Fiction logo

Dream Train

Wake up

By Kendra J. AnthonyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Dream Train
Photo by Bart Christiaanse on Unsplash

Am I dreaming? I must be dreaming. How did I get here, trapped in the disfigured stratagem of my own mind, a loop of no return.

When you wake up on a moving train that seemingly has no destination, no course of action, no motive to stop; your mind takes you to the depths of your subconscious. There must be a reason as to why? Why I'm stuck in this loop-hole of derailments. Where I was sound asleep in the comfort of my own home, the comfort of my bed; and now, now I'm on this course of action that may be the demise of my own destiny?

Am I dreaming?

I looked around the train car; people didn't seem to look out of the ordinary, as though they themselves were not in a dream, but living their every day lives. Rushing to their nine to five where they would seize the day to make their living, to pay their bills and feed their cats. Or were they moseying home to see their families, to play fetch with their dog down by the pond while their wife made an extravagant meal to tie in the days hard work. Perhaps they were bustling some place magical, down-town to dance under the street lights and the music venue they will never reach because this train refuses to come to a stop, refuses to reach its end.

Wake up!

"Ma'am, do you have your ticket?" the attendant asked holding out his hand, hole punch clutched firmly in the other. I was still in a daze of confusion, instinctively I searched my pockets with no ticket to be found.

"No- I.. I don't know what's going on." My mouth spat out feebly.

"Ma'am you cant be on this train without a ticket.." The man said sternly, with a glimmer of annoyance in his face.

"S- Sir.. Where is this train going?" It felt strange, like I had to force out the words from my own mouth. Is it my own mouth? Why does it feel so strange, yet so real, like I'm in my own mind, but not my own body.

The attendant motioned to grab my arm while muttering some words I couldn't hear, naturally I jerked away, bumping into a passenger behind me. "Sorry, I- I'm so confused." Internally I was scared, my heart was racing. But wouldn't I already be internal if this is a dream. Visibly I tried to hold my composure and not make a scene.

"Please, tell me what is going on, where are we going?" I ask again, this time more frantically. I'm sure everyone felt the fear in me.

As though on cue, the train jerked itself, just like I had. Passengers all flew to the left side of the train car. I grasped on to the pole in front of me with all my strength, still, it didn't feel like I elevated at all. Then it jerked to the right, with time slowing down, I stood completely still as all the people went soaring. An old man fell to his knees and grasped his hands behind his head, while a child clung to his dad for dear life and his mother fell backwards missing his out stretched hand to save her. All the while a woman's groceries had been sent drifting in the air, scattering among the train car, the sweet nectar of oranges further tripping and making the passengers slip about.

The train was off the rails.

As I saw the buildings along side us inch closer and closer, never ceasing to slow down, chaos erupted. I woke up.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Kendra J. Anthony

She was a gnomist, a writer of beliefs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Impressive work! Well written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.