Fiction logo

El Dorado

by Tawana K Watson

By Tawana K WatsonPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
El Dorado
Photo by Simon Berger on Unsplash

I didn't sleep well last night. I have so much on my mind that turning off my thoughts was impossible, so another sleepless night. I can't believe how bad my insomnia has gotten over the past few weeks and there is not a medication that my doctor has given me that works, it seems to sleep for me is a distant memory. I turn and look at my clock that is sitting on my bedside table, I have to squint to see the time, just like I feared it was time to get up.

Every day is the same thing I get up, get dressed for work, and leave the house forgetting my breakfast. As I drove down the street something inside me told me that today was not going to be a typical day.

I got to the office with two minutes to spare, I sat at my desk in my small cubicle, and as my computer powered on the word El Dorado appeared on the screen. I stood up and quickly looked around at my coworkers as they did their morning routine nothing seemed out of place so I sat back in my seat. The word El Dorado glared back at me, so I started pressing keys to try to remove it from the screen but nothing worked. It just stayed there. After unsuccessfully trying to remove the word with my keyboard skills, I ducked down under my desk and unplugged my computer. The computer turned off and after I counted 20 I plugged in the computer backup and turned it back on. Unplugging it did the trick and I got to work on my everyday task list.

My day was dull, I thought as I sat at the traffic light heading home. My whole life is dull I thought as the light turned green and I continued on my way. As I pulled into my yard I noticed a package at my front door, it was strange because I was not expecting anything. So before pulling completely into my yard I put my car in park, got out, and went to retrieve the package. As I bent down to pick the package up I noticed in red bold letters someone wrote across the top of the package the word El Dorado.

Once in my house, I dropped everything except the package at the back door. I went into the dining room and set the package on the table before going back into the kitchen to get a knife so that I could open it. At first, I had a strong urge not to open the package, to just throw it away but curiosity got the best of me. I took the knife and opened the package. The only thing I found was a folded piece of paper. I took the paper and opened it. What was written on it gave me chills, it read;

Once you start this journey you can never turn back. There's much more to life then the things you can see, and to have a glorious life all you have to do is find El Dorado

There's that word against El Dorado. I dropped the paper and before it hit the floor it was consumed with fire. I stood there in awe for a second or two but then shook it off and remembered I haven't slept and I could be in the middle of a dream. So I pulled myself together and continued with my evening.

As I turned my bed down and prepared myself for another sleepless night my cell phone which I left downstairs began to ring. I hesitated about going downstairs to get it but everytime it stopped ringing, it would start again so I went to get it. When I reached my phone, I saw that the caller id didn't show a valid number but a weird number of all 6s. I pushed the talk button, holding the phone to my ear and before I said hello I heard a voice in a low whisper say, "you can't turn back, you have to find El Dorado." I dropped the phone and as the phone hit the floor it was ringing again. I cautiously picked the phone back up and held it so gently I took the phone into the kitchen, putting the phone in the sink as I ran water on it, the ringing faded until it completely stopped.

I started back to my room and as I went up the stairs I had a sense that I was no longer alone. As I reached my room what I saw I didn't expect. There I was laying in the bed, and my wrist had been cut. I couldn't believe what I was looking at and as I stood there trying to figure out what was going on, a hand touched my shoulder and a voice said in a whisper, "it's time. I will take you to El Dorado."

FantasyHorrorShort Story
Like

About the Creator

Tawana K Watson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.