Fiction logo

Dig

Story of a labourer who just dug and found the gold but remain empty.

By abdel rafeiPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
2
Dig
Photo by Joel Filipe on Unsplash

I do not remember when I saw the gold last time but when the project neighbour told me about that I was daydreaming of becoming rich by gold.Well I was a labourer at the site which was believed to be the best by its owner himself.There was no doubt that hundreds of men worked there day and night and he served us well but it was not that worth of a trunk full of gold.One day I was returning to my home helplessly because my child asked me to bring the toy he asked me for but I didnt have that much money to buy him a toy which he was asking.It was 6.30 pm when I just saw Renold who lived near the project site was standing waving to me to come closer.He knew me a bit because he came to bar where I spent most of my time so It was just hello hi.

"Hey boy how's going?" he asked.

"Well same life you see me everyday" I replied.

"I can tell you one thing that will get us both buy a expensive beer at the bar" He told me.

"Just beer"? I questioned?

"More than of a beer" He surprised me.

He agreed to tell me on one condition that He will get 30 percent of that share.There was a hidden gold trunk inside that building and it was dug there about ten years ago when he witnessed the gang war there who survived dug that gold there and ran away bad luck for them that they were caught by police and sentenced to death.He tried to dug that place but it was too difficult to dig that he just waited for the right person but a year ago a project started and land was bought by the company so now his dreams were going to bury.He showed me the map and the place where it could be there and I agreed in no time.I tried to contact the head of labourers and said that I want to work overtime at the digging department.

He was quite surprised by that because no one was doing overwork and it was unusual at that situation.Anyway he just agreed to me and say just do whatever you want.I was very happy these days I bought new digging tool and my wife was curious how could be I so happy?

I became quite rude when bad time arrived on me and eventually my kid and wife handled it.So my kid and wife were surprised and they were happy anyhow I managed to stay happy.At the start of the week I just worked with full passion not my official duty but the digging process.It was quite difficult to dug at that situation because many people were there watching all the time but thanks to God that it was on corner and no one can see it except they come there.I was runing into sweat when manager came to me and said that you are working with passion at digging site and we will pay you double.It maybe goodnews for others but not for me because I was searching the gold and it was more worth than of a pay.That night I dreamt of gold bars which I was selling to others.That was awful dream because it looked terrible.I donot beleive on such dreams so I just went to work and dug with full hardwork and sheer will.It looked easy but it was really difficult because it had a lot of pebbles that hurt your passion and flow of work.

After a week at the bar renold just came to me and inquired how much is it done?I told him that three days more.He was much happy because I was not that body builder type I was smart but I was strong so he didnt expect that.On morning I was planing to move faster on my gold project so I just finished my work before time and let me say, that left it uncompleted.This act made incharge suspicious and he came to that place where I was working.I was working carefully when I heard someone coming to that corner. I just put the dirt on it and covered it with wooden blocks.I was nervous and he observed it.

"Hey pal,you didnt complete your work upthere" He asked me with suspicion.

"Sir here work was more today so I just moved to here" I tried to became more confident.

This confidence and reply made him sure that nothing is wrong and he just went away.After one day when most of the workers left I saw a heavy thing that was much heavy than I expected.I just make it to the ground and When I saw that trunk open I couldnt believed my senses.That was the gold I was working for.Renold was there I asked him to come and he was at right time at right place.He took the bag and put the gold in it and started to move faster.One of the guy noticed him and told to the manager and they went after him but he was gone.I think he made the arrangements for fleeing from that site.

As I was expecting and afraid of exactly same happened,the manager called me slaiming that labourers saw me with him last time and you was trying to help him.I tried to give many excuses but manager was so mean at that time that he told the labourers to tie me with ropes and lock in a room.He tortured me how he can and many ways but I didnt know how that confidence came inisde me and I didnt tell a single word.After a day the owner on its own come to meet me and he told me to answer politely otherwise there will be consequences.

"I know that your fellow ran with gold" he surprised me.

I tried to ask him how he knew about that so he said that he tried to research in nearby areas and many people confirmed it.He scared me with a knife and made painful cuts at my legs and arms.I screamed with much pain but noone was there.In 24 hours I prepared myself to kill him otherwise he will kill me.There was broken piece of chair which was hanging with the chair.I tried to loosen my ropes and smashed that piece and put into my inner shirt.I was waiting for him so badly that all my wounds were not painful at that time.Luckily he came at night with just one bodyguard and I think he came to torture me badly but as soon he turned around to smoke I hit that piece so badly that he fell with no voice.He had knife I cut all the resistance and killed the bodyguard with knife and took his gun.

A car just suddenly came into my way and there was him.I thought that he flew with all the gold but I was wrong,he was honest.

"How do you know that I was here"? I questioned.

"I waited everynight for you here to give you your share" He answered.

He gave me my share and when I went to house my wife screamed one me but I burried the gold in the basement soil.I told that this is gold and this is for us.I promised her that everything will be okay.

I tried to run but police arrested me and I was sentenced to death After one month.I was sent to jail to spend time there.I made contacts with the greedy police officer and offered him to 5 percent of gold.He just made arrangements that looked like I just broke the jail.I ran with my family and gold to another city but that was much horrible than it looked like.I sent the gold I promised to that officer and he just wrote me a letter that he was grateful.After two months spending like dogs police announced publicly that if I give them the gold which was of worth 10 million dollars,they will release me and promised to give me protection.I had no choice but to gave up for my family.I agreed and gave all the gold to government and they did what exactly they said.I was given a house by government and again I started to searched for the job and by fate I was offered job as a labourer and I had to start it.

You know we do a lot of things to imrove our life's but fate decides what we will get.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

abdel rafei

I create characters.

follow me on Instagram.@rafeiz9696

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.