Fiction logo

Dreamer - Chapter 3

don't be fooled by what others tell you

By MelPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1

Disclaimer: This is a story with multiple parts. You can find the previous chapter here.

I quickly turned my head towards the window but saw nothing besides complete darkness. I grabbed the doorknob and opened the door slowly and carefully before stopping myself.

What if the person who wrote that was still out there? They could be standing there just waiting for some weak little bitch to step outside to see what was going on. Whoever wrote on that box might be expecting me to go outside just so they could harm me in some type of way. I was a newbie. Nobody else knew me, or my dad, before today. I didn't even know who anyone here was or what kind of lives the people of this town lived yet. Something bad could happen to me and nobody would probably even care. People probably wouldn't even notice. The news station will probably just label me as some Jane Doe when they announce my death. The person who was in here before, the same one who might still even be on this land, could have a knife.. or worse, a gun. I just can't take the idea that so much could happen in so little time. If this person came in here now, what's stopping them from coming back and hurting me the first chance they got? I shuddered at that thought. They can't actually hurt me. They wouldn't. It was obviously just some prank someone decided to pull on the newbie neighbors. I was just being paranoid, like always. Clearly, nobody in this small town would have the stomach to hurt another human being. Right? They couldn't be have been that dangerous. If they were, why would they cause a scene after writing on the box and still flee the scene afterwards? My eyes kept scanning the outside through the window from behind the half closed curtain. I was still only able to see complete darkness. No lights. No shadows. No people. It was probably too dark to even see any type of shadow to be honest, including those that belonged to animals. If someone did want to plan on doing anything horrible to anyone in this neighborhood, now would be the perfect time to ever do so.

I walked back into the bedroom, pushing all other thoughts out of my head. I looked over at my phone and noticed that it was lit up. The green envelope flashed onscreen with the name Michael appearing above it. I slid my finger across the screen and opened up the new message.

"Is it a pretty house?"

I slide my keyboard up with a smile spread across my face and began to type.

"It's alright. Not too big but not too small. It does seem to be pretty cozy, still. Still a new feeling to me though. :/ Idk. I guess it's just weird for me to be in a whole new place surrounded by new people and new places.. I miss being able to have my best friend come over whenever he felt he was needed though."

There was another sound that stirred up from outside. But instead of a loud crashing sound, it sounded almost like light footsteps running through piles of fallen leaves. My head jot up quickly, my phone clutched inside my palm. What the hell was that?

"Text me if you need anything." my dad's voice played through my mind over and over again.

I unlocked my phone again, pulling up my father's messages. I began to type.

"Dad, I think someone is in the house. Come home quick!!"

I stared at the words written on the screen. The message I wrote out played me out to look extremely paranoid. My dad and I both realize I can be quite paranoid, but did I really want my father to think I was having these horrifying thoughts when we haven't even lived in our new home for a whole day yet? My dad would probably read this text and think I'm just some lost, little girl pleading for the attention I couldn't receive. I jammed my thumb on the backspace button, watching as each word I typed up faded into nothingness. If I had actually sent that message out, he would have probably just thought I was bored and wanted to go back to our old house anyway.

"Try to come home quick." I retyped before pressing send.

I put my phone back down on the floor before walking back towards the living room. My heart started to beat faster as the front door came closer and closer in view. A bad feeling ran up my spine as I clutched the doorknob. My mind kept telling me to just turn around. Ignore the footsteps. It's probably nothing. Just lock the door and go back to your room. The cold metal of the doorknob ran right through me as I opened the door. I decided to ignore every other thought in my mind as I walked outside the house. The wind was strong tonight but I fought through it. I just folded my arms across my chest, rubbing my arms with the bottom of my palms as a way to keep myself warm, and walked through the front yard. There was a pretty far distance from the house to the street, so whoever was here before couldn't have made a mistake on which house they walked into. They wanted this one in particular. It could still be a prank. Maybe the neighbors knew we'd be moving in today and decided to try and scare us. Well. It worked. I walked down the long driveway towards the street, looking in every direction to make sure nobody was planning on sneaking up on me. It was still pitch black and I was really regretting not bringing a flashlight with me right about now. I'm sure dad had one in the house somewhere. It was dark and cold, and the only thing I was able to hear was an owl hooting in the distance.

A pair of headlights shined on me and I threw my hands in front of my eyes to block the brightness. Before I could think anything of it, I began to wave my arm above my head blurting out, "Dad?" A horn blared as the car sped faster towards me. I froze in place. My eyes widening in fear.

The headlights flashed. The horn blared. Louder. Louder. The car jerked forward before stopping abruptly. I closed my eyes. I was too afraid to watch what was happening in front of me. I felt something start to pick up speed. Faster. Faster. Something began to spin.

Faster. Faster. Faster.

My ears began to fill up with ringing sounds. Metal made contact with the concrete below us as the car began to skid across the road. I opened one eye, taking in the scenery around me before opening the other. Everything outside seemed to look upside down. I brought my legs completely over my head to get on my hands and knees. My eyes shifted past the driver seat to the person sitting there.

My heart began to race. I could feel my insides melt as the car sped down the driveway closer to where I was standing. I couldn't find the nerve to move myself out of the way so I just stayed put. Watching. The headlights started coming towards me at a much faster pace. I closed my eyes, squeezing them extremely tight. Trying to fade away into the darkness. This had to be a nightmare. There was no other explanation. I would just wake up in the passenger seat of my dads car as we drove down the highway. I had to be dreaming up the worst possible outcome of moving to a new place in an attempt to make the old house look better and better. I was getting ready to pinch myself awake when the car skidded to a stop. I opened my eyes to find the bumper just inches away from my face.

"Hey!" a voice yelled out.

I jumped slightly, backing up a bit. The voice sounded deep and harsh. The person hopped out his car, leaving the door wide open and the headlights still continued to light up the pathway. My eyes scanned him up and down. He wore a faded white tank top, hidden behind a black leather jacket, and some very tight skinny jeans that seem to have done a great job at showing every possible part of him in great detail. Not that I was checking him out or anything. It was almost like a car accident you couldn't turn away from. He had black hair and an almost dark chocolate kind of brown for his eyes.

"Who the hell are you," I shouted! My brain hadn't been able to fully comprehend what just happened before I decided to open my mouth.

He stepped closer to me. The headlights shined outwards onto me, but I could still see the shadows of his face behind the hood of the car. His smile looked almost creepy in the outline of the lights.

"What did you just say?" His tone sounded harsher than it probably came out to be.

I couldn't help but feel slightly scared of this guy, but it didn't seem to stop me from opening my big mouth.

"Who are you!?" I nearly shouted.

"Nobody you need to worry about," He smirked, "Who even are you, you little bitch?" He put emphasize on the word bitch.

"I'm new." I wanted to slap myself across the face right now. Why would I tell him that? Am I insane? Now, if he truly was dangerous, he'll know that I would be the perfect target in this little town. Say goodbye Lex. You're getting murdered tonight.

"Oh." I noticed his smile had gotten slightly bigger and that he took a couple steps closer to me. Each step he took closer to me, the bigger the step was. He was soon standing right next to me as his hand stroked my hair in a slow, up and down motion. I gulped.

"What are you doing?" I asked nervously. I was trying to not show the fear in my voice but failed miserably.

"I'm just observing the new chick." He continued to brush my hair but I swatted it away. Though, he was quick in response. He grabbed ahold of my wrist and held it against my back. Fear flushed through my eyes. This is where I get killed.

"Don't-" a car pulled up the driveway, interrupting what I was about to say. The car pulled around this guy's car and stopped in front of us.

Dad. Thank god.

"Alexis?" He asked, "What's going on?" He rolled down the window. I felt a sigh of relief as I saw his face but the guy spun me around quickly. I felt a small, cold object press up against my back. I bit my lip. My eyes welled up with fear. I just hope my dad could see what's happening by just my eyes. I've never been so scared in my life.

"Alexis?" He asked again. This time his tone had sounded a bit more serious, almost as if he had began to sense trouble. I just wanted to scream out the words help me and gesture for my dad to fight this guy off of me. Knowing my dad, he wouldn't hesitate to do it either.

The guy whispered something in my eye that I was barely able to make out, but I'm positive I understood what he said anyway. Don't tell him anything.

"Yeah," I said, "I'm fine." I flashed him a fake smile.

"Alright. Well, it's getting late. Why don't you say goodbye to your new friend and hop on in the car so that we can-"

New friend? Did he just happen to forget that we had just moved in today? How friendly did he think the neighbors were in this neighborhood? I only have one friend and he's back in our old neighborhood. Michael. Oh god. Michael. He'd be so worried if anything was to happen to me tonight. I can't die. I can't just leave Michael in the dark. I went to say something else but got interrupted by the harsh voiced guy behind me.

"I'll let her go in real soon, sir." He responded to my father as politely as one could be.

My dad nodded before driving up the driveway until his headlights were so faint that we weren't able to see them anymore.

"Get in the car." He whispered into my ear before slamming me into the car door. He still had his gun pressed against my back, giving me no other choice but to follow his command. I opened the door and hopped inside.

He slammed the door before walking around to the other side to get in. I let out a low, soft sigh and I watched him put the car in drive. I really should've stayed home tonight. Why did I have to investigate? I could've just left it alone and let my dad take care of it. Why didn't I just assumed it was a stupid little prank and pretended like it was nothing? If I had listened to my conscious, I'd be safe behind the walls of my bedroom enjoying the rest of my night with my dad.

I moved my hands down to my pants pocket, searching for my phone. Fuck.

Series
1

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.