Fiction logo

Dreamland part fourteen

Marifa and Popee

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
2
Dreamland part fourteen
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

“His mother is the White Wolf.”

Popee heard the damning words as he was holding his son as he ate and looked at Marifa with a look that said indifference.

“Popee, did you hear me?” Marifa said, looking at her brother with a questioning, peering look.

“Yes, I did.” Popee lifted up Kedamono Junior and kissed his cheek.

“Are you done eating, sweet thing?” Popee cooed to his son, making him giggle as he lifted him higher.

“Popee? Come on, answer me.”

“What do you want me to say?” Popee said, shrugging. “I already know about his mother.”

Marifa was baffled by the easy going attitude and looked at him with a growing frustration. “And you.. you’re okay with it?”

“Yeah. Kedamono is nothing like his mother.”

“How do you know… what if he changes?”

“Nothing could change my sweet Keda.”

She growled. “Seriously?”

“Yes, I’m serious, Marifa. Even when I was at my worst, Keda showed me his best.” Popee held the child to his chest and sighed. “He’s been there for me. He’s my best friend, my partner, my soul mate.”

“That’s…” she bit her tongue. She didn’t want to hurt her brother.

She saw the bond they shared, and even though it bothered her—-she didn’t want to disrupt anything that Popee had. He seemed genuinely happy. For once, she noted.

Instead, she brought up a seething jealously, something that had landed at the pit of her stomach, but rose up steadily.

“What about me? What about us? What about our bond? I’m your only sister.”

Popee frowned and said, “Marifa, you mean so much to me. You’re my baby sister, of course you matter.”

“Then… stay away from him! He’s an animal. He’ll turn on you!” She stood up and realized she already disregarded her own advice.

Popee let out a stressed out breath. “Marifa, calm down. I mean it.”

“No. No. I don’t know what you see in him… those kinds of creatures seem okay, then something snaps… and they turn on you.”

Popee laughed. “Keda isn’t a werewolf, jeez, sis. Get a grip, why don’t ya?”

She growled again, her face turning red. “His mother is practically one. She’s completely destroyed villages.”

Popee calmly stood up with his son and sighed. “That’s not my Keda. He’s a loving, caring, darling—”

“Don’t make me barf!”

Popee looked at her with a hurt expression. “Marifa, are you actually going to do this? It’s been so long. Since I’ve seen you, since we had any time together. Please. Please don’t insult him.”

Marifa eyes lowered and she felt a bit of shame, but it didn’t last for more than a second.

“Well, dad doesn’t seem to approve. Why do you think that is?” She said softly.

“Ugh, Marifa!” He said with a serious tone. “I don’t care to know why! Our dad wasn’t a real dad! He sucked! Okay? Do you understand?”

“Yeah but—-”

“But nothing!”

“Why do you love him so much?”

Popee sighed and put his son in the high chair. “Because he saved me from myself. He carried me away from poverty and helped me realize my true potential. He’s kind and loyal and sweet…” he almost swooned. “And he’s very cute, too. That doesn’t hurt.”

She gave him a disgusted look. It hit him hard and he felt like she was judging him.

“Marifa…” he started tearing up. “Are you against my relationship with Keda.. because he’s a man?”

Marifa scoffed. “No!” She sighed and saw a stray tear fall from his face. “Popee… no. No way. I don’t judge that. I’m just worried. About you. That’s it.”

“I understand that. But… Keda is my partner. He’s treated me so well. He loves me, for me. I love him for who he is, too.”

“Popee…” she hated seeing her brother cry, and went over to him. She rested her hand in his shoulder.

“Listen, Marifa, I appreciate your concern. But… I’m staying with Keda. For as long as I live, and after that, too.”

She sighed, and passed over Popee’s statement. “I love you so much, Popee. You were my constant rock, someone I could always count on. All those times we used to spend together as kids, pretending to have our own gourmet restaurant at the circus, playing with those pots and pans… you were… you and I… those are the only good memories I have of my childhood.”

Popee laughed, his tears streaming down faster. “Yeah, Marifa, I remember that. You had that snooty French accent, telling me to cook faster!”

Marifa snickered. “I was the boss!”

Popee nodded and went over to hug her. “You are the boss.”

“I just wanted you to know. You know. About Kedamono’s mother. I.. don’t want to hurt you. Or him. I used to hurt him. But I realize… he never ever tried to get back at me. He was very… he was too forgiving,” She said with an apologetic look. “I believed it was a ruse. That no one could possibly be that trusting and kind.”

Popee nodded. “He is. Completely.”

Kedamono Junior started whining, which turned into a cry. Marifa immediately went over and got him out of the high chair.

“Oh, the little baby!” She said softly, holding him carefully and sweetly.

“Popee, your son is so cute.”

She snuggled him and kissed his forehead.

“He is also Keda’s son,” Popee said softly.

Marifa nodded, smiling softly. “Yes. He certainly is.”

And that affirmative gesture of one more kiss to the child’s cheek gave Popee all the assurance he needed.

Fan Fiction
2

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.