Fiction logo

The Forever of My Dreams

she did believe she had finally met the one meant to be her forever.. if only that night in question didn't come into play | part 4

By MelPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Like

The second the door was opened, my eyes light up like a Christmas tree.

"You came back." Elliott had been smiling from ear to ear. He had been holding Ella in his arms, who hadn't gotten dressed just yet.

"Ella," I placed my hand on her back, "don't you want to go get some breakfast?"

"She isn't feeling too well." said Elliott, touching my hand which caused me to pull my hand back as my cheeks blushed a light pink color. "Personally," Elliott added, "I'd say she was just feeling a bit seasick this morning."

"I had a nightmare." Ella quietly got out.

"And she had some silly nightmare." Elliott turned to her, "Ella always feels sick to her stomach after a nightmare."

Grabbing Ella from his arms, I turned to her, "Don't worry. My little brother used to always get sick after having a nightmare. Do you want to know what always made him feel a lot better?"

She nodded.

"Well, for starters, I would sit him down on the bed." I placed her down on their bed before sitting next to her, "Next, I'd ask him what his nightmare was about."

"Good luck." Elliott knelt down in front of us, "I've been trying to get that out of her all morning long."

"Ella?"

She shook her head no.

"Ella, how are we going to be able to fix everything if you don't tell us what's wrong?" I tried my best at using the calming, soothing voice that always seemed to work when Carson was younger.

"It's stupid." she replied.

"Nothing about you could ever be stupid." Elliott comforted her, reaching over to place his hand on her knee.

"It was about mommy and daddy."

"Our parents are in New York awaiting our arrival, Ella. They're probably planning how they'll greet us when we first arr-"

"What if we don't see them again?" She asked.

"Why wouldn't we see them again?"

She shrugged.

"Hey." I placed her onto my lap, "Don't ever think like that, okay? Yes. Things happen. Things are unexpected. But-"

"Cecilia." Elliott went to interrupt but I hushed him.

"-sometimes the unexpected is good. I was something unexpected that came into your life. Wouldn't you say that was something good that happened?"

She giggled.

"You are going to see your parents, Ella." I smiled at her, "Hey. Maybe I'll piss my mother off enough that I'll just deboard this ship with you."

Elliott turned to me with confusion written across his face, which I responded by placing my finger to my lips.

"Can she?" Ella turned to Elliott, "Please?"

He grabbed ahold of my hand, "We'll see." I caught a smirk glide across his cheeks as he weaved his fingers around my hand, bringing it up to his lips to give a soft peck. "But she shouldn't have to deboard without her family," He added, "especially when family is everything."

"I just don't want to think about them right now." I groaned.

"Why?" Ella asked me.

"Ella." Elliott nudged her arm before jotting me a 'you okay?' look to which I just gave a small nod in return.

Ella grabbed ahold of my hand, "My mommy is going to love you." She turned to Elliott, "Now I'm starved."

"I thought you weren't feeling well?"

"Cecilia must have cured me." She shrugged, causing me to laugh.

"You want to-" Elliott turned to ask me, "-you probably already ate this morning, being from first class and all."

"I didn't." I smiled, "I'd love to." Following them down the hall towards their version of a dining hall, I couldn't help but notice how lively the people in the halls seemed down here. Of course, we had that up in first class as well, but people mostly just used the halls to walk to and from their rooms; hanging out on either the deck or in the social halls. Down here in steerage, adults would converse in the halls as children ran around chasing each other through the people that stood around. My mother would absolutely hate it down here.

"What's it like up there?" Ella questioned me, bringing my attention back to the two people I came down to join.

"Up there?" I asked her.

"She means first class." Elliott smiled, picking Ella up to carry her in his arms, "She probably should have specified that's what she was talking about, isn't that right Ella?"

She put her finger to his lips, "Shh. I asked Cecilia."

"Yes ma'am." He told her before giving her finger a small lick.

She turned back to me, "Is it nice up in first class? I always see them dressed so nice up there. Do they party a lot?"

Boy, I wish they did. "No." I answered her. "They should. They all dress like they would, but no. First class is definitely not like it is here with all the dancing and cheerfulness. Everyone up there," I paused to think of how exactly I could phrase what I'm about to say without going too far, "it's almost as if they have a stick shoved up their-"

"Woah." Elliott chuckled, "Okay then."

"Sorry." I said to him, "Anyways, I would much rather just be down here... with you guys."

"Really?" Ella smiled.

I nodded.

"Steerage isn't all that great, Cecilia." Elliott stated, "For starters, I'm sure you guys up in first class actually get considered by the crew. Sometimes I feel as if they just load us all up down here like sardines just to forget we exist until the boat docks. Don't even get me started on the rats down here. It's almost as if they all boarded the ship to start a new life in America as well as us."

"I'd rather deal with rats than my mother."

"You don't mean that." Elliott told me.

Crap. They were separated from their parents for the longest time and here I am, complaining about having to deal with my mother while on this voyage. Stupid Ceceilia. Seriously, just think. "Alright I never meant to compare her to ship rats." I responded, "But I still cannot stand her today."

"Okay." Elliott put Ella down, allowing for her to run on ahead towards the dining hall, which was directly in front of us by now, before bringing me off to the side away from the crowds walking towards breakfast, "What the hell happened this morning?"

"Nothing."

"Cecelia." He caressed my cheek; a way of comfort that made me weak at the knees. How could I not love him? How could anyone not love him?

"She talked about you."

"Oh boy." He leaned against the wall next to me, turning his cheek to continue facing me, "She hates me, doesn't she?"

"No." I lied.

"Let me guess." He smirked, "I'm not exactly the person she had in mind for her daughter to be in love with."

My cheeks flushed as he spoke of the word love.

"I wouldn't exactly be the person she planned to have join the family via her daughter's heart." He continued.

"I never told her that we were in love." I giggled softly.

He clutched his chest, "You never told her!? Well, that explains everything! She can't learn to accept me if she thinks I'm not going to be around for the long haul."

"She wanted me to come to breakfast so she could introduce me to people of my own kind. Her words, not mine."

Elliott fell to his knees, clutching his heart once again, "Ouch."

I couldn't help but laugh at his overexaggerated reactions.

He reached out, grabbing ahold of my hand and pulling me down with him so that we were eye level, "She'd probably hates that you chose to be here rather than up with them."

"Oh, she most definitely hates the idea of this." I chuckled, "I left for your room before she even had a chance to speak her mind this morning."

"You know what would really piss her off?" He asked me.

"Staying the night in your room?" I jokingly asked in return.

"You want to?" He asked me.

"What?"

"Spend the night with me." He explained, "It's not like we'll be alone. I have Ella and what pretty much feels like half of steerage living in my room every night."

"I don't want to be a bother."

"You'd never be a bother," He smiled, "and you don't have to answer now, but just know that the option is there if you don't feel like going back tonight."

A small part of me wanted to answer now. A small part of me wanted to grab his face, give him a thousand kisses, and say yes. A small part of me would do anything to make sure I never had to say goodbye to him ever again.

"We should probably go eat." He stood up before helping me back onto my own feet, "Eventually, Ella will realize that we never entered the hall."

Sure enough, the second we entered the dining hall Ella was standing by the entranceway pretending to tap an imaginary watch on her wrist.

"You're late." She folded her arms at Elliott and I.

"We're here now." I told her.

She guided us to a table that already had plates made up for the three of us.

"She insisted on having the meal be already at the table by the time the two of you showed up." Luc spoke up, "I tried to tell her to wait but-"

"That's fine. Thank you for keeping an eye on her, Luc."

"My pleasure." He answered, "I seriously do not mind, Elliott. You don't have to thank me every time."

Elliott held my chair out for both Ella and I before taking a seat in between the both of us. My eyes danced around at all those seated around the dining hall. Families had been seated together, eating and conversing amongst one another as if they were the only ones in the room. Mothers were cutting up the food for their little ones, as fathers laughed and joked with the others seated around them. Some gentlemen were already cracking open a cold one, while ladies gathered 'round to discuss the latest gossip. Nobody was gathering around to get up and dance much as they did during dinnertime, but I probably wouldn't be in much of a dancing mood first thing in the morning either. My eyes focused back on Elliott and Ella once again. I couldn't help but smile at the way he helped her; the way he didn't eat till he made sure her food was just the way she liked it, the way he constantly made sure she was actually eating and not focusing on something else happening in the room, or even the way he would offer the food he didn't feel like eating because she 'clearly needed it more than him'. All the signs pointed towards the right direction; I definitely made the right choice being here rather than spending the morning with my family in the first-class dining hall.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Molly Marjorie2 years ago

    I really enjoy the contrast of the two worlds--the rich who concern themselves with looks to the extent that don't fully engage in life vs. the poor who have little, but enjoy everything they do have to its fullest extent. I noticed several places in this chapter where you switch between past tense and present tense verbs. You may want to re-read to get your verbs to agree.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.