Fiction logo

Dreamland part eleven

Family time and a pre-planned proposal

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 9 min read
2
Dreamland part eleven
Photo by Dylan Sauerwein on Unsplash

Finally, Popee found his voice.

“What’s… what’re you two doing here?”

Papi shrugged, “Your crafty little sister seemed to know where you were. We found out where you lived before… but someone, I think your neighbor, informed us you moved in the city.”

“Aren’t you glad to see us, Popee?” Marifa said, her eyes looking slowly more and more upset.

Popee smiled at her, “Of course.” He sighed. “I’ll be right back.”

He closed the door on his surprised father and sister’s face, feeling his heart racing.

“Keda—-Keda!” He yelled, running so fast he tripped a bit.

Kedamono immediately got up and looked at him worriedly. “What’s wrong? Did you just fall?”

Popee frowned and nodded. “I just tripped. I’m okay… I’m, uh… Keda, hon…”

Kedamono went over and took Popee by the hand.

“Take a deep breath, baby…”

“I can’t. Papi and Marifa are here.”

Kedamono had a ton of anxious, nervous and flustered expressions fall and then he seemed to have a eureka moment.

“What is it? Should I tell them we’re busy?”

Kedamono frowned, and shook his head. “It’s okay, Popee. They are your family, after all. Just, invite them in.”

“Are you sure?”

He felt confident, knowing he had the upper hand now, as this was his house and if they got out of line, he wouldn’t hesitate to have them leave.

“Yes.”

“But, honey, what about—”

“It’s okay.”

Popee nodded and went to the door. He took in a shaky breath and opened it up.

“Come in.”

Papi smiled and tried to hug his son, but Popee immediately flinched and backed away. Papi frowned, but didn’t try to embrace his son again, respecting his feelings. He had his medium length black hair in a messy bun, and was still sporting his facial hair, which was still clean and tidy—-all the while, wearing a green and pink kimono. Marifa had short, straight silver hair and wore a red dress that accentuated her blue green eyes.

Popee had mixed feelings over the unaccounced visit, but he did, however, hug Marifa as they went inside.

“Oh, brother! I missed you!”

“Missed you, too, sis.”

“Wow! What a house, Popee! It’s huge!” Papi said.

“It’s lovely!” Marifa said.

“Yeah, Keda and I like it.”

Marifa bit her tongue, and then said in a pretentious manner, “That dumb wolf is here?”

“Marifa, please, don’t say that! He is my boyfriend, and my life partner.”

Marifa scoffed. Papi didn’t look too surprised, but asked in a concerned tone, “When did that happen?”

“We started officially dating seven months ago.”

“Oh, good. He waited until you were over eighteen, at least!” Marifa said in a rude, condescending tone.

Wow, come on, Marifa,” Popee said, regretting his choice to let them in. “Please, I mean it.. be nice.”

Marifa nodded, but looked insincere.

“Well, it seems you two are doing well,” Papi commented, as he looked at the house in awe.

They sat down on the couch.

Popee continued to stand up, his nerves jumbled.

“Well… it’s not just the two of us.”

Papi looked confused, “What?”

Marifa was looking forward at her brother in an overtly interested manner. “Who else?” Her suddenly sweet tone had a menacing quality to it, but Popee didn’t notice it.

“We… we have a son. Kedamono Junior.”

“How?” Papi asked, clearly shocked.

“Keda had a baby with this woman, and she found us,” At that moment he said that, Marifa’s eyes locked with Popee’s, but she immediately looked away. “And gave him to Kedamono. We are raising him together, and I love being his.. uh, dad.” He suddenly saw Kedamono walk in the living room, their son in his arms.

“Hello, Marifa, Papi,” Kedamono said politely, “How are you?”

“Fine, Kedamono, thank you,” Papi said, his face unreadable. “How are you?”

“Hi. Fine,” Marifa said shortly.

Kedamono smiled at Popee and sat down with their son. “I’m good. Just came home from work. This is our son, Kedamono Junior.” He lifted the baby up slightly and Marifa and Papi looked at the baby with interest and affection.

“It looks like I’m a grandparent, now. It’s a great day!” Papi said.

“And I’m his aunt!” Marifa said loudly, pointing at Kedamono Junior.

“Are you two staying in the city long?” Popee asked.

“Possibly. Maybe. What have you been doing since the circus, son?” Papi asked.

Popee frowned. “Nothing. Just here with Keda. Studying. Made a robot. Raising our son.”

“Popee is a genius. He made a fully functional robot with many abilities,” Kedamono added.

“Yes. My older brother is extremely intelligent. Unlike some I know…” she said with a bitter tone, eyeing Kedamono with a quick glare.

Kedamono sighed, trying not to respond.

“Thanks, Marifa,” Popee said, oblivious to the underhanded insult toward Kedamono.

“You’re so welcome, my best big brother.”

Kedamono frowned and felt like the conversation was getting away from him.

“You two want anything to drink? We were just eating dinner..” Kedamono trailed off.

“No, no. We won’t intrude,” Papi said.

“Yeah, unless you’re inviting us for dinner?” Marifa said in challenging tone. “Or can your income not afford extra guests at the table?”

Kedamono bared his teeth, growling. “Oh, trust me, darling Marifa, my income can feed an army, if I wanted!”

Marifa laughed. “Amazing.”

Popee frowned at the exchange and went over to get their son. “It’s time to feed Keda Junior, huh, honey?”

Kedamono nodded.

“Mama! Mama!” Kedamono Junior exclaimed as Popee held him.

“Awww, how precious!” Papi said.

“Sooo cute!” Marifa said, smirking directly at Kedamono.

Kedamono tried to smile back, but frowned.

“How about we watch the little dumpling, Popee, my sweetie pie?” Papi asked. “You two can get some alone time tonight.”

Marifa made a gagging noise, but then nodded. “Alone time.. yes..”

Popee rolled his eyes. “Don’t call me that, dad.”

“Well, anyway, why don’t you two stay for dinner?” Kedamono said in a quick, nervous voice.

“Ah, thank you, mutt, but we must be going, right, Papi?” Marifa said, her voice lowering to a cynical whisper on the word , ‘mutt,’ just so Kedamono could hear it.

Papi heard it, and gave Marifa a stern look.

“You’re right, my dear. We can always visit tomorrow… right Kedamono and Popee?” Papi asked.

“Sure. Whatever,” Popee said, going over to his sister and hugging her again, “It was great to see you.”

“Same here. May I hold your son?” She asked.

Popee grinned, “Yes!”

Kedamono frowned and watched as Popee handed over his precious son to the smirking Marifa.

He was sweating bullets, hoping that Marifa wasn’t planning anything sinister.

She held him exceedingly carefully however, and hugged him sweetly, making Kedamono breath out a sigh of relief.

“He’s very cute!” She said, handing him back to Popee after a minute.

“Thanks. He has his dad’s good looks,” Popee said proudly.

Marifa looked as though she may vomit, but covered it up with a smile that looked mildly nauseous.

She put up her thumb, “It was nice to meet my nephew.”

Papi felt left out, and said, “And my grandson.”

Popee nodded, “It was nice, indeed.”

Kedamono went over to Popee and put his arm and hand around the blonde’s waist. “Thank you for stopping by,” Kedamono said with a huge grin.

Marifa eyed the intimate move and stuck out her tongue, “Uh huh.”

They said goodbye and left, planning for them to visit for dinner tomorrow.

Kedamono felt relieved once they left.

Popee noticed and asked, “Are you alright?”

Kedamono laughed in a titter, his nerves frayed. “Popee.. your sister absolutely hates me.”

Popee frowned, “Honey, I.. she’s just eccentric. She doesn’t hate you.”

“Then… ugh! Then she’s homophobic! Something.” He furrowed his brow and sighed angrily.

“No way. She’s totally not homophobic!”

“Why do you keep telling yourself that she doesn’t hate me?”

“Because… I don’t know. I don’t think she does. Why would she?”

“So how I perceive it is wrong?”

“No. I didn’t say that.”

“Popee… I only invited her in because I love you. I know she hates me. She called me mutt.”

Popee sighed, “I’m sorry, honey.”

Kedamono heard acknowledgment in the apology and felt finally recognized for the things he had to say, feeling seen and heard for once.

He went over to his son and Popee and said, “Listen, I respect your relationship with your sister. You know that. I just… I feel like she … I don’t know. Maybe she just wants all your attention? She gets jealous.” He mainly said that explanation just to appease Popee—-he knew Marifa hated him.

“She says some harsh things sometimes… I actually had to keep her in check. I think she’s just young and immature. You know?”

Kedamono nodded, “Maybe.”

“I’ll talk to her.”

“No, don’t.”

“Well… I at least won’t tolerate anyone being rude to you. Okay?”

Kedamono nodded, walking to the kitchen.

“Honey?” Popee said in a concerned tone, walking into the kitchen with Kedamono Junior.

“Yeah?” Kedamono asked, going to sit down to finish eating.

“Listen, I want you to know that I did listen to you. Your feelings are valid. I don’t want you to think.. I don’t believe you. I do.”

Kedamono breathes in softly, and watches as Popee puts his son in the high chair and gets his meal ready.

“Thank you, baby. I appreciate… I really appreciate that.” He sighed. “I know how important she is to you..”

Popee stopped a moment and went over to Kedamono, putting his hand on his cheek, caressing it. “You are important to me.”

Kedamono smiled, and pursed his lips together. “I really love you, Popee, and you and our son means everything to me.” He put his hand over Popee’s hand on his face.

They share a small kiss, and Popee goes over to get Kedamono Junior’s meal.

“What about Papi?” Kedamono asked.

“Well… what about him?” He turned around at the question, feeeling unsure how to respond. He gives his son the meal, and starts feeding him.

“How do you feel?”

“I… I didn’t like how he questioned about our relationship and what I’ve been doing. He really has no right.”

“Marifa did that too. Just in a passive aggressive way.”

Popee rolled his eyes. “She seems to love Kedamono Junior. At least.”

“Yes. True.”

“Anyway,” Popee said, “let’s forget it for now.”

Silence hit the family, and it felt strange and disorienting.

Kedamono realized now more than ever, he’d need to keep his family in tact.

He already had a special day planned—the moment, the words.

A day at the koi pond park, to ask his beloved to marry him. That was supposed to be on the eleventh of next month—-their scheduled monthly date.

But, he felt he needed to be a bit more impulsive with this, and more importantly, more romantic.

He decided to talk to Papi first, (not so much for permission but to try and resolve some family issues)and then, he will ask for his darling’s hand in marriage.

It scared him, but he knew it had to be done.

Like ripping off a brutally stuck on bandaid.

Fan Fiction
2

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.