Fiction logo

Diseption

By K.

By K. WatersPublished 2 months ago Updated about a month ago 3 min read
2
torched.

The forest was restless that night and the winds ran in each direction leaving his house the center of the storm. The house almost looked like the heart of the forest, the way that the roots grew from the ground and wrapped around it's wooden, mossy walls like they where gravitating towards it's center. The flicker from the fireplace inside made it look as though it had a heartbeat, and all I wanted to do in that moment was burn it all down. Bring everything to darkness. Just like he had done for me. I reimagined my grandmother one last time, before I knew she was sick, and before I knew we where both dying. She was the chatter of the forest. She brought everything to life as soon as she walked out the door. The flowers would blossom, the trees would straighten up tall and the roses would sharpen their thorns. She was the way of the earth and nobody dared cross her. Although her ways were great her story was even greater. And just like every story they must at one point come to an end. I just wasn't aware that her end was so vividly in my future. The door swung open to the heart beat house and he walked out. My friend. My mentor, really. My guide into manhood and I've followed him "branch by branch" they would say. "ah!, yes I've been expecting you". He has a torch and his good fur on. with half a horse and half a man he was twice my size and twice the amount of horse then I was. "Well come on then don't just stand there looking cheeky". I hated that word, a name from my childhood I've been trying to shake, but outdoing modest perfectionism hasn't been in my best interest in the long run. I don't smile. I slam the door behind me and grab a seat at the wooden table on the smallest stump. "oh come on now, it can't be that bad. You're making me feel like I've done something wrong". He puts a big jug of his finest homemade brew on the table and swings towards the keg to get another one. "That's cause you have, you've been awful". He turns towards me again. His button down shirt and glint glasses aren't fooling me this time. "what is it I've done?". He looks at me head on while his glasses drop around his nose. I take a sip of the brew and then stand up quickly, this makes the old goat jump back a few steps. "You lied, You never told me she would get hurt you lied to me. And now she's sick and she could be dying and it's all my fault!". He's quiet for a minuet as he turns around and puts his hands on the table behind him. "You know if there was another way I would of done it another way". He doesn't even look up, he doesn't even look towards me "YOU'RE A COWARD!". "YOU ONLY DO WHAT YOU WANT TO DO AND DON'T CARE ABOUT IT HURTING ANYONE ELSE!". He stands there for a minuete and then slams his hand loudly on the table. "go". he mumbles. I didn't hear him. "What?". I ask sheepishly. "I SAID GO!". He turns around and throws the lit torch my way as I close the door in just enough time as not to catch on fire. I run into the woods with tears rushing down my face. I haven't gotten the home I once had to go back to. but I now had the answers I needed to move forwards. Feeling the heat on my back from the heart of the forest that was now on fire. I knew I was free.

Fable
2

About the Creator

K. Waters

Hello, I am Kai T., Welcome. May my words uplift your mind and give you some solace. I hope you find understanding here and thrive through these stories with motivation to create your own. Thank you for visiting my page

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • LB2 months ago

    I found this thought provoking, well done on your 10th story! LB xo

  • Novel Allen2 months ago

    Glad you didn't burn, did the house burn down.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.