Fiction logo

Dreamer - Chapter 6

don't be fooled by what others tell you

By MelPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like

Disclaimer: This is a story with multiple parts. To read the previous chapter, click here.

"Are you alright?" My dad asked, turning his head over to look in my direction.

"Yeah.. I'm alright dad. Why wouldn't I be alright? I'm fine." I lied. I couldn't seem to get Rev and Ace out of my head no matter how much I tried. I kept trying to think about a positive outlook after what happened tonight. I just couldn't help but think that maybe that how they acted tonight wasn't exactly who they were as a person. Mostly Ace. I needed to figure out more about who Ace was. He may seem like the biggest asshole in the world, but he did intervene and stop Rev from hurting me tonight. He did offer to walk me back home rather than just let go off alone. He definitely has some sort of nice streak buried deep inside his tough exterior. I know I probably shouldn't even be thinking about getting to know them more, especially after tonight, but I can't help it. I just feel like I need to. Why is he called Ace? Is that even his name? He could've just as easily given me a fake name to get me to shut up about his name.

"You sure?" Dad asked. He pushed back some hair that had fallen in front of my eyes.

"Yes." I replied. I know I shouldn't lie to him, but when do people ever tell the truth nowadays. If he was to ever find out about the truth with what happened between Rev and I, he wouldn't ever let me out of his sight. He'd probably refuse to let me leave the house until he knew Rev was behind bars or taken care of, or something.

As the car pulled up the driveway, the bright headlights dimming slightly the closer we got towards the house, I glanced over towards my dad before looking out the window. Awkward silence filled the car. Once the car finally stopped, I jumped out and ran towards the porch with my hand out to grab the doorknob. It wouldn't open.

"I locked the doors, Alexis. Just be patient. I'm coming." Dad smiled, walking up the stairs for what felt like an eternity. I just wanted to get back home and see if Michael replied back to me. I did kind of leave him hanging before. But I did also want to get back inside just in case Rev or Ace actually did follow us back home. I didn't want to give Rev another chance at getting a second round, and Ace did tell me that he wanted to make sure I didn't run into Rev again. What did he mean by that? Would Rev actually circle back around just to see if I actually made it back home? I shuddered at the thought.

"Can't you just come unlock this door?" I said anxiously. As soon as my dad turned the key, I ran inside and slammed my bedroom door shut behind me. "Sorry," I shouted immediately after so my dad didn't think I was in some kind of pissy mood.

I fell to my knees, sliding myself across the floor and practically having to crawl myself towards the area I left my phone. I unplugged it and picked it up, holding it in my hand. Unlocking my phone, I checked the new messages. Seven of them to be exact. All from Michael.

"You'll get used to it."

"You can always call me if you ever needed to vent.. I'm always available for a Lex break."

"Hello?"

"Lex? Where ya go?"

"Hello..?"

"Lex, text me back. Please. I'm starting to get really worried."

"Lexxxxx??? You didn't forget your old pal once you moved, did ya?"

I stared back at the messages on my phone. It's amazing to see just how much he cared about me.. just how much he was worried about me. He was probably just freaking out.. new town, no other way to know I was okay. We were mostly each other's only best friends, and if I would have never made it out alive tonight.. I shook the thought out of my head. I didn't even want to think about that.

"You can always call me if you ever needed to vent," kept playing over and over in my mind. All of a sudden I was dialing his number and pressing the green call button.

After about the fifth ring, someone picked up.

"Hello?" Michael spoke into the phone.

"Hi."

"Lex?" He asked, "Is that you?"

"You know it's me, Michael. Did you somehow delete my name off caller id immediately after I left town?"

"Where were you? I was so worried when you didn't reply back to me and-" I cut him off.

"I just went out for a walk." Please don't catch that lie, Michael. I'm begging you.

"Out for a walk? At this time of night? That isn't like you."

Crap. He knows me too much.

"Where did you go, Lex? How come you didn't text me back?" He was asking question after question.

"I lied," I found myself telling him.

"What?"

" To be fair, I did got for a walk," I told him, "But it wasn't by choice. I was forced."

"Forced? By who?" His tone sounded anxious. It was almost as if he was getting ready to pound whoever it was that could have possibly hurt me. I chuckled at that thought. Michael couldn't even hurt a fly. Literally. Whenever we'd see a fly at his house, he would always catch it in a jar and let it outside so the creature could fly away and find it's family. It was one of the many things I loved about him.

"Just a guy named Rev," I said before realizing that I named dropped him, "He's nobody important."

"Tell me." He said.

"Do I have to?" I asked. Please say no.

"You brought it up, Lex," He answered, "Now spill it." Damn it.

Why did it have to be so hard to keep stuff from my best friend? I sighed. Of course he had to know. I never want to have secrets from him. I told him. Everything. The gun to my back. How I got forced into Rev's car. How I ran away from him and he still managed to get ahold of me again. I told him all about the guy who stopped Rev. But that was when I stopped. I wasn't going to tell Michael about Ace. Not now. Plus, he didn't really do anything to hurt me.. just Rev.

"Is that it?" Michael asked me.

"Yes," I lied again.

"Does your dad know?"

Crap. "N-No," I stammered into the speaker, "Please don't make me tell him Michael. Please."

"What?" He asked me, "Why? Lex.. you have to tell him. He's your dad. He has the right to know what happened."

"No." I replied, "Michael he's MY dad. He'll just embarrass me. He's going to-"

"He'll protect you, Lex!" He shouted into the phone, "He'll keep you safe. He'll watch out for you. You have to tell him this, Lex."

"You don't think I don't already know that? You don't think I've thought about telling him about Rev all night? Michael, I cannot tell him. We just moved here and if he found out I just got myself into trouble, he'll lock me away and throw away the key. I want to be able to handle this all on my own."

"Please don't handle this by yourself."

"Why?" I asked, "Why shouldn't I handle this by myself?"

"It's too dangerous, Lex."

"Oh like I've never been in bad situations before."

"Lex, don't keep this a secret."

"I can if I wanted to. Plus it isn't a secret. I told you, didn't I?"

"Well yeah, but-"

" You know the facts, Michael. Just let me make the decisions I want to make."

"Fine," He replied, "I promise not to tell anyone."

"Thank you."

"I'm going to go. Good night, Lex. Try to stay safe for me."

"Good night."

The call beeped, letting me know the phone call ended, and I placed the phone back down before walking back out into the living room. Dad was halfway out the door, his head out while his body remained inside the house.

"Dad?" I walked over towards the door, "What's going on?" I tried to peek out over my dad's shoulder but he shifted his body, blocking the whole view from me.

He turned to face me and I finally was able to see who it had been that he was talking to. "Alexis," Dad said, "this young man says that you know him."

Before I went to answer, the guy outside spoke up. "We just met before while she was out for a walk." I wanted to grab his neck and squeeze it so tight his eyes popped right out of his head.

"Oh." Dad turned to me, "Well go on 'Lexis. I won't mind you being out for a few more minutes as long as you stayed on the property this time."

He cannot be serious. I groaned, walking over to the coach so that I can sit down. I was not going out there.

"Do you want me to invite him inside?" He asked me.

"I don't want to see him," I mumbled.

"I'll just be waiting out here," The man shouted from outside!

Dad stepped closer to me, whispering, "Don't you want to see your friend again?"

No. I don't want to see him again, ever. He isn't a friend. He's hardly even an acquaintance. We had literally just met and he already managed to follow me back home. "How did he even get here?"

"Excuse me, Princess?"

I sighed at that name, "How did he get here? The guy outside.. how'd he find us?"

"He said you gave him the address."

I did no such thing. I stormed to the door, the cold hair slapping my face as I stepped outside.

"I see you finally decided to come join me outside," He smiled from ear to ear. He was sitting on the edge of the porch but he stood up to face me. His face was still hidden behind the hoodie and I just felt like yanking it off to reveal his true face.

"Don't you ever take that stupid thing off?" I asked him.

"Sometimes."

"Can you take it off for me now?"

He ignored the question, "Your house seems nice."

"Why did you follow me home?" I stepped off the porch to try and get away from him, "Why did you even think it'd be a great idea to follow me home?"

"I was just-"

"Let me guess," I proceeded to say, "you couldn't stand to live without me."

"No," He said, "I was proud when you left. I hate bitches like you."

That hurt. Is it impossible for him to say anything nice about someone he just met? "Well maybe I was happy when I left you," I responded.

"I know you were."

"Why?"

"I saw how you reacted when you saw me here. That annoying look on your face as you stand in front of me right now. You're miserable." He cracked a smile.

At least he understood. "And?"

"You love every bit of this."

"I do not!" I yelled back at him before I was able to stop myself.

He stepped off the porch, leaning his back up against the fence that went around the perimeter of the porch, "Yes you do." I could tell he was enjoying everything about this.

"You don't want to admit it, but you love this," He walked over to me, "It makes you feel things." His hand swept across my arm before I could swat it away.

"What did I tell you about touching me?"

"You told me not to do it."

"You still haven't told me exactly why you decided to come here."

"I can."

"So you followed me here?"

He leaned back against the porch, "Not exactly."

I went to respond when he cut me off, "Following you home would have meant that I was here when you came home. No. I waited a few minutes before I started to walk back behind you. If I directly followed you, you would've seen me and-"

"Just admit you followed me here and quit the act." I was a little harsher than I expected.

"Do you want me to go?" He asked out of the blue.

"Please." I mumbled.

"What was that?"

"Oh no. I would love for you to stay here and push me even further," I clutched my hands together and pressed them to my face, "I would just die if you left me here, Ace."

"Alright so I'll stay."

"Hell no."

He stepped over to me and went to brush his hand against my cheek when I blocked it away, "Don't be a bitch when I see you again."

"I'll try my best to be one." I smirked.

With that, he had disappeared. I walked back into the house to notice my dad had fallen asleep on the floor of the living room, his head propped up against the wall. I carefully walked back towards my room, gently closing the door behind me as to not wake him up. After, I went back to my phone and checked the time.

12:06am.

I pushed around some boxes and pulled out a couple blankets to recreate a tiny bed on the floor. "Good night world," I whispered to myself as I closed my eyes.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.