Fiction logo

Emerald Lights in the Sky

What they Could Be.

By Ashley TenoldPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

Lying in my bed each night and having troubles falling asleep, I look out my window. Listening to the crickets chirp and the fireflies blinking through the trees outside. The gentle rustling of the leaves being brushed over by the wind, and the fresh summer breeze drifting in. Filling my nostrils with its gentle scent. The as my eyes slowly close, and I feel the calm drifting over me, I begin my journey in my dreams.

Though, unfortunately, my journey doesn't start in my dreams, rather an odd awakening.

As my eyes begin their slumber, the house began to shake. Feeling wide awake to the sudden change of the house. My body instinctively lunges out of my sheets, and brings themselves under my bed. Living where I do, this was the first time I ever felt something close to an earthquake, which at first is what I thought it was. Beginning to become aware, I noticed that the entirety of my room was covered in a green light. Feeling confused, and the shaking of the house had simmered. I slowly come out from underneath my bed to look outside.

Which to my discovery, I noticed what seemed to be the Aurora borealis, or the Northern Lights. My confusion deepened, as this was the first time that I have seen the magnificent green lights. Living for over 20 years, I'm sure I would've seen them earlier. Especially with how radiant and clear they were in the night sky.

Admiring them, I completely forgot the tremors from only moments before. Feeling almost hypnotized by them, my feet slowly began walking towards my bedroom door, and then towards the door to get outside. Opening the door, a bright green flash had engulfed me.

Once I snapped out of my hypnoses and realized what had happen, I was already halfway down my driveway. Confused and remembering about the Northern Lights, I looked back up to see if the lights were still there. Only to see the night sky, and the twinkling of the stars staring back down at me. Once again, confusion washing over me, and a strong headache.

Slowly, I turned around and began walking up towards my home, wondering what had happened. Walking inside of my home, the feeling of complete exhaustion rushed over me. When I finally made it to my room, I collapsed onto my bed and went into a deep sleep.

The next morning, as I woke from my slumber, I felt completely refreshed and rejuvenated. Sitting up, I took in a deep breath, stretching out my arms in back, and got out of bed. Since I felt as lively as I did, I decided to get dress and head to town to get of the house for once. What I had chosen to wear was a dress that had floral designs in black, white, and purple. Then I grabbed my keys off of the dresser, and headed to my compact black SUV.

Reaching town, I noticed there were many people walking about, laughing and genuinely enjoying each other's company. I couldn't help but to smile as I parked my vehicle next to the park. Stepping out, I looked around where I was and felt like everything was new. No ill energies, and that everything was at a complete peace.

Deciding to go to the pond, I set off to my destination. As I walked towards the pond in the middle of the park, squirrels were chittering away and the ducks were nestled up along the shores of the pond. Sitting on a bench, looking towards the pond, I feel my body go into complete submission. Listening to the lake's light splashing onto the shore, I begin to watch the ducks and their ducklings going to and from the shore. As I continue to watch them, a man sits down next to me.

"Enjoying your time here miss?" The man asks.

I look over towards the man, noticing his emerald eyes slightly covered by his shaggy brown hair. Giving him a smile and nod, I replied, "Indeed sir. I never realized how relaxing this park can be, I always thought that there were a lot of things going on here."

The man looked away, giving a snort, and covered his mouth with his hand. Nodding his head and clearing his throat, looking back at me with a big grin on his face. "You're right miss. May I ask for your name? I'm Daniel." He says, reaching out his hand.

I shook his hand, smiling back at him. "Hello Daniel, my name is Shania. Are you from around here?" Asking slightly curious, since I didn't recognize him. Though after the question, he began bellowing with laughter.

"Miss Shania, do you know where you are?"

Taken back from his question, I gave him a strange look. He gave a sigh, realizing I didn't fully understand what he was asking.

"Shania... We are in a simulation. This may seem like your home, but that is not completely true." He smirked.

"Wait... What do you mean?" I asked in astonishment.

Daniel got up and began to walk away. Leaving behind pixels. Looking at where he disappeared, I began to become completely confused. Wondering what he meant by that, I looked up at the sky and notice a slight similar pattern of clouds. Though if it wasn't for that man, I probably wouldn't have noticed. Looking around, I began to notice that everyone were in the same place, or continuing a similar path.

Feeling panic draping itself over me. I began to scream and then everything turned dark.

Waking up, I was in my bed. Feeling a splitting headache, I look outside. The Northern Lights filling up the sky with its brilliant green light. Confusion enveloping me, then suddenly the lights turned from green to red, and started to narrow down. Expressing a ship in the sky, and suddenly my house began shaking as the ship disappeared into the sky.

Sci Fi
1

About the Creator

Ashley Tenold

A 29 year old mother of two.

Loves writing, sewing, crocheting, singing, and dancing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.