Fiction logo

Diner

Slice of Cake from Space

By Kendra J. AnthonyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Diner
Photo by Pesce Huang on Unsplash

As I sat waiting for Suzy to bring me that slice of chocolate cake, I pondered a life away from this dinky town.

“Thanks, Suze.” I said as she placed the cake down in front of me.

“No worries, Doll!” she smiled as she read my expressionless face, “Still try’na figure a way out of here?”

We both laughed. Mine not so sincere, “What else would I be doing while I enjoy my number one favorite baker’s cake?”

“Oh, you! Suck up some more and it’ll be on me!” She cleaned up what was left of my meal and scurried to the kitchen.

Taking my fork and stabbing it into the rich, creamy deliciousness that was Suze’s homemade chocolate cake, I glared out the window and once again got lost in the darkness of my own thoughts. It was a gloomy night, the wind howled as rain hit the window pain of the tiny diner with no remorse.

Dwindle, was a small town in the deep boonies of god only knows where. I have no friends, no one to talk to- with the exception of Suzy, who’s just here to be everyone’s friend, in hopes her diner could stay up and running. She is a sweetheart, though. My life was pretty plain otherwise. My days consisted of sleeping, eating, writing, coming to the diner, and ravaging my brain for a way out of here. It had been an on going circle of boring events for all 35 years of my life. That I can remember. I’m a writer, have been since I was a little girl. It never got me very far though. People just think I’m some unhinged, writer lady, lost in the fairy tale land of my own stories. So they avoid every aspect of my being. As do I, them.

Taking another bite of my cake, it melted on my tongue, making my mouth tingle; the smooth, richness brought me back to reality. The rain had yet to subside, and so, seemed I was stuck in the 50’s style diner for a little while longer. So I reached for my note book to jot some notes for another story idea, but while doing so, I saw a blinding ray of light, ignite the park across the street.

“What the hell was that?!” I screeched in horror.

Suzy came running from behind the bar, “What! What did you see, Jan?!”

“You can not tell me you didn’t see that?!” I motioned to the park, then looked around to the few other customers in the diner, no one even budged from their seats, everyone looked at my like.. like. Oh, to hell with these people. They want to see crazy, I’ll show them crazy. I grabbed my stuff and stormed out of the diner.

“Jan! Janis, wait! You’ll catch your death out there!” Suze called after me.

Good riddance.

I was already drenched. Freezing. Mind racing. What on earth was that flash? Lightning? Couldn’t have been, the lightning passed hours ago. Then it hit me.

“Could it be?” I said out loud, walking towards exactly what my mind thought it had been, but god forbid I say that in the diner. They already thought I was nuts.

About seven feet deep, covered in dirt and smoke, still smoldering from its age-long journey from space, from its home; lay the most tiny alien aircraft I have ever seen. Or in other words, have seen in conspiracy theorist pictures depicting what one might look like.

I lightly blew away the dirt that covered the UFO’s window and there he was. IT was. My eyes started tearing up, not from fear, but from what my discovery might lead to. What would this become.

The stories I could write.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Kendra J. Anthony

She was a gnomist, a writer of beliefs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.