Fiction logo

Dreamer - Chapter 41

don't be fooled by what others tell you

By MelPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like

Bang! sounded from the distance.

Fuck. My pace sped up to reach the old abandoned building Jess and Mace led us to only for my eyes to widen at my sight.

"You have got to be kidding me!?" I shouted.

"Sorry." Jess said to me.

"What the hell is he doing here?"

"I'm so sorry." Jess repeated.

"I invited him." the lime green haired girl, Mars, said stepping out of the shadows, "You must have done quite the number on him Lex, because even I can't even get him to want to refuse to go anywhere."

"Shut it Mars." he growled at her.

"It's Marie." She said back to him.

"It's fucking Mars." He turned to me, "I told her I didn't want to-"

"Save it." I told him, "I wasn't the one who walked away before."

"Lex."

"So you didn't want him finding out, huh?" I turned towards Mace.

"I never said he wasn't going to be here." He threw his hands up, "I just didn't want you blabbing to anyone about who was with us."

"And you," I turned to Jess, "did you know he was going to be here? Is that why you invited me along?"

"I swear I had no idea he'd be here." Jess answered quickly.

"Bullshit." I told her, "He probably helped you get my information, didn't he? He probably-"

"He wasn't going to come, Lex. I dragged him here." Mars spoke up, "If you want to get mad at anyone, just get mad at me."

"Mars-"

"Marie."

"Nobody's calling you Marie." Rev spoke up, "Give it up."

"Why can't we call her Marie, Rev? If she wants to be called-"

"Her fucking name is Mars. She can call herself Marie anywhere else.. not here. Not with us." Rev stated, "Is that understood, Mars?"

Mars rolled her eyes, "Whatever."

Bang! the sound rang again. My eyes jotted over everyone in the vicinity to try and trace where it could have came from but I couldn't pinpoint it. Is there someone else lurking in the distance, not coming out as a sort of scare tactic for us newbies?

"What the hell was that sound?" I found myself asking before my mind had the chance to tell me whether bringing it up would've been a good idea or not.

"Nothing to be so concerned about." Mace answered.

"It sounded like a-"

"Mace, cut it out." Rev cut me off, "We can have a nice hang out without all of the shenanigans."

"All of these things involve shenanigans, dumbass." Mace told him.

"What the fuck did you just call me?" Rev charged up to him and grabbed a fistful of his shirt.

"Now it's a party!" Mars shouted out, raising a bottle of beer in the air.

I couldn't help but notice Mace swat Jess' arm away when she went to pull him away, as well as noticing the way Rev glared at her before staring back at Mace.

"Can't fight your own battles, man?" Rev said to him.

"You seriously think I need her to fight my own battles?" Mace barked back at him.

"Mace." Jess went to say when he held his pointer finger up to her.

"Shut it."

"Rev." I spoke out towards him.

He turned to me, not letting go of Mace's shirt.

"Just stop." I mouthed to him, "St-"

"You can't even fight your own battles, dude." Mace brought Rev back to his full attention.

Rev grabbed ahold of his shirt with his free hand and threw Mace against the ground, spitting on his face before saying his next choice of words, "I can fight my own fucking battles."

Jess went to cling herself to Mace but I grabbed ahold of her, shooting her a 'don't do it' look. Trying to protect someone from Rev never works.. I should know.

"Get off of him." Jess said, ignoring my look. She pulled away from my grip and made a beeline towards Mace as Rev stepped off of him, "Oh Mace. Are you alright? You good?"

"Yeah." Mace sat himself up, "Rev barely even winded me. He must be getting weaker."

"I'm getting weaker?" Rev asked him.

"Rev." I whispered towards him.

"I'm getting weaker?" Rev repeated himself. He pulled the gun from the back of his pants and raised it towards Mace's head.

"Rev." Fear and panic began rushing towards my face. This couldn't be happening again. He cannot seriously think he could get away with doing this again.

"Rev." Mars had brought her attention back on what was currently happening between the group, "You seriously do not want to do this, Rev."

Jess had froze up, unable to move away from Mace who was staring directly at the barrel of Rev's gun.

"You don't have the fucking balls to do it, man." Mace said to him.

"That's what you think." He moved his gun and pulled the trigger. Bang!

"Mace!" Jess screamed, turning towards the man who was still sitting up in the same position he had been before, "Mace?"

"Missed me." Mace smirked.

"Or maybe I didn't aim for you." Rev tucked the gun back into the back of his pants, "You didn't think I'd plan to shoot one of my best men, did you?"

"Rev, you can't just do that every time we hang out!" Mars shouted at him, "Do you just get off at terrifying the rest of us?"

"Lex?" Jess called out to me.

**

Bang! Blood began pouring out of his skull before Gilbert's body had fallen to the ground.

"Gilbert?" I called out to him, "Oh my god. Gilbert, speak to me." The others were still conversing amongst each other as I fell to my knees, laying next to his still body. "Gilbert. Tell me you're okay. Just tell me that you'll be okay." I knew I barely knew who he was, but I couldn't help but shed a tear.

"Lex?" I heard Jess' voice call out.

My eyes stayed locked on Gilbert; my hands covering themselves with blood as I tried to plug the hole in his forehead.

"Lex, what's wrong?" Jess' voice sounded as if it had been closer but I couldn't take my eyes off him.

"Lex?" Rev's voice sounded a bit worried.

"You said you didn't shoot those who didn't deserve it." I managed to let out.

"Oh shit, dude." Mace covered his mouth to hide his laugh, "I was wrong. You didn't miss at all."

"Gilbert?" Jess fell to her knees next to me, "Gilbert, please say something. Say something to me. Please." The pain in her voice was enough alone to pull at your heartstrings.

"Lex." Rev went to pull me up but I shoved his hands away.

"You told me you wouldn't shoot anyone who didn't deserve it." I picked myself up, "You told me-"

"He lied, honey." Mars laughed.

"Shut it." Rev snapped at her. He went to pull me into his embrace but I pulled away.

"Don't." I said to him.

"Lex."

"Don't you dare."

"You didn't think I planned for that.. do you?"

"I don't know," I said to him, "It wouldn't exactly be a first time for you, would it?"

"Ooh. Lover's spat." Mace cheered.

I ignored him. "Look at what you caused, Rev." I gestured towards Jess crouched over Gilbert's limp body, "You did that, Rev. Not Mace. Not Mars. Not Jess. You. You took away a life of an innocent; probably the same exact way you took the life of-" I stopped myself. Don't say anything else, Lex. Don't make this worse for yourself.

"Took the life of what, Lex?" He asked me.

"Nothing."

"Of what, Lex?" He asked again, "Last I checked.. both your father and boyfriend were alive and well in the hospital."

"He's not my fucking boyfriend, you jackass."

"You're still on that."

"If he was my boyfriend, wouldn't that make you a dead man?" I asked him.

"You're just going to let her talk to you like that?" Mace whispered to him.

"Lex."

"No." I stood up to him, locking eyes with his, "How do you think Ace would feel if he found out that-"

"Stop." He pushed me off him, holding his hand on my chest, "Just stop."

"Congratulations, Lex." Mars said to me.

"What?"

"You broke him." She nudged me, "I seriously thought I'd be the only one to do that.. God, I feel as if a weight has been lifted off my chest."

"I didn't break him." I lied, pushing his hand off my chest. Did I break him? If what Mars said was true.. does that mean she also knows about his past? My eyes glanced over at Mars before looking back on Rev. No. No way. She's wrong. She couldn't be anymore wrong. Rev's Rev. There's no breaking Rev. Not by me, at least. Not with what I've made him do.

"Guys." Jess called back out, bringing our attention back to the issue that originally stirred all this up, "Guys, he isn't breathing."

"Does anyone know mouth-to-mouth?" Mars asked.

"It's a little late for that." Mace answered.

"No it's not." I said, "It can't be. It can't be too late."

"We have to do something." Mars spoke up.

"Yeah," Mace said, "Discard of the body. He's fucking dead."

"No." Jess cried out.

"Mace, you better go get your girl." Rev said to him, "She's going to get us in trouble."

"No. I'm not going anywhere." Jess continued to cry out.

"Come on." Mace pulled her up, "He's gone. We have to go."

"We can't just leave him."

"We have to."

"I'll take care of it." Rev said to them, "Mace, just take her home. Make sure she calms down first though. You insisted for her to come.. she needs to know the protocols."

"The protocols?" I let off a laugh, "You have protocols, and I'm supposed to think that this was an accident?"

"Lex, Mars.. you both are going to help me."

"I have to go. Jess was my ride."

"No." Rev grabbed Gilbert's legs, "You have to stay here and help. I'll take you home."

"You seriously don't think I'll let you take me home after-"

"Dammit Lex, shut the hell up and just help us." Rev snapped at me.

"You may as well do it." Mars said, "He isn't going to let it go.. even to us." She picked up the top half of Gilbert's body and I went over and helped. I may as well.. Rev wasn't about to let me leave without doing so.

"You guys do this a lot?" I found myself asking.

"Only when Rev's around." Mars told me, "He's a moron who gets angered way too easily."

I know. "Mars, mind if I ask you a question?" I asked her.

"Sure."

"What did you mean when you said I-"

"Enough talking. Let's just get this over with." Rev cut me off.

"Aw, Rev. Are you jealous because she's actually talking someone besides you for once?" Mars mocked his tone before turning back to me, "Has he agreed to let you live your own life yet?"

"He said he would." I told her, "Yet, here I am.. with him.. once again.. helping him hide a-"

"-dead body." Mars chuckled, "Get used to it. It used to be just me who would have to help him.. Kind of glad I get to have someone else to do this with me."

"You've done this before?" I fake gasped. Of course they have. I haven't known Rev for that long and this already doesn't surprise me."

"Can I ask you something, Lex?"

"Shoot." Please don't let it be that bad a question. Please.

"What did you mean.. earlier?" She asked me, "You said Ace wouldn't be too happy at something that happened between-"

Rev let off a cough, catching Mars eye.

"You didn't."

Silence.

"Tell me you didn't."

"Didn't what?" I played dumbed.

"How many of Ace's girls are you going to fall in love with, you dumbass?"

I stopped in my tracks, dropping the body at my feet. "What?"

Series
Like

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.