Fiction logo

She sells seashells by the seashore

Inspiring messages. A fictional story.

By Novel AllenPublished about a year ago 9 min read
2
She sells seashells by the seashore
Photo by Tetiana SHYSHKINA on Unsplash

"Seashells, get your seashells. Only fifty pennies a one"! She kept repeating.

Who sells seashells on the seashore? I wondered to myself. Kind of reminds one of the song/poem/tongue twister by Terry Sullivan, written in 1799.

She Sells Seashells by the Seashore

Tongue Twister

She sells seashells by the seashore,

The shells she sells are seashells, I'm sure.

So if she sells seashells on the seashore,

Then I'm sure she sells seashore shells.

My curiosity piqued and my constant wish to save the world prompted me to approach the strange lovely creature, much like myself, and enquire about purchasing some seashells for no reason whatsoever. I possessed the urge to aid a poor soul who would offer goods for sale that were strewn in total abundance and abandon, for free, across the entire beach, everywhere, for all to see.

"Hello. Would you like to buy some shells my dear"? She asked of me.

"Hi, are they all fifty pennies"? I enquired, noticing the difference in sizes and colors.

"Yes, they are". She answered, smiling and squinting her eyes at the bright sunlight.

As I drew closer to the shells, I noticed that they all had messages painted or written on them. Feeling a bit silly, I then realized what made her shells different from the ones scattered across the sand. Picking up an array of beautiful shells, I started to read the messages.

By Megan Murphy on Unsplash

"Laugh, and the world laughs with you, cry and you cry alone". This one was debatable, and mostly true, but it was worth considering.

1. "The purpose of our lives is to be happy." — Dalai Lama

2. "Life is what happens when you're busy making other plans." — John Lennon

3. "Get busy living or get busy dying." — Stephen King.

4. "Do good and good will follow".

5. "Life is short, and it is up to you to make it sweet". Sarah L. Delany.

6. "Only I can change my life. No one can do it for me". Carol Burnett.

7. "I’m always doing things I can’t do. That’s how I get to do them.

Pablo Picasso.

8. "No one can compete with you on being you".

Martin Luther King I have a dream.

Maya Angelou Success is liking yourself, liking what you do, and liking how you do it.

You may encounter many defeats, but you must not be defeated, In fact, it may be necessary to encounter the defeats, so you can know who you are, what you can rise from, and how you can still come out of it.

Wayne Gretzky Peace begins with a smile.

Mother Teresa Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined.

Henry David Thoreau You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.

I could have stood there all day reading the inspirational quotes written as encouragement to all who read them.

"Would you like to sit down dear"? She patted the seat next to her. There was a really large white umbrella trimmed with many colored butterflies poised in various angles of flight, shielding her from the sun.

"Don't mind if I do. May I ask your name"? The shade was quite welcoming. I was wearing sunscreen, but I burned quite easily.

"I am called Helena. What are you called"? I found her speech strange and somehow reassuring.

"I am Rezna". I replied.

I chose some of the shells, paid her, placed them in my shoulder bag, and returned the others to the large batch in her enormous basket. We sat in silence for a while watching the activity on the beach. I felt quite at peace, sitting by this total stranger on an arbitrary beach in the Hawaiian sunshine. The palm trees swayed in the wind, birds sang as they nestled between the leaves or flew in wild abandon overhead.

By Amanda Phung on Unsplash

The shimmering waves of the ocean oscillated and alternated between various shades of titillating blues and aquamarines, as the sunlight danced across the inviting soothing waters, gently trying to lull one to sleep. A few ambling passers by stopped in curiosity to ponder someone selling shells on the beach. Everyone bought a few shells, the children all got to choose theirs and received them for free.

Helena was well dressed, her clothing spoke of refinement, so I imagined that she was not in dire need of money. I was mulling the many reasons why she sold shells on the beach, when she turned and smiled.

"Are you not just dying to ask me why I am selling seashells on a beach full of shells Rezna"? Wow! Did she just read my mind.

"I did not want to seem rude, you have been so kind. But can you tell me your story. I am dying of curiosity".

"How about you regale me with your situation first. I see much sadness in your eyes. Did you come here alone today"? Helena was a very intuitive woman.

The pain of the past year came back like a slap in the face. I winced as the thoughts came tumbling back, falling over each other, one after the other they pierced my heart. I closed my eyes to dull the ache.

"Oh I'm sorry dear. I didn't mean to make you sad. It is quite all right if you do not wish to talk about your life to a complete stranger".

Helena reached over and patted my hand. I clasped her hand in mine, feeling comforted. I had not felt that way in a long time. Finally, I released her hand and started to explain my state of mind.

"My partner of many years, Kelvin, passed away a year ago. We had been together so long we never imagined that illness could invade our lives so quickly and snatch one of us away. By the time the doctors found the brain tumor, it was too late to save him. We have one son, Rafel, but he has a family, he does the best he can. I guess only time can heal pain and sadness.

"I'm so sorry dear. Do you live alone or with your son. Company is the best medicine for loneliness". Helena's brows creased with concern.

"He wants me to come and live with him, but I am not ready. I just moved here and leased a small apartment in the city. He lives not far away in the countryside. I visit or he visits from time to time". I replied.

It seemed like we had known each other a lifetime in those few moments that we shared her umbrella and messaged seashells. We appeared to be about the same age. One foot on the threshold of life, and the other firmly planted on the ground. The thought brought back family jokes and happy times. I shook myself out of my reverie and refocused my attention. Children ran past us yelling, laughing and kicking sand at each other. They stopped to stare in curiosity at the two not so young ladies selling seashells, then ran on their merry way.

Up and down the beach, umbrellas were opened, people, pets and children frolicked happily, seemingly without a care in the world. Surfers tried their hands at surfing. The lifeguard shouted directions at the swimmers and people sunbathed as they basked in the sunlight. Young girls laden with leis walked up and down the beach. On the far corner hot dogs vendors and other delicious snacks sent their tempting aroma cruising on the beach to invite those without lunch to come and partake.

Trees lined both sides of the immense stretch of beach where we had chosen, sandwiching us as they waved their branches in the wind. One had to be careful of coconuts falling on their head. We watched boats much farther out on the ocean sailing and tossing in the breeze. A picture perfect day all around.

"How about you Helena. How come you to sell seashells on this beautiful beach"? I asked her.

"Unlike you I never married. I was a school marm for many years, My students were my children. Clarissa, my sister and I lived in the family home not far from here. She was much older than I, and passed away two years ago. She was married and had two children, they are living in another country, their careers took them far away. After her husband died it was just the both of us in the house. Now it is just me".

"I am so sorry to hear that Helena". It was my turn to pat her hands in sympathy.

"Ever since we were kids we were making notes on the seashells. We have so many piled up in the house that we decided to start selling them for pennies and donate the proceedings to the orphanage in the countryside. I continued the tradition after she went to rest". Tears ran down her cheeks. I reached over and we hugged each other in commiseration of each other's plight. We again sat in silence, letting the world just swirl around us in chaotic silence.

I swam for a bit, while Helena sold shells, then she swam and I tried my hands at seashell sales. I made ten dollars. Pretty good for a beginner, it was really fun and therapeutic. After our swim we sat and talked for the remainder of the day. We ate hot dogs, got heartburn and sucked on peeled apples, she said it worked better than any pills, apples contain soothing nutrients for the stomach. She was right, no more pills for me. The time flew by very fast, and we bid each other goodbye, exchanging numbers and promising to meet again soon.

Helena and I met in town very often after that to hang out and chat. We became inseparable and helped each other heal from loneliness and sadness. On weekends we sold seashells. Pretty soon I felt alive again. I started working at the Orphanage where she donated the money, it was only a half an hours drive away. Helena volunteered to teach there a few times per week.

The house that Helena talked about was more like a huge mansion. She apparently was very well off and did not really need to work. It did her well however, to get out of the house a few days per week when she was not busy selling seashells by the seashore. I just loved saying that, could not resist. Since her house was closer to the orphanage, and to help me save on my lease, Helena suggested that I move into her home. I did not have much of an objection, her view of the ocean was simply sublime and divine.

Tommy Kwak_Unsplash

It will be a year tomorrow since we met. We could not be happier. Between the kids at the orphanage, selling the seashells, owning two cats, and having just good old fun in the company of each other, who had time to be sad.

We were starting to paint and print new messages on new shells since the old ones had run out.

The best companions are the ones that we meet in the strangest places.

LoveShort Story
2

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Novel, you simply amaze me. This was well written and such a beautiful, heart warming story.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.