Fiction logo

Dumbsea.

Dumbsea from Dumbo.

By Dawn EarnshawPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 3 min read
Like

Deep sea Dumbsea

It was a bright and beautiful afternoon, our Carnival had just settled and pitched down for the afternoon in Birmingham, England. I was heavily pregnant and being a little or should I say , ‘big’ clumsy elephant, I almost dropped the pole for Mr Carpenter, to put in place for Tommy the flying ‘high trapeze artist’ Tommy was a kind soul, who loved all of us animal’s, I loved and respected Tommy wholeheartedly. Romus on the other hand was a devious , spiteful and cruel man; he taunted the chimpanzee so much, Mr Carpenter the Circus Owner had no other choice but to sedate them.

All of a sudden I felt a big twinge in my stomach and knew I was about to give birth any moment. I lifted my trunk and screeched, Mr Carpenter fell backwards and proclaimed! Here we will have our first elephant birthing ceremony everyone, forget baby elephant’s being delivered through the sky this one is from the womb my fellow friends.

Well everyone was scurrying around, hot water, the barn done out in fresh hay, I felt like Royalty.

That evening my Son was born, “what shall we call him” I overheard and a voice said with those ears and coming from a stupid animal as that call it “Dumbo” !

I actually cried that night, then when I saw my baby Dumbo, he didn’t look so ‘Dumb’ but he looked full of life and the most adorable eyes. No he was definitely not’Dumb’ .

As Dumbo began to play with all the other animals they too would taunt him, “hey Dumbo fly with those ears” laughed Scarlet the new lion cub, “Oh go and file your nails elsewhere Scarlet,” I replied. The taunting off all the animals through Romus filling their heads with all nasty things to say about me used to upset me. But then I just thought, well while they are being horrid to me, at least they are leaving some other poor creature alone.

We packed up that season for Birmingham and was making our way by train to London. We were making a special debut at a water complex for aquatic animals and I just knew this was going to be interesting.

We all made ourselves kind of comfortable at Portsmouth , where they had whales and Dolphins all practicing doing party tricks. I just thought that what are my chances of ever making Momma proud of me!

“Look Momma, look! “ I shouted

“What is it now Dumbo? Dumbo! NO! Come down this instant before Mr Carpenter sees you, he will have you up there performing all day! “

“Alright Momma” I was disappointed as I’m sure my ears would have allowed me to fly from the high wire if I had fallen.

Anyway a week later and Portsmouth Carnival with Sea life were in full swing. I saw Tommy in the sea and people were screaming and running around, the sharks they are here to kill us; I quickly looked around Momma wasn’t in sight so I raced into the sea and my ears became that of a sea creature, I could navigate under water, well as you can imagine the sharks shock! Seeing an elephant swimming under water like scathing fish, it just did a big jump, back flip and swam off into the distance, whistling his name was Free Willy “I was captured and kept in a showcase like yourself, but free now and we have come in from the sea to let everyone know, we are not being held captive any longer unless absolutely necessary for medical treatment and observation; we are not human fodder or human entertainment; unless we put a show on, as Jaws is bringing his clan and all the sea life will become friends of the human race, when they stop being a disgrace. Take that back with you Dumbsea and see you around”. With that gone.

Tommy grappled and grabbed my ear and climbed on my back and I took him to shore, with a clapping ovation I might add; my Momma just staring hazily at me, with tears in her eyes, you are now named Dumbsea, the King heard all about it too and came too visit, it was such an exciting and wonderful time in Portsmouth. I was sad to leave, but our next destination would be to the big Country called America where I do believe that our future awaits us there Momma whispers, as I fall asleep.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Dawn Earnshaw

Loves writing short stories and poems - learning punctuation and Grammar.ADHD

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.