Fiction logo

Doing me, Caribbean style

A fictional poem/song/story, written for a Challenge.

By Novel AllenPublished about a year ago 6 min read
3
Doing me, Caribbean style
Photo by Lionel Gustave on Unsplash

I stand in obscured uncertainty by the exit point of my old life

Awaiting my entry into a new beginning to a new rebirth of ME

Feeling tied and tangled up, Black strings entwine and squeeze

Resource Database_Unsplash

New in town, unsure where to begin my new, yet old, adventure

Nappy hair naturally styled, rounded nose, curious eyes agog

Cheekbones to die for, pouty lips opened in awe of Paradise

The bright sunshine of the Caribbean Island beckons a newness

By Claudia Altamimi on Unsplash

A renaissance of living eagerly awaiting, arms opened to discovery

An old chapter in my life's book had closed it's tumultuous door

The need for a new beginning waited with bated breath to align

Over there he stands, he too has strings, but strings of.... Green

Are you like me? That conundrum which is wrapped inside a riddle

A riddle made up of many strings: laughter, tears, hurtful strings

Happy, wonderful, grateful, ungrateful, thankful, beautiful strings

I cannot fathom the answer, so I squirm, bend and twist

Hello you, yes you, standing all alone over there. Do you see me

Are my strings as visible to you, as yours are to me

I see you, watching me, you too are tied in strings of green

Unlike mine though, yours are confident and shines bright

People pass by and stare at me, they cross the street in fear of

The woman entangled in tattered black unfathomable strings

Do they hurt? The curious child asks, innocent eyes upturned

The strings seem so thin and taut, can we help her to untie them

I can see right through her, is she real momma?

Can you though, little one....

Really see through my stringed pneuma

My virtual spirit, soul and creative force within

Deep, underneath the outer facade of my earthly strings

Turmoil, need, longing, love, lust, greed and promise

All vie for their rightful place within my inner psyche

Demanding the right to all be free, individually, together

Or wrapped in passionate embraces with each other

By Sinjin Thomas on Unsplash

The child ponders, having the kindest of faces

Yes! They hurt, they slice and they sting, they bend and break me

They bring a whole world of hurt and pain everywhere deep within me

Yet there are those days when they make me sing such happy songs

The child smiles. Her eyes reflecting wisdom far beyond her years

She nods me goodbye, taking her disapproving mother's hand

A wise one that little one, she will eventually lead a nation

I settle my strings, in dire need of comfort and ease

Every day they become a little less taut and binding

Everyday more pieces unravel, take off with the gusts of winds

Every day my mind reaches deeper, seeking a higher plane

Observing, learning, simulating, stimulating...reaching

Eventually taking my soul to it's rightful calm and peaceful Zen!

As I turn to leave, you stride purposefully towards me, smiling

I keep walking, unsure if towards me is your intended destination

You overtake me. Such a kind face you have, not too handsome

Just totally and completely perfect in my imaginative spectrum

"Hello, are you new in town? You seem a little overwhelmed

May I be of assistance"? He looks me directly in the eyes

Honesty exuding from every pore and sinew of his being

I am so captivated, there is loss of speech. Say something!

"I saw you looking at the map, so I just assumed you are new here

Hope I am not being too presumptuous"! The green strings they

Shone so bright, they hurt my eyes. I found my voice

"Um, I'm.....Thank you for asking. But, who are you. Sorry, I don't mean

To be rude". He laughs out loud. A most wonderful thrill of sounds

"No worries. My name is Firash?". African name, Caribbean accent

Later I google your name. Meaning: Perceptiveness and Ingenuity

"I would offer to help with your luggage, but you might get the wrong idea,

Think that I have bad intentions towards you. I have only good ones".

Perceptive you are indeed. You read my thoughts!

"May I walk along with you. Point out important places and things"?

My strings are unravelling really fast. Too fast for comfort. Steady. Breathe

"Sure, you can walk along with me. What are your intentions by the way"?

He laughs again. That endearing quality to his tone. I like him. Oh dear!

"I would like to buy you lunch, or dinner, or we could just walk to the beach

It is not too far. I am parked over there, but I am not trying to kidnap you

So we should walk, if you so desire. We could sit and talk for a while, or

Do you wish to go home and we could meet later

I would like to see you again quite soon". This keeps getting better

I glance where he points. Nice car, not too flashy. Good for him

The wind takes the strings as they fall away. I can feel my face, my neck

My arms, my body. Some strings are clinging steadily to me. Still Unsure

That is ok. They are only protecting me from my former self's insecurities

We walk to the beach. The scenery is wonderfully breathtaking. Tropical

We pass by a virtual panorama of fruit and foods Caribbean style

Exotic plants, trees, people, and water so blue you want to jump in

Wash all your troubles away. Emerge cleansed and perfectly refreshed

He helped me purchase a new phone. Numbers are exchanged, taxi called

Home to rest and recharge. Later we will meet at the restaurant in my hotel

We will meet on my terms, safety and common sense bids one go slowly

Dinner, talk, dancing, light drink and intelligent conversation. Great night

Beach. Sightseeing. Moonlit walks. Both single and open to whatever

Like poles attract, unlike poles repel! Where did I hear that? School?

"When the north pole of one magnet is close to a north pole of another magnet, they repel each other. Like poles repel. However, if a north pole of one magnet is near the south pole of another magnet, they are drawn together. This is because opposite poles attract".

Confusing. Whatever the poles, we have definitely attracted each other

Two weeks later all is well with the world. Do not jinx yourself. Live

Love, laugh. Be happy. See where life takes you. Be careful.......

What about the strings you ask. A few remain intact, still protecting me

They are stubborn. I understand. Most have flown away with the wind

On him I see only the color blue now. Peace and calm abounds

Chance meetings, or preordained? Just embrace your gift of life whenever it presents itself.

By Hugh Whyte on Unsplash

]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]

MysteryShort StoryAdventure
3

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Another one of your great works! I love the message behind it all and your last line! "Just embrace your gift of life whenever it presents itself."

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.