Fiction logo

Dreamer - Chapter 22

don't be fooled by what others tell you

By MelPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like

Disclaimer: This story has multiple parts. To read the previous part, you can click here.

He caught my eye and I couldn't help but get lost in them as he stared back into mine.

"Well Tyler," The teacher opened her door for us, "you now have the satisfaction of joining everyone else in detention this afternoon."

Those were not the words I wanted to hear. What even was this school? What kind of school doesn't recognize when two, clearly too old to be in high school, men come walking up through campus looking for a student? Did they just have too many students at this dumb school that they easily forget who goes here and who doesn't? Did they even care about our safety? I slipped past the two of them and grabbed a seat located next to Gilbert. I was so glad he decided to come instead of just skipping; although, how could you even get away with skipping detention at this school. I wasn't even skipping, and some teacher still came up to me and accused me of skipping out. I jotted my eyes around the room at all the half-dead bodies filling up the room. Some stared towards the front of the classroom, while others had their heads face down on the desk. They probably just figured they could use this time to go to sleep. There isn't really much to do in detention anyway.

"Hello pretty." Gilbert smiled at me.

"Hi."

"Didn't want to ditch out on detention, huh?" He whispered towards me as a smirk grew across his face.

"What?" I asked, completely forgetting that I was technically late yet again today, "No.. I wasn't. Something else just came up." Of course he knew what happened to me just before, but I just didn't feel like bringing it up again.

The other guy grabbed the empty seat next to me, "Hello little Alexis."

"Leave me alone." I mumbled under my breath towards him.

"No." His eyes traveled over towards Gilbert, "Is this your little boyfriend?" He put extra emphasis on the word boyfriend, and I rolled my eyes in response.

"We kind of met back in the halls," He answered him, "I'm Gilbert. I was the guy who kicked your ass a few minutes back, and I'm not her boyfriend. We just met for the first time today." Gilbert held out his hand, which was ignored by him.

"Well, hello Gil. Could I call you Gil? I'm gonna call you Gil." He told him, "I'm Tyler."

"Can you just tell the goddamn truth for once?" I snapped at him.

"What?"

I faced him, my golden brown eyes narrowing down upon his own.

"Did you want something, little Alexis?"

"Stop calling me that."

"But you're little Alexis."

"No I'm not," I glared at him, "Do I look like I'm still little Alexis?"

He smirked, "You really want me to answer that truthfully?"

"Leave her alone, Tyler." Gilbert stood up for me.

"I'll do what I want." He said to him.

"Tex." I said.

"Alexis."

I leaned back in my chair, knowing there was probably no way I'll be able to stop this madhouse myself once it starts.

"Listen," he sighed, "Little Alexis means a lot to me, Gil."

"Are you new to this school?" Gilbert asked, interrupting him from whatever it was he was trying to say, "I've never seen you around here before."

"Oh, he-" I went to say but Tex cut me off.

"I've been around here for about a couple of months." Tex replied.

"I thought I told you-"

"I just got caught rough housing." He smirked, staring back at me.

"Oh." Gilbert sounded as if he didn't really give two shits.

Why the hell was Tex here? I haven't even seen him since I was younger. The last time I saw him was one of the most horrible times of my young life. How did he even know I went to this school.. or the town I moved to, for that matter? I blinked away my thoughts to get him out of my mind, only to find myself staring at Tex.

"Hey little one." A guy said to me, sitting down on the curb next to me.

"Hi." I replied back. It's been a week since the accident and daddy was still in denial about everything that had happened that terrifying night. He still thinks mommy's coming back home soon. She isn't. I know she isn't. I remember. I remember everything. I remember seeing her lifeless body sitting in the driver's seat. Blood was everywhere, lots of it. She would've been so upset if she saw the amount of stains left behind on the car she once took so much pride in keeping clean. The people in the big red and white truck took her away the second they found her. Daddy had received a call the next day. "That heartbreaking moment in history when.." as daddy said when he told me the news he just found out for himself.

"What's wrong, honey?" he was rubbing my back real slow now. Somehow, I felt safe in his embrace. I turned to face him; his eyes were a pretty green color, a light grey tint reflecting off the green in a gorgeous way. His lips were curved upward into a smile, and he was wearing a faded red flannel which had been torn at the sleeve and blue jeans with large black smudges on them.

"You really don't recognize who I am?" He asked me, a small chuckle escaping off his lips.

"No," I questioned, "Was I supposed to?"

"Tyler," He introduced himself, "I live right next door. Remember? My family has always been there for yours.. I've been been over to your house a few times when your parents threw parties or little hangouts."

I scrunched up my nose, "I don't remember you."

"Really?" He looked at me, "That's so odd. I considered us to be good friends.. guess I was wrong."

"Aren't you too old to be my friend?"

"Hey," He clutched his chest, "I may be seventeen, but I still know how to be a good friend."

"Well hi there Tyler," I chuckled, "We can be friends."

"Hello," He paused, "What's your name again, little darling?"

"Alexis."

"Of course!" He said loudly, "How could I forget little Alexis!"

"Why did you come over?"

"I just thought you were in need of some cheering up."

"You're so fucking stupid," I mumbled under my breath, still staring at Tex.

"Lex?"

I turned my head to see a very confused Gilbert staring back at me.

"What?" I asked, totally caught off guard.

"Am I the one who's stupid?" He asked me.

"Oh, no. No. Not you." I quickly darted my eyes towards Tex before looking back at him.

"Was it-?" He nudged his head towards Tex, or Tyler as he believes.

I nodded before staring back up towards the front of the classroom. The teacher sat up straight, almost as if she was trying to look like the most powerful person on the planet. It's so odd seeing her be so confident in the way she ran detention considering she was unable to tell the difference between a twenty eight year old from a room full of teenagers. I looked around at the small group of others that were sitting in this room. A kid with a dark hoodie, who was face down on the desk, was sitting in the far back. A girl with way too many colored highlights in her hair sat in the back, applying lipstick to her already glossy lips. A boy and girl had been sharing another desk in the back, probably so she can lock her lips with his. Ew. Just skip detention and go get yourself a room. Don't let us watch you. Another kid sat up in the front, wearing a stained white shirt and baggy jeans, and was hunched over a gameboy playing some random game. I shouldn't be here. I don't belong with these people.

"Was it about Tyler?" Gilbert whispered towards me. My head turned back so that our lips were only inches apart. I blushed before moving away. I went to say something when Tex turned around to also face us.

"What about me?" He shot me a sour look. I gulped down a hard lump in my throat.

"Nothing." Gilbert answered for me, "So Lex.. want to come hang out with me and my buds after our prison sentence?"

"I can't," I answered, "I have somewhere else to be after."

"You sure?" He let off a pout.

"Yes."

"That's a shame." He leaned back in his chair, crossing his arms across his chest. I felt bad for turning him down but I really couldn't hang out with him. I had to go visit Ace.

"Where do you have to go?" Tex asked me.

"None of your fucking business." It was a little harsh but I didn't care.

"Why don't you want to tell me?" He asked, "I was just trying to start up conversation."

I sighed, ignoring him and staring back up front.

"It's okay, sweetie.. come on in. I know this really fun game that you'll love. I promise."

I took a couple small steps, standing in the doorway of Tyler's bedroom.

"I won't hurt you," He reassured me.

"Tyler?" I asked him.

"Yes, sweetie?"

"Why can't we go play outside? We always play outside?"

"This game is a lot better when played indoors, little Alexis."

"Fuck you," The words slipped out my mouth before I was able to stop myself.

This game is a lot better when played indoors, little Alexis.

This game.

Why did seven year olds have to be so stupid? Why did I have to be so stupid? Why did I have to fall for his games? Why did I believe that a seventeen year old really did want to be friends with me.. with a seven year old? He was ten years older. I should've known he didn't really care about being my friend. I should've known. If only I wasn't too vulnerable.. too easy. I was all alone and he saw that to his advantage. I just wish there had been something, someone, who could've told me what he actually wanted to do with me before it actually happened.

I opened my eyes to see nothing but darkness. Confused, I rubbed my eyes.

"Maybe you shouldn't have come here."

Young Adult
Like

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.