Fiction logo

Dreamer - Chapter 48

don't be fooled by what others tell you

By MelPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
1

The house looked a lot more homely once everything had been unpacked and put away. Dad would be so proud of me for not waiting till he got home to get this done. I just know he would've had some elaborate lecture planned out if I just left every box seated all over the house, unopened and not put away. Although, all this did take me till five in the morning to complete so... he probably would still have had a lecture about why I would decide to unpack rather than prepare myself to be ready for school the next day. Rev would be so proud of me. God. That statement doesn't make me feel any better.

My phone began to buzz on the counter as I started to search for something to put into my stomach. "Who the hell would be calling me at this hour?" I thought to myself as I grabbed ahold of the device, pressing the green phone button and placing it to my ear. "Hello?"

"May I please be connected to a Miss Alexis Kiele?" A man's voice sounded from the other end.

"This is she?" I answered, having it come out more of a question than a statement.

"Oh. Hello Miss Alexis-"

"Lex." I answered quickly, "You can call me Lex."

"Lex." He responded, "I'm so sorry for having had called this early, but I just wanted to inform you that our patient, Asa Edwards is ready to be discharged today and has requested for you to pick him up."

Ace? Why would Ace request for me to pick him up? I would've just assumed Rev would automatically be the one to pick him up.

"Miss Kiele?" The man sounded on the other end.

"I understand." I answered quickly, "What time does he need to be picked up by?"

"3pm."

My eyes jotted to the clock which stated 5am. Good. I still have time to take a small nap beforehand. "Thank you."

"Thank you, Miss Kiele. We'll see you later." With that, a click sounded on the other line. I couldn't help but wonder why Ace would want me to come and pick him up? Did he have another fight with Rev? Oh God. What if Rev told him about last night? Did Ace know about the moment we shared together? No. No, of course Rev wouldn't tell him about that. Why would he? Rev didn't even want Ace to know about the kiss we shared. No. Maybe he just didn't want Rev to know he was being released yet; knowing the both of them, that wouldn't even surprise me.

Before I placed my phone back down on the counter, I dialed one more number and placed it to my ear.

"Hello?" His voice sounded on the other line.

"About Saturday-" I paused, "I just wanted to let you know-"

"Oh God." He groaned, "Lex, I swear to God if that asshole is going to get in the way of us-"

"No." I answered quickly, "No. He'd never get in the way, Michael. Trust me on that. I stood my ground with them. They know exactly where I stand when it comes-" Should I really be telling him all this? It's a lie. Of course, Rev is going to get in the way of Michael and I. When has Rev not gotten in the way of my life? "-I stood my ground with them." I repeated back to him.

"If anyone even tries to step between us, they'd have to get through me first." He said as confidently as possible. I chuckled. Michael can be so cute sometimes.

"Let's hope it doesn't come to that."

"Please." He said without hesitation, causing me to let out a small giggle in response.

"What's going on with you?" I asked him, trying to change the subject hoping to get us off the topic of Rev or Ace, or whatever.

"Probably the same as you." He chuckled.

"What?"

"School?" He questioned, "Aren't you also getting ready for school?"

"I'm thinking about skipping today." After all the lies I've told to him lately, it felt weird actually being honest for once.

"Is that Rev guy-"

"Michael." I groaned out.

"Sorry." He said, "It's just- You never skipped school before and now that he's-"

"I was just up unpacking boxes till 5am, Michael." I groaned, " I'm too exhausted for school this morning." Alright. A bit of an exaggeration. I wasn't that exhausted; obviously, I had enough energy to call Michael before going to bed. "Things just- They feel different since I've moved here." I added.

"Well, duh!" Michael spoke out, "You don't have me to be at your constant hand and foot, Lex! God, I cannot wait till I can see you again."

"Me too." I answered softly. Don't get me wrong. I'm excited to see Michael. I am. Of course, I'm excited to see my best friend again. It's been way too long since we have last seen each other... but the idea of Rev popping in while Michael's around terrifies me. And oh God. Saturday. That big whatever Rev has planned that I apparently must go to. God, I cannot catch a damn break.

"Will your dad be out of the hospital by the time I come over?" Michael questioned.

"I uh- I'm not sure?" Gosh. Will he? If Ace is already being released, surely my father wouldn't be too far behind.

"What have the doctors told you?" He asked me, "You just saw him, didn't you?"

"Oh." I let out, "They don't- They don't know exactly when just yet." Another lie. A small one. Not that bad. Everyone tells a small lie every now and again, right?

"Oh." He sounded a bit disappointed, "Maybe we can visit him while I come up there. I would love to see Mr. Kiele as well as you, Lex, even if it is only for a few minutes."

"He'd love that." I found myself smiling. He really would. Dad loves Michael. "He'd certainly love having a visitor... other than myself." I added.

"Well," Michael spoke, "I have to go."

"So soon?"

"Sadly." He chuckled, "Some people don't have the whole 'pulling an all-nighter to unpack their stuff' excuse to skip out on going to school."

"You would probably still end up at school even if you did." I laughed out.

"Just go get some rest, Lex." He said to me.

"I will."

"Bye."

"Bye." After placing my phone back on the counter, my eyes glanced back up at the clock hanging on the wall. 5:45am. Only forty-five minutes? Wow. Michael and I must be losing our touch. My eyes glossed over the living room once more before I had back towards my room. 5:45am. At least I stayed up all night putting together the new home... and not being out and about with the devil. I snickered at my own comment. Dad would be proud. Changing into some old t-shirt and wearing just a pair of underwear over my bottom half, I found myself crawling into bed. Good night world. The days where Ace can't just walk into our lives is about to be over.

Young Adult
1

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.