Fiction logo

Dragon 3: Tide of the Black Moon (1)

Chapter 44: Every elephant turtle has a warm puddle in its heart (1)

By Carmen W KeithPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Dragon 3: Tide of the Black Moon (1)
Photo by Tim Rebkavets on Unsplash

"Thanks." Chu Zhang said, "Your knife is also a family heirloom?"

"No, I never met my father, and he didn't leave me anything. I was an orphan, adopted as a child with my brother, and only when I was old enough was I confirmed to have Genji's blood." Genji said, "Just like Lone George, do you know Lone George?"

"I've heard of it, it's famous, some say it's the loneliest animal in the world." Chu Zhang said.

One of Chu Zhang's few hobbies was reading, and he would pick up and read whatever books he had, so he would know a lot of cold knowledge, such as the Pinta Island elephant turtle named George. The elephant tortoise is the world's largest land tortoise, the largest elephant tortoise can grow to nearly two meters long and more than 200 kg weight. The Galapagos Islands in South America used to be the habitat of elephant turtles, these clumsy big guys lived peacefully away from humans until they were discovered by seafarers exploring the New World. The seafarers carried whole turtles on board, these guys are very hungry, do not eat or drink for a year will not die, is not have rotten fresh meat stock, and sometimes the seafarers will be overwhelmed with these can not swim turtles thrown into the sea.

There are fewer and fewer turtles on the Galapagos Islands, the rarest of which is the subspecies on Pinta Island, where only the last recorded male remains, found alone and shrunken on the barren Pinta Island, where the vegetation has been gnawed away by exotic wild goats. Scientists never found a purebred Pinta Island tortoise in the decades that followed, so this male, named George, is the last Pinta Island tortoise in the world, and people call him Lonesome George.

"The Gen family is ancient, but since the Edo period the Gen family has been getting smaller and smaller, and at one time the family elders thought the Gen family had no more descendants, but they found my brother and me in the mountains, and we were confirmed to have Gen blood, and the Gen family's seat in the family was then restored. I was called the head of the Gen family, but I was the only one in the Gen family. So I feel like the elephant turtle." Gen Wakasa said, "It's in Galapagos National Park, and I'd like to see it if I ever get a chance to travel around the world."

"You just said you had a brother."

"He's probably dead."

"Alas, I can't imagine that everyone had a hard time as a child," Lu Mingfei drained his sake with a sigh of relief, "My parents left the country when I was in junior high school, and now I'm in my second year of college and they haven't come back to see me. Sometimes I wonder if they gave me a younger sibling or something, secretly hiding abroad without telling me, otherwise, I'm such an only child in our family, how would not leave me in my uncle's house regardless of it?"

"I thought the four of us are completely unable to find the same point, I can not imagine that in the issue of parents can still find." Caesar also tilted his head and drained his cup of sake, "I think I can also join your parents' double death group."

Chu Zhang blackened his face.

"Hey hey, I'm not parents double dead I'm just parent unreliable, they are all alive and well somewhere in the world! Brother's old mother is also alive and kicking! Boss, you do not also have a playboy old man?" Lu Mingfei said.

"I take it he's been dead for years." Caesar shrugged.

"You like to travel?" Chu Zhang asked. He didn't bother with the two drunken guys.

"Love it, but rarely get to travel. Mostly I want to go to France, there is a very famous celestial beach there, I want to get a job selling sunscreen there." Gen Wakizashi said.

Chu Zhang's tone was light when he spoke of his father, but the corners of his eyes twitched gently, betraying his heart. The first impression of Chu Zhang was that he was a completely warm-hearted person who did not care about anything, but when he talked about his father, a crack appeared in his hard shell, and he wanted to take this opportunity to learn more about these guys who were called the aces of the Ministry. Intuitively Genchisei did not like these three men, but Orange Masamune was right, to be seen as an ace by Ange, there must be something overpowering about them.

"Going from being a yakuza family head to selling sunscreen? Don't you think that's too cross-industry?" Caesar filled his bottle and rejoined the conversation.

Although he couldn't appreciate the Zen meaning of "born like a summer flower", he could still eat good food. Outside was a thundering rainstorm, they sat barefoot on the cool tatami mats eating Japanese food overlooking Tokyo in the rain, drunk with a sense of pleasure, he had drunk a lot and was eager to talk to someone. And if Chu Zhang was the only one chatting with the Japanese branch, it would affect his position as team leader.

"It is the job of the head of the Gen family to manage the yakuza, and as for myself," said Gen Wakizashi, "I want to leave Tokyo and find a warm and comfortable city to live a life of muddling through."

Caesar smiled contemptuously, "My Uncle Frost used to say he wanted a quiet life, too, and now he's acting head of the Gattuso family, with bankers lining up to see him. When he's too busy, he complains, 'Damn, if only my schedule were empty for a month, so I could go back to my old house in the country for a while, read a good book with a good glass of wine, and say hello to my old neighbors. But as soon as the phone didn't ring for half a day he was on the edge of his seat, feeling that things were out of his control."

"Are you saying I'm as hypocritical as your uncle?" Jensen didn't move.

"I don't want to mock you, but people are like that. They call you the young master, you're second only to the eldest in a family that runs the Japanese yakuza, you're the one who calls the shots in this city, you can do whatever you want, but you're not a big shot when you leave here," Caesar took a cigar, "It's not a good feeling to go from being a big shot back to being an ordinary person. "

Gensokyo thought for a moment, "Gattuso-kun if you were that elephant turtle named George, what kind of life would you like to lead?"

"The boss is not that I am suspicious, he said you are a turtle. I don't know what kind of temper you have, I can't stand this if it's on me!" Lu Mingfei was full of traitorous looks.

"What do you mean?" Caesar thought about it and did not understand the meaning of the words of Gen Wishing.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Carmen W Keith

I love writting.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.