you talking about? I kill when I want. The weak die and the strong survive! Okay we’ll play by your rules Prodius. Bring it! Shinobu projected a shockwave that sent Prodius flying. Hmm I seem to have underestimated you boy, but the only way to save your miserable planet is to fight with no mercy.

I will save the Earth even if I have to use every ounce of the Solaris Locket’s power to destroy you. Well, let's find out. Prodius began to consume Shinobu in a shadowy vortex. Fool you can’t defeat me where there is light there will always be darkness! Unless my light is bright enough! Shinobu began to glow like the sun with the spiritual aura of the Phoenix and overwhelmed Prodius. This ends now. No, the Necroforce cannot be defeated! Prodius you’re too late. Phoenix Blade! With one strike Shinobu destroyed Prodius with a slash of light from his sword. No, No, Noooooo! Prodius crumbled into dust and an energy wave of light fazed through the Earth and its dark atmosphere by disintegrating the Umbraxian forces, and reversing the effects of the planet-wide drought. I don’t believe I saved the world. This was for you Mom and Dad, may you rest in peace. The spirit of the Solaris Locket Arenith appeared in front of Shinobu. Well done Shinobu. Arenith, thanks. For what? I should be thanking you Shinobu. You not only saved Falzar but the Earth as well. I am proud to call you the guardian of the Solaris Locket and I will always be here when you need me, just focus your heart to the heart-shape of the necklace and I’ll appear. Understood. Goodbye friend. Arenith vanished. With every bit of darkness was lifted and the Earth’s water supply restored. The people of the world were forever grateful to their hero the Solaris Warrior.

Young AdultShort StorySci FiMysteryMicrofictionHumorFantasyFableClassicalAdventure
3

About the Creator

Kylecovey Smith

Historian, Linguist, Author (Voyages of the 997 & The Method Mission), YouTuber/TikToker (Master Mojo) and now Vocal writer enjoy and critique my writing as please.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Brey12 months ago

    That was really Good.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.