Fiction logo

Doomsday Diary

An Unimaginable Day!

By J.W. BairdPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I woke up today it was like any other day. I woke up, got dressed, then went downstairs to play.

I was shocked to see my kids were still in bed. What was to come was so unfathomable. I would not have ever expected that so many would end up dead.

It was so horrific you would think it must have been a dream. The things only seen in movies. Nothing I would think I would ever need to try to explain.

I used to laugh at all the people who would talk about a zombie apocalypse, or the end of the world.

All the preppers and their stocking and hording of supplies. When really it was just the emergency survivalist inside of them coming alive.

You would think with World War One and Two far, far in the past. That we had seen the worst of it, but maybe now this is not our last.

With so much hate within this world I fear how my kids have to grow up. With bullying, school shootings, and days like 9-11, we already live in our own hell will we ever see a heaven.

When you turn on the news at night, we hear about more viruses sweeping through more countries and wiping out half the universe.

You hear about protests, and looting, and more violence and disease. But nothing could prepare me for what finally brought me to my knees.

I remember finishing making our family breakfast when I decided to turn on the news. No one could explain it because there were no discovered clues.

Millions had gone missing. Cars left running abandoned in the streets. Buildings with lights on, and homes with air conditioners left on, but no one to be seen inside.

It is like my very own nightmare that I just wanted to escape. So, I packed up the car and drove as fast as I could. Heading to my parents’ house not knowing what I would find.

Their house too was unlocked, TVs turned on, and fans running to keep cool. I searched through each and every room.

But neither my mother, nor my father were insight. I tried to hold my tears back with all of my might.

It was one of the worst days of my entire life!

I sat down on their bed and glanced over at the nightstand. There I saw it... my mother's golden heart locket.

The thoughts came rushing through my mind. What now to expect will the world start to decline?

What will happen to the environment? Will there still be regulations? What we can grow, and harvest, is there still a line? I worry about those who only want to make more money and do not care about the broken pipelines. Oh no! What is going to happen to the economy?

Will we run out of food with no one to harvest the fields, no one to drive the trucks that haul our food to the supermarket. Oh, how I look back and think I should have started a bucket list and tried to live my best life before all of this.

Are there still countries with their own governments? Have we lost too many to sustain, and now need to form a one world government? Will our money lose value, we will still have electricity and a place to live?

Will we be forced to become something other than who we are? Will we look around and wonder why we are still here, and did not vanish like the others? My mind continues to wander. I cannot stop thinking of the movie Mad Max I watched when I was younger.

Why were some chosen, but not all of those within the same family? Is this some type of experiment ran under the governments control? Like deadly chemical warfare created in a laboratory. The whispers of it is not real, but just a made-up story.

Were people relocated, snatched, or abducted right in plain sight? Maybe one day with all our technological advances we can explain the inevitable.

For now, there is nothing left to do, but try to survive this new world!

Mystery
Like

About the Creator

J.W. Baird

Who Am I?

I keep asking myself. I spent half of my life as a single mother. Pushing myself to be the strong independent individual that I have always been. My kids have grown and my life seems turned upside down.

I now search to find myself!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

J.W. Baird is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.