Fiction logo

Drama-free Christmas

All Jay and Irene wanted was a little time from Irene's family. Away from the drama. Unfortunately, they get more than what they bargained for.

By Raphael FontenellePublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
Drama-free Christmas
Photo by Hans Isaacson on Unsplash

We drove up the snowy, winding road towards the cozy A-frame cabin. It had been so long since we had a proper vacation together. At least for the holidays. Jay and I really needed this time together. With everything going on in the world as well as all the stresses of work. Along with a ton of drama from my side of the family. All of it was a lot to deal with. They kept asking us so many personal questions. So many that we've really had enough about it. They were just annoying stuff like whether or not we're getting married anytime soon, we're not. And we probably never going to be as we don't see it as necessary. If we were ever going to be giving my Mom grandchildren, again probably no. Well, maybe no. As we're still on the fence about that. Since we don't feel ready for that kind of responsibility just yet.

We don't have the best home for a child to grow up in. Nor do we really have stable enough jobs for a child either. And I'm sort of scared of pregnancy. But, that's really getting off track here. We're just so grateful to be spending the rest of the holidays here. Away from my family drama and among other crap I don't want to think of. Not for a good long while at least. Right now, I just want to spend time with Jay. Who was looking unsure of our cabin as he parked the car right in front of it. Soon as the car stops, he adjusted his glasses. Turning to me, he asked,"You really sure about this, Irene?"

"I'm sure there's a really good five star hotel we can go to that's less creepy than this.",he added. I fought the urge to roll my eyes at this. It wasn't that bad. The place sort of reminds me of a Hallmark Christmas movie. But, I could see why he'd find it creepy. As the cabin was really far away from town. And it was a little bit old looking. I ignore this as I gently pat his knee. Then I answered,"Babe, we'll be fine. This place had really great reviews online."

"And it's only for like two weeks.",I reminded. Not too long and not too short. It was the best amount of time to just relax and forget all about our problems. I give him a small smile ass he raised an eyebrow. Clearly thinking over this whole thing and for something to say. For a few seconds, neither of us say anything about the subject. Then he completely relaxes and lets out a short sigh. Unbuckling himself, he said,"Fine but if there's a serial killer hiding in the woods, I'm totally saying 'I told you so'."

"Yeah, yeah, whatever. Goober.",I pretended to grumble. Unbuckling myself before getting out with him right behind me. We got our stuff out of the trunk and hurried inside. It was just as lovely as it was on the outside. The place was decorated with a ton of Christmas stuff. Mostly things you'd see in a movie. Part of me thought that the Brady Bunch lived here. It was kind of sweet. But, for some reason, it sort of unsettled me. Turning to Jay, I noticed that he was uncomfortable too. Like he was thinking what I was thinking, too. Instead of saying anything about the whole scene, I stated,"Let's just put our stuff away, Jay."

"Then we can start making dinner, I'm starving.",I added. Hoping to distract him from the Christmas cheer in front of us. It sort of worked as he smiled at me. Turning to the nearby stairwell as I followed after him. We try some of the rooms to find out where we were sleeping. One room was a storage space filled with boxes. There was a rather nice looking bathroom. It had a glass box for a shower. Something I was really grateful for. As I sort of feared there would only be a bathtub. And I don't like sitting in my own wet dirt. Neither does Jay.

The last room we came upon was obviously where we were meant to sleep. It had a giant king-sized bed. The bedding was Christmas themed and looked like it would be warm. But, that's not what attracted my attention. What attracted my attention was the boxes on it. Two of them in bright red wrapping paper. With our names on them. We stared at them for a long moment. Then at each other. Setting our bags by the door, I walk up to the bed. Pick up my present with a raised eyebrow. It wasn't all that heavy but, not light. There was this sudden urge I had to shake the thing up. Just to see if I can hear anything rattling inside or not. Instead, I turned to Jay with a small smile on my face. I ask,"Man. They really work hard for those good reviews, huh?"

"Irene, this is kind of creepy.",Jay answered. It was what I was thinking. But, I didn't want to admit it out loud. This was indeed sort of creepy. Okay, very creepy. Yet, I had this urge to tear into it. Ignoring this, I set the gift down. Turning away from the bed fully, I took a few steps towards him. With a bigger smile, I agree,"I know, Jay. But we can just toss them in the trash later."

"They're probably just trinkets and the host is just trying too hard to impress us.",I assure him. It sort of works as I saw his shoulders relax a little bit. Then he nodded his head at what I said. These folks were trying a little too hard. But, it was harmless from what I could tell. All of this was. Yet, there was this strange feeling that I was having. Like whatever this was wasn't as innocent as it appeared to be. Ignoring this, Iurge him to walk downstairs so we can finally make dinner. A we hadn't had the chance to eat much on the trip up the mountain. The kitchen was really lovely. And it was stocked with a ton of food. Mostly Christmas stuff that was delicious. Neither of us ate the fruitcake that was in the pantry. Or touched the eggnog in the fridge. But, we made a simple dinner before we did the dishes. Then we sat down on the sofa and watched some movies together. What they had was just Christmas stuff. I thought it was sort of odd. But, I kept these thoughts to myself.

After we finish the movie, we clean up and get ready for bed. Slipping on our pajamas, brushing our teeth, and all that normal stuff. Then we went back to the bedroom and I guess Jay tossed the presents. As they weren't on the bed where I had left them. Ignoring this, I got under the covers with Jay following after me. Putting his glasses on a nearby nightstand before we cuddled up together. Jay fell asleep before I did. I laid my head on his chest as I finally drifted off. Though not for long as there was loud bang in front of us. Alarmed, I nearly bolted out of the bed. Jay got up a second after me. We both stared at the door as the bang happened once again. Neither of us moved or dared to make a sound. I didn't know what was making that noise. And I really doubted that Jay knew any better than I did.

For a moment, there was silence. No more bangs happened after that. Well, not for around two minutes at least. Then came a huge one that nearly rattled the whole room. I turned on a nearby lamp while Jay slipped on his glasses. A second later, the bedroom door flings open. Standing in the doorway was a young woman dressed in a white nightgown. Her long blonde hair was covering her face. Mostly covering it as she walked towards us. Mumbling something that neither of us can really hear. Well, I couldn't hear what she said over my thundering heartbeat.

Jay might had heard what she was saying. I'm not entirely sure. As he didn't tell me if he did or not. He put himself between me and the strange woman. Telling her to leave our cabin or he would call the cops. This strangely didn't seem to deter her. She stood at Jay's side of the bed and stopped there. Shivering as she mumbled her strange words while she stood there. I didn't know what to do as she just stood there. Before I could think of moving, the lamp near me flickered and plunged the room into darkness for a few seconds. When the light came back on, the strange woman was gone and there was a puddle of red on the floor where she once stood. Without any hesitation, we got out of the bed. Packed everything we brought for the two week stay. Slipped on our boots and then sprinted out of that horrible place. Neither of us looking back until we were safe in the car. When we did, the woman from earlier was standing in the doorway and seemingly looking at us.

Her hair was still covering her face but, I got the feeling she was looking at us. That she was happy to see us leaving the cabin for some reason. I didn't have time to dwell on that as Jay reversed the car and turned us around. Driving back down the way we came that morning. The both of us deciding to find any hotel that can put us up for the night. Me making a mental note to do more research on our next vacation together.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Raphael Fontenelle

Horror movie fan trying to write decent horror.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.