Fiction logo

Dreamer - Chapter 4

don't be fooled by what others tell you

By MelPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like

Disclaimer: This is a story with multiple parts. You can read the previous chapters here.

My phone was still at home. Probably still plugged into the charger on the floor of my bedroom. Where I left it. Why didn't I take that stupid thing with me? It's always with me, even when I didn't really need it to be. I mentally slapped myself across the face before moving my hand away from my pants and placing it gently in my lap. My eyes scanned over the entire vehicle; looking up and down, side to side, studying every last detail of my surroundings to get my mind off the lack of phone in my pocket.

This car smelled like old cigarettes and beer. It was that heavy type of scent that would most definitely stick to your clothes for a lifetime, even after you go through a serious washing. How do I explain this to my dad? Yes. Dad, hi. You know that boy who was with me back in the driveway? Yeah.. the one you just let take me away on a little joyride although we literally just moved into the neighborhood and didn't really know anyone? I swear we didn't do anything BUT I still reek of old cigarettes and beer.. but don't worry, I swear I've never touched one.

He probably never even realized he actually drove off the property with him. He was probably sitting at home thinking that my "new friend" and I were just standing around in the driveway, introducing ourselves to each other, getting to know our favorite hobbies. Is this really the type of guy my dad thinks I'd want to hang out with? This dude held a gun against my back to make sure I didn't do anything stupid when my father arrived on the scene. When have I ever been around that kind of crowd? Although it was pitch black. The gun was held behind my back as he faced me towards my father. He probably hardly saw a single detail of my own shadow, let alone a detail on the shadow of the guy or gun that was standing right next to me. Dad probably didn't even think anything suspicious at all. We were new to a town we've never been to before, and people would come up and greet new neighbors all the time where we used to live.

Where was this guy taking me to anyway?

I scanned the outside from my car window. The only thing lighting up the road ahead of us was coming from the car's headlights. I hate driving on these types of roads. My dad loved it though. He calls them an adventure; he never saw dark, windy roads as dangerous in any way like I do. I assume you'd have to get used to these roads if you were to actually live here, but I can't see myself ever getting used to this. My eyes scanned through the parts of the car I could actually see; the dashboard and the drivers side. A cigarette was being held between his pointer and middle finger as he rested them against the edge of the steering wheel. Every now and again, he'd bring it up to his parted lips, take a puff, and place his hand back on the wheel. My eyes scanned up and down his clothes. His jacket was torn at the elbow, like he had gotten in a fight, and his white tank top was smeared with what looked to be either dirt or dust. He definitely was not afraid to get down and dirty. His jeans had small tears located at the kneecaps and running down his legs. I couldn't help but wonder if he noticed the rips before or if he just enjoyed wearing pre-ripped clothing.

"It's wrong to stare," He said in a nearly whispered tone.

My eyes jerked back up to his.

"You want some of that?" He grabbed ahold of his crotch before hanging his wrists over the wheel, overlapping over each other.

"Why the hell would I?" I asked.

"I was just wondering." He smirked, "You were just staring at my crotch so I just assumed you were in the mood to give me a little present."

I wanted to slap him across the face right then and there. I don't even care if we just met, or if it was unladylike. He was starting to bug the absolute shit out of me. "I don't even know you!" I turned my body to the side so I was able to face him, locking eyes with his.

"Yet.. you still yell at me."

"What?"

"Do you always yell at strangers when you first meet them?" His tone seemed louder than it was before, but the way he spoke was less frightening and more friendly. He was starting to sound a lot more like a regular person rather than someone going around scaring the pants off random bystanders.

"No," I answered, "Usually, I'm nice to strangers. I have no reason to be angry with people I don't even know. But you did hold a gun up against my back.. you made me lie to my own father.. and now you-"

He pulled his car into the grass on the side of the road. The car was tilted into one of the ditches that sat along the road. I clutched the door handle, squeezing tight with my fist in fear that he'd try and throw me out for not shutting up. My eyes looked all over, trying to find a way to not notice the way he had stopped the car.

"What wrong, pretty lady?" He stretched his arm outward, letting his fingertips softly stroke my brown hair again. He carefully wrapped a couple strands around his finger before pulling it towards himself.

"Stop." I responded.

He leaned forward before tilting towards the side, "You're a tough one." He smirked before mumbling out the next line, "I like that." His eyes slowly closed as he leaned in closer. His lips moving closer and closer to my own. I panicked. I opened the door and jumped into the ditch. Mud splattered all over my clothes but I didn't care. It was better than being stuck in the car with him. My heart began to pound as I scrambled up to my feet and ran down the long, grassy field.

"Hey," He yelled! "Get the fuck back here!"

I heard a car door open and slam behind me. Without turning back, I just kept running. I picked up the pace. Don't look back. Don't look back. I kept wanting to peek behind me, to see how close he was actually getting to me, but I stopped myself. I can't. Multiple voices in my head kept repeating the same things over and over again:

Don't turn around. Don't look back. He could be right on your tail.

I ran even faster but tripped over my feet. My face slammed into the dirt. My palms were the first to land but my mind was still set on panic mode. I winced at the striking pain shooting up my arms. I shifted my face upward, spitting out bits of dirt as I tried to get back up. I pressed my palms into the dirt as my fingers curved inward, taking ahold of each grain. I curved my back up towards the sky, giving myself a view. There were hardly any stars out tonight. Usually when that happened, life was trying to give me a set of bad news, and it never failed to let me down on that little lifelong tradition.

A pressure shoved my back down into the grass, "Stay down."

My eyes widened. It tried to squirm away but the pressure was applied even more than before.

"I said to stay down!" His voice sounded louder than before. A hand clasped over my mouth. I tried to squirm more but my body was pinned down by something even heavier. I tried to scream but it just came out muffled.

"You don't know how to listen, do you?"

My body tensed up. My hands gripped the dirt. My eyes became more panicked than before. I went to shout something, but the words got stuck in my throat.

"Do I need to teach you a lesson?" He flipped me onto my back, keeping his body hovered over mine. All I was able to see past my eyes was his bare chest. He still had his hand pressed firmly against my mouth. "What was that?" He asked me again.

I shook my head as my eyes filled with terror. He moved his hand away, moving it down to my neck and gripping tightly, "You don't want to be taught a lesson?"

"You have no idea who I am, do you?" His tone changed from harsh to kind, almost as if he was trying to get me to warm up to him while he continued to have me pinned to the ground with his hand wrapped firmly around my neck.

I was afraid to respond. I focused my eyes towards the sky past his head. If I could just take my mind off what was currently happening, maybe it'll be over.

"I'm-"

"Get the fuck off of her!" Someone shouted towards us. The guy jumped off of me and I took the biggest breath of air. Having someone's hands wrapped around your throat really does make you appreciate how much you'd take breathing for granted.

"Leave her alone, Rev." The person spoke out again. I wish I was able to see who this mystery hero was. I wanted to thank them for getting me out of that position.

"I was just trying to introduce myself," Rev responded back, "When is that a bad thing?"

"Just let her go," He answered, "She hasn't done anything to you."

Rev looked back down at me, who was still stupid enough to be laying in the dirt watching all this go down. Was that him trying to tell me I was free to go?

"Let. Her. Go!" The other guy shouted back. He ran over and all I was able to see was a hood that had blocked his face. He wore what looked to be blue jeans and a faded black hoodie.

"Get off the ground," He reached his hand out to help me up.

I rolled my eyes before picking myself off the ground. "I didn't need any help," I replied harshly. I know it was a rude thing to say, but I didn't want anything to do with Rev or his friend. Not after what just happened.

"I was just-"

"I don't need any help." I repeated myself.

"Fine," He said, "Rev, let's just go."

I sighed, "That's cool. I'll just walk back home myself when I have no idea where the fuck I am going."

"Do you want me to take-" Rev went to ask but I interrupted him quick.

"Hell no."

"Fine."

I started walking towards what I hoped was the direction of my house. I probably should not have been so harsh with them. The other guy, the one who I assume was a friend of that Rev dude, seemed nice. I just don't want to be near Rev anymore. Not after what he just attempted to do with me. I didn't even want to get to know who the other guy was. For all I know, he's worse.

"I can't let you walk home at this time."

Series
Like

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.