Fiction logo

Dragon Fantasy Epic

A Journey into Origins

By Antonio SanchezPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Serpent-like dragon spotted in the swamps of Louisiana

“There weren’t always dragons in the valley”, my mother said in a bewildered yet exasperated tone. Being only a child at the time of their incursion, I could not comprehend the gravity these creatures’ existence had. “Fiona, there is a reason why they are here; we just have to find that reason,” my father, an accomplished biologist, said with curiosity and empathy. “Mark, they are dangerous! Didn’t one of those beasts take your uncle from you? Do you want the same to happen to you?”. These words cut my father deeply and though they were not born of malice, he would carry them like colossal weights upon his shoulders for nearly two decades.

I was in my teens when I learned about the three factions that formed with the arrival of dragons. My father taught me a lot about his own faction, the Bio-Engineers: these experts study these creatures to understand them and their origin. So far, the Bio-Engineers have learned that many dragons share similarities with endemic reptiles. The Coalition of Large Apex Weapons (C.L.A.W) is a regime that wishes to use the dragons against their enemies or even other dragons. Coincidentally, they also have a team of scientists but they were the few that turned their backs on the Bio-Engineers. The last but more numerous faction wants to rid the earth of these creatures, and at their best they have an "if you're not with us, you're against us" attitude. The Bio-Engineers try to stay neutral to avoid skirmishes with the other groups but even my father has had to use certain measures for self-defense to stay alive.

Being a recent graduate under my father’s tutelage, I am now an adult scientist and capable combatant. “I’m so proud of you,” “I know dad”. My mother knew of my various achievements, but while she was congratulating me, there was a cautionary tone in her voice, “Remember to keep your wits about you, trust only what you know and question everything you learn”. The hardest lesson I have had to “learn”, was the time I came face to face with a dragon at seventeen, and realized they were not a friendly bunch. I would not have made it without my survival training. I figured out that some dragons fear fire rather than breath and ended up scaring it away with my signal flares. “I’m way ahead of you mom,” I said courageously, though with a heavy heart I realized that this may be the last time I see my childhood home. "I love you both," I solemnly turn away toward the sunrise and start walking toward my destiny.

My team and I chose to embark on this epic journey on November 1st, 2052 -- 30 years to the day these dragons first appeared. “Logan”, I turned my attention to my hover-ship captain, Daniella “where is our first stop?”. “You, forgot already?” I said with a chuckle. “While the dragons are in hibernation, we investigate their possible po-” Daniella interrupts “points of origin so we gotta head to New Florida, yeah I remember now”. I poke fun at her but she does her best, top of her class in flight school best. Her hazel eyes trained on the horizon as our crew clanks and checks necessary equipment she asks me, “What do you think we’ll find out there?”. I gave a long pause and pondered before responding with, “the ‘why’. WHY are they here?”. “Excuse me cap’n, The Enterprise is ready” “Thanks Maverick”. Daniella turns toward me “Ya ready?” I gave her a smile, “I was born for this”. She disengages the propulsion break and steers us toward our starting point on this grand oddessy.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Antonio Sanchez

Hello there, I am an aspiring writer and artist that has been creating ideas since I was very young. I would like to use this platform to share these ideas on a much larger scale.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.