Fiction logo

DREAM

Personal Dream

By Sherrye BarrowPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
DREAM
Photo by TOMOKO UJI on Unsplash

DREAM

I woke up from a dream that I had, I remember it all so clearly... I got out of a car, and I was standing in front of this maze of wide concrete sidewalks, that had beautiful rock wall planters filled with exotic foliage on each side of the sidewalk, so I started walking. I followed the sidewalk for what seemed like hours until finally I stopped, and before me was a black decorative rod iron gate encompassed in a large cement archway. Through the gate I looked to my right and there was a high cement wall and when I looked to the left it was the same. Both sides had the same types of exotic foliage springing forth from rock planters and spiraling toward the sky decorating each cement wall on both sides of me. I could not see the end of the path.

After standing in front of the gate for a long while, I finally lifted the unlocked latch uncertainly and walked in.

Inside, the gate, as I walked further down the path, the foliage became denser next to and on the cement walls, and flowers bloomed brilliantly, everywhere. There were an amazing mountain of waterfalls, that spilled into an oasis of water, where the cement wall had broken to my left. The oasis of water was surrounded by large boulders and rocks and exotic colored fish that resided in the large pond. There were statues of granite and marble angels placed throughout the garden of rocks. On my right, there were trees, shrubs, flora and plants and there were also squirrels chipmunks rabbits and birds.

I cautiously began to stroll along a cobblestone walkway, occasionally stopping to breathe in the salty air. and listen to the sound of crashing waves of an ocean nearby. I sat down to rest on a bench, and found myself watching and listening to the birds, singing in the trees.

My dream was a little hazy, I really didn’t know where I was, I’m not even sure what I was looking for or why I was there. I decided to continue the cobblestone path, and the foliage had become even more dense as I walked further on. The cobblestone pathway led me to a stone staircase.

The enormous building in front of me was rock and wood, and had paned windows, and double French doors. I considered turning around and going back to find that maze of sidewalks and find my way back to the car, get in and drive away, but I was hypnotized by curiosity. I slowly gravitated, through the French doors, and once inside I was astounded at my surroundings. There were brilliant rays of prismatic light, shining down through a dome of window panes, into a room painted all white.

The scene before me was surreal, as I awkwardly rambled along on the marble tiled promenade that wound its way through the room. The walkway was surrounded by fountains of water that were splashing and spilling off the sides of small mountains of rock .Ethereal children with translucent rainbow colored wings, were flying, and sliding, down waterfalls, whilst laughing and playing in ponds and streams.

I inhaled the scent of honeysuckle and jasmine as I stood there, astounded at what I was witnessing. I thought to myself that this must be heaven… when I noticed a long white winding staircase at the other end of the room, that beckoned me to come. A calmness overtook me, as I gravitated to the other side of the room and began to climb the staircase. The children must be cherubs, I thought, as I climbed the stairs. When I reached the top of that staircase, there was another wall of window panes and another set of French doors. I turned around, to take one last look at the waterscape, before opening the next door, but the door was locked and I couldn’t go in.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Sherrye Barrow

Is middle earth real? I love reading, researching and dabbling in creative writing. Stories that explore middle earth beings engaging with earth and humans Topics that entertain captivate and, enthrall the reader

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Joseph Barrow2 years ago

    Enjoyed very much, thanks.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.