Fiction logo

Endurance

Chapter 14: The Root of Michael's Problems

By The Freedom RunnerPublished 8 months ago 5 min read
The Pub

Michael and Shelly remain in the storage room of her pub. Michael is still seated on a stool, and Shelly is now leaning against one of the kegs, waiting for Michael to answer her. Michael continues staring at the floor.

Shelly- Michael, please talk to me. I've known you for over eight years, and I feel like I don't know everything about you. I know something is eating at you, and I'm sure it's not Abby.

Michael looks at Shelly, wondering what she's talking about.

Shelly- I know it's deeper than just her or any other woman you've been with. What is it?

Michael remains hesitant to answer.

Shelly- Is it your childhood? Was it not good?

Michael looks down and shakes his head. He avoids eye contact with Shelly. Shelly continues waiting for Michael to answer her.

Shelly- What is it then?

Michael- (continues looking down) I could've had everything. You remember the guy who won the 2017 Chicago Marathon?

Shelly- Adrian Dunne? Did you two have a history or something?

Michael- That should've been me. That would've been me had it not been...

Michael pauses. He tries to collect his thoughts. Shelly can read the emotional pain on Michael's face. She walks up to him, and she tries to comfort him.

Michael- Ten years ago, we had a race. It was the 2009 NCAA Cross Country Championships. I earned an individual bid to participate in this event. This race was a big deal. All of the future greats were in this race, and so many scouts were there to watch. Nike, Asics, Brooks, Hoka, and Saucony were there. All of the great coaches were there. Paul O'Rourke was one of them. He had his eyes on Adrian. I wanted so badly to get his attention.

Shelly continues listening. Michael finally gives Shelly eye contact.

Michael- Adrian ran for the University of Oregon. I ran for Notre Dame. Adrian had a clear advantage over me, being from Oregon. That team was stacked, but he was by far the best. I was the only one representing Notre Dame. I had to perform. I believed in my heart that I could beat Adrian. I believed I was better than him.

Shelly- So, this rivalry was intense.

Michael- Well, it wasn't really a rivalry. We haven't really raced each other much. Don't get me wrong. He was a great guy, and I thought he was a great athlete, but he was a bit too cocky for my taste. I kind of hated him. I hated him because he was just so damn cocky, and I hated him more because he could back it up. We shook hands before the race, and he smiled at me. I smiled back. I wanted nothing more than to wipe that smile off his face. I believe he thought the same. That cocky son of a bitch...

Shelly- Wow, I guess I'm starting to see why you're so bitter.

Michael- You don't know the half of it. Anyway, we were in that race. I was tucked in with the lead pack. After the 8-kilometer mark, Adrian decided to go. I stayed with him, and I eventually passed him. I had him beat. We got to the home stretch, and somehow I managed to find a bad spot on the ground, and I rolled over my ankle and ruptured my left Achilles.

Shelly- (softly, surprised) Oh, no...

Michael- The injury hurt, but watching Adrian cross the finish line hurt me even more. I desperately tried to get up and finish, but I couldn't. Runner after runner passed me. I was just over 100 meters from the finish line, and I kept getting passed up.

Shelly- Oh, man...

Michael- I had no choice but to crawl. I eventually made it to the finish line. I got there, and I was done. I never cried so much. Many of the other runners tried consoling me, which was great, but I was heartbroken. I let everyone down. I let my family, my school, and everyone around me down.

Shelly- Michael, I'm so sorry.

Michael- Adrian ended up getting signed by Nike and joining "The Pond Project." He got to go to two Olympics and get a silver for the 10,000-meter race one year and a bronze for the marathon in another. He won the Chicago Marathon, and now he's earning well over $750,000 per year.

Shelly- (shocked) What?? Runners can actually make that much?!

Michael- It depends on how good you are, who you know, who your agent is, and how many endorsements you have. That man has it all right now. He has hundreds of thousands of dollars, a nice house, maybe a couple of cars, a wife and kids, and he gets to travel and run. Here I am stuck in Chicago with a shitty warehouse job, living in a shitty apartment, no wife, no kids, no car, and no future.

Shelly- Geez... Michael, I am so sorry. I didn't realize any of this.

Michael- It's just something I don't talk about. That's why I stopped running. Now I have Doug, Steven, and Jamie talking me into running again. At first, I wasn't going to. I listened to Jamie, and she told me I should, so I thought I'd at least be open-minded about it. Now, I'm having second thoughts.

Shelly- Can I say something?

Michael- What?

Shelly- I am so sorry for what you've gone through back in college. I am. That is fucked up. Michael, those things that you said that Adrian has, you don't need any of them. You have everything you need. You do have a roof over your head. You have a job, even if it isn't glamorous. You have people around you who love you and support you. I'm one of those people. Right now, your only enemy is you. It's not Adrian. It's not my sister. It's not the guy she fucked at her bachelorette party. It's you.

Michael sighs with sadness.

Shelly- Michael, I love you, and I'm going to be honest. Maybe all the things that happened to you were for a reason.

Michael- What? What reason?!

Shelly- Endurance. These things needed to happen to help you build strength. Your life is not over, Michael. You're not a sprinter, Michael. You're a distance runner. It's in you. Your race is not over, and you haven't even come close to the finish line yet. I think you're just getting started.

These words move Michael.

Shelly- I want you to run your race, but don't do it for your friends, because of Adrian, because of Abby, for Shelly, or even for me. (gently pokes Michael's chest) Do it for you. Run and not grow weary, Michael. You have everything it takes to succeed. I believe in you. Steven, Doug, Jamie, and Becky believe in you, too.

Michael sighs nervously, and he nods his head in agreement.

To Be Continued...

SeriesScriptLove

About the Creator

The Freedom Runner

My series, Endurance, covers real-life situations that include love, romance, betrayal, jealousy, and compromising situations. My characters have interesting stories, and I hope you enjoy them.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Marcus Carter8 months ago

    I think Shelly likes Michael!!

The Freedom RunnerWritten by The Freedom Runner

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.