Fiction logo

Dreamland part fifteen

Mask off!

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
2

Popee and Marifa had just finished their dinner of Thai food and they were playing with Kedamono Junior.

“Funny, yummy, tummy time, my sweetheart!” Popee said to his son in a sing-song fashion. Kedamono Junior was his stomach on the floor with a large baby blanket underneath him, and crawling a bit, but mostly just teething on some baby toys.

“He’s like so tiny,” Marifa said softly, her eyes two big saucers.

“And your eyes are too big!” Popee teased her.

Marifa snorted with a laugh. “Shush! Your face is too big!”

“Mama.. bababa…” Kedamono Junior babbled, cooing softly.

“Doesn’t make sense, sis! Hey….When do you think they’ll be home?” Popee asked.

Marifa shrugged. “Who knows? And yes it did make sense. You have a big forehead too…”

“And you have a big heart!” Popee said. Marifa was stunned by the compliment and said nothing, but she had a slow smile hit her lips.

“They’ve been out awhile…” Popee trailed off and looked worried. “I’m gonna call Keda.” He got up and took out his phone.

“No. Papi and Kedamono apparently needed to talk. Let them be.”

“About what?” Popee asked, sitting back down.

“Kedamono was the one who said he wanted to talk.”

“Hmm…” Popee hummed softly. “Weird.”

“What do you mean, weird?” Marifa said in a bored tone, giving her nephew a kiss on the forehead.

“I mean that’s weird. Why would Keda need to talk to Papi?”

“Who knows?” She repeated. “Who cares?” She saw the look of slight uncertainty on her brother’s face, and she sighed. “Go ahead, call him. That will make you feel better.”

He smiled. “Will you watch him?” He asked Marifa and she nodded.

“Mama!” Kedamono Junior exclaimed, looking up at Popee.

Marifa smiled but then asked, “Why’s he calling you mama?”

Popee shrugged, and bent down to pick up his son. “I’m the only one who acts like a mama to him, other than Keda who is his dad. His real mother abandoned him.”

Marifa sighed, looking at the baby sadly. “Are you talking about Shawna?”

Popee bit his lip. “Yeah.”

“Yeah. She came around the circus askin’ about Kedamono. She had the baby on her back in a blanket wrap. Papi didn’t know where the heck he was. I only knew cause I told you guys where to head to.”

Popee sighed, not knowing what to say.

Marifa picked up on the shift in her brother’s mood and got up, going to him.

Popee looked at her directly and asked, “Why did you tell her?”

“I didn’t know if… I didn’t know you guys were…” she sighed. “I didn’t know.

“What did she say?”

“She just needed to know where Kedamono was. She told me her name. I told her mine. And she needed to speak to Kedamono about something important. That’s it.” She put her hands up in the air, and looked at him in an open stare.

“Did she mention she had a child with Kedamono?”

Marifa shook her head.

“Look, I know you had no idea Kedamono and me were dating, but you knew we left together.” Popee said in a heaving sigh. “You know what happened that day. About Keda and how when that frog..”

Marifa put her heel up and down in a bit forceful tap on the floor. “I did not try to hurt anyone! Okay? Not even that dumb partner of yours!”

Popee frowned. “He’s not dumb.”

“It was a question of safety.” Marifa took in a deep breath. “It was a question of motive. Why did you feel so strongly to defend him? To give up your life with the circus for him?”

“Because he stood by me and never judged me. And he cares for me. And listens to me. And, I…I…” Popee couldn’t finish the sentence, his throat locking up with emotion.

Marifa got closer, giving him a serious expression. “You love him.”

“I love him very much, Marifa.”

“Look, I love you. And I respect you. You’re my older brother.” She sighed again. “I will always be wary of anyone who is with you. Kedamono is no exception. I want you to know that… for you, I will also show respect to him. I can’t personally promise that I won’t be sarcastic at times…” she chuckled softly and he nodded in affirmation, chuckling too.

“That’s honest, sis. Thank you.”

Marifa was about to ask a burning question in her mind, a question that plagued her since she first saw Kedamono join her father’s circus when she heard a flutter of noise and the front door opening. (Why does he really wear that mask?)

Popee had a weird feeling and looked at his phone as Marifa went to the front of the house.

There were three missed calls from Kedamono.

He realized he didn’t actually call him, was this an unspoken connection that he called just as he was going to?

Popee looked a bit thoughtful to himself and mildly concerned over the missed calls as he goes to see his dad walk in and waving at Marifa.

“Hey Marifa! Hey Popee!” Papi said, waving still, “And hello my darling grandson!” He said lovingly to Kedamono Junior.

Popee waved hello, but was looking for Kedamono. “Eh—-where’s Keda?”

Papi frowned, “Uh, he’ll be here in a moment.”

Marifa rolled her eyes, “What’d he do, get his tail stuck—” she saw the stern look that her father gave him and immediately closed her mouth.

“You two behave…” Papi said, but it was immediately ignored when Kedamono finally walked in.

Popee’s expression immediately became joyful as he walked quickly to give his boyfriend a kiss.

“Keda, hon, I’m so sorry I missed… y-your… call?” Popee’s voice slowly shut down and his eyes were very wide, his hands gripping their son close to his chest.

“Holy shit!” Marifa yelled.

Language, Marifa,” Papi said shortly, then smiling at nothing in particular, a serious, almost Mona Lisa sort of manner.

Popee was about to faint. He couldn’t process this.

Marifa was looking shocked and in absolute confusion.

There he stood—- wild, purple haired Kedamono, smiling at all of them nervously.

With no mask on at all.

Fan Fiction
2

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.