Fiction logo

Diary of Missing Pages

I've mastered the skill of holding my breath for longer than a minute, but maybe the gas just doesn't affect me.

By Kalina XiongPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 11 min read
Like
Diary of Missing Pages
Photo by Andre Kevin on Unsplash

Wednesday, 24th March 2330

12:15 pm

Day 3674 of wondering about whether or not the people in my city remember it, too.

I mean, I honestly wouldn't blame them if they didn't. Nothing is at all the same as it was a decade ago. I've grown a little worried for myself as I'm starting to sense my ability to remember slowly eroding. To keep myself in check, I've maintained a habitual routine of recalling past events an hour after a slumber.

I used to find it hard to sleep a perfect 8 hours without baseless night terrors, but there's been an improvement on that since last year. Just thank god I don't hear those rumbling sounds anymore. I could feel the vibration softly creep up in my skull, only to further penetrate my brain, combining the twisted feeling of my eardrums beating in pattern to the rhythmic pulse. Still to this day, have I any idea where those sounds came from.

Sunday, 28th March 2330

5:20 pm

I realized that I literally forgot how much I used to miss the comfort of a normal life after being aware of how iffy the normalcy is beginning to feel. For the first couple of years, my wife and I used to have fun cheerfully taking turns recollecting all the bad memories from the nightmarish life we lived back then as if they were survival horror stories. We don't really do it that often anymore. Moreover, I feel like she already forgot everything.

⋅•⋅⊰∙∘☽༓☾∘∙⊱⋅•⋅

Saturday, 1st February 2317

8:45 pm

Just earlier, my parents called me downstairs over something urgent. I tried to keep my cool as I plopped onto my favorite spot on the couch. The television volume was already blasted high enough to reach the length of the stairs to my bedroom, making it an annoyance to come down for that. I only showed up halfway during Stanley Copper's lengthy statement that described humanity's overdue fate. Our newly elected president seemed to talk with exaggerated emotions; it was hard to take his words seriously the way he might've wanted anyone to.

The next thing I see is my mom overflowing with tears and my bug-eyed dad, who had no longer touched his plate of spaghetti out in front of him, looking as though he was contemplating new life choices.

For months, my parents disliked the idea of this Copper guy running for president; he's a shady man despite how influential he appears to be. I have no clue what went on our nation's mind to get him elected, but my dad believes it was all rigged. I don't know where to stand in this political conversation, to be honest. I'm still too young to understand most of it, anyway. I suppose that shouldn't be the biggest problem.

Monday, 3rd February 2317

6:57 am

I'm writing in the bus right now. While I was changing into my uniform, I overheard my parents freaking out next door about something. I think I heard the word "mind control"? I didn't want to ask them about it, though. I'd rather focus on my schoolwork today.

Friday, 14th February 2317

5:08 pm

I've been seeing multiple videos and articles about Stanley Copper, and it's some pretty sketchy material. Some people on social media theorize that a cult runs our government, and he's the leader. Others have gone to the extreme to stretch the idea that he could be an alien that plans to own Earth. The first one seems more realistic. However, there's enough evidence to back up the second claim, given the extraterrestrial sightings that trended not too long before Copper became president.

The media does a terrific job covering all those up, though.

Saturday, 15th February 2317

12:55 pm

My mom forced me along with her to heavily stock up on groceries and appliances right out of the blue. Our cart was piled with a bunch of food, water, toilet paper, and all sorts of things—least to say it was embarrassing strolling around the store. She told me that we only have a limited amount of time to do stuff like this.

My dad used to set an early curfew whenever I'd go out with friends, but ever since he took me out of school, I can no longer go anywhere with them.

Not going to lie, but a huge concern is beginning to bubble up inside me. It used to be towards my parents, although now I think they were really onto something.

Monday, 24th February 2317

1:16 pm

Every week I see these jets flying above the city. People claim that they're government operations and are performed to release "special chemicals" within the smoke.

I'm going to practice holding my breath for a while—I heard rumors that the chemicals slowly kill people.

Nothing of the sort is showing up in the news. I wonder if the media is trying to hide it like they usually do.

Thursday, 3rd March 2317

7:34 pm

I called my best friend an hour ago and asked him about the wedding he attended a couple of days ago. He flatly said that there was no wedding. I know I wasn't going crazy and making it up because he mentioned it to me days before! You'd got to be mental to be able to forget something as big and eventful as that.

9:10 pm

I had accidentally inhaled some of the smoke. It had this appalling ammonia smell to it, but how am I unaffected?

I've also been hearing more rumors saying the chemicals are from another planet.

Thursday, 10th March 2317

1:50 pm

The world's current events have me attentively keeping up with the news like a madman. I sat through an entire 30 minutes with my parents, submissively listening to Stanley Copper explain the history of mankind while he estimates the amount of time Earth can continue holding people. I tend to scoff at these things. I figured, unless you're a Copper worshipper who believes it's right to sacrifice yourself for a fabricated prophecy, it couldn't be true that any rational person would just mindlessly gobble up all this crap.

I remember walking upstairs and peering back at my parents from above. They looked soulless like ghosts with expressions that didn't move yet effortlessly attempted to resemble the remnants of themselves. My dad spoke up about abiding by our leader, letting loose an unearthly grin.

This is the man that didn't trust Stanley Copper.

10:00 pm

I'm starting to get a strong feeling that my parents are victims of the brainwashing; it's frightening. It hasn't gotten worse yet, but I'm afraid to lose them.

Tuesday, 22nd March 2317

4:15 pm

There's this low, thundering noise that progressively gets louder. It tends to stop after an hour, but it can also go on for days. I'm relieved to know that I'm not the only one who hears it, which can only prove the fact that there's a source, although unknown.

I can't bear with it; it's like the sound is echoing through both channels of my ears. It's not even that loud, just painful!

Monday, 16th May 2317

11:25 am

I've been obsessed with this guy's podcast. His name is Andrew Buck, and he's covered all the conspiracies spiraling around our country's devastating changes. He says Copper's announcements are warning calls for the mass genocide that will occur either by the end of this year or sometime next year. He's still unsure how we could be wiped out, but it probably won't be in a way anyone would have the mental capacity to expect. Nonetheless, he's been strategizing ways to somehow prevent our extinction with the help of his followers.

I know I've become a madman, and it'll only get worse, but I've decided to help out as well. It's for the best of humanity.

Friday, 27th May 2317

2:26 am

I woke up in the middle of the night to pee and then came back into my room and noticed a tiny flash of white light far away from my house. It goes away but then reappears in a different spot. Some moments I heard an audible thud. I tried brushing it off to get sleep, but it's considerably hard to resist stressing on whether or not the light would come over here.

Wednesday, 3rd August 2317

5:25 pm

Last week, this girl posted about hundreds of missing guests who attended a special event hosted by Stanley Copper's son. The post went viral on social media! Everyone equally agreed to the conclusion that it was a scheme meant to eliminate a specific target of people, although not enough information has been disclosed to confirm that.

That's not even the scary part. I've been noticing this week that everyone just sort of...acted like it never happened.

7:32 pm

I randomly stumbled upon a relatively small community of people online. I'm assuming this is the minority of people who are also unaffected by the gases—they're all saying every detail I've also been noticing! A handful of them even know about Andrew Buck and have been working together for the past few months. I joined the community and interacted with some of the members. Being in here reminds me of the generous bit of sanity I have left.

Anyway, there's an upcoming meeting with Andrew.

Saturday, 20th August 2317

3:06 pm

The 3-hour meeting over a group video chat with Andrew has just ended. It could be from the anxiety I've recently developed, but my vision's spinning and getting all kinds of distorted, only worsening my burning eyes from staring at a screen.

A significant portion of the time, the team leaders prompted us to learn the map of the secret government headquarters we'll break into. The objective was to collect items that might operate under advanced technology that the whole world is entirely oblivious to. The hackers in our group would help open vaults and manipulate the technical security system. All of this will be dealt with in a few weeks from now. In the meantime, we still have to figure out ways we can protect ourselves from danger. Small towns and cities are being destroyed down to extinction, and memory sweeping is their advantage to getting away with it.

Andrew, in spite of being our best, has been immensely frustrated with non-absolute answers about Stanley Copper's background. And research sources have been very limited ever since the monetization laws.

Wednesday, 24th August 2317

4:59 pm

With all these stressful events to worry about, I managed to forget that it was my birthday yesterday. More unfortunately for me, even my parents forgot about it. It doesn't bother me, though. In the world we're living in now, stuff like that doesn't matter anymore.

Happy late 17 to me.

Friday, 26th August 2317

7:20 pm

It's been two days since I had messaged my friend. He hasn't responded yet. I swear my emotions are gone—I feel numb.

Sunday, 12th September 2317

6:15 pm

My parents and I argued very recently about my permission to join the get-together with Andrew. It may be dangerous, I know it will be dangerous, but I won't risk something just for myself.

I easily sneaked out of the house while my parents were glued onto the television. I can't tell how it works, but that thing has some hypnosis involved. It's pretty strong; hence I've been avoiding it pretty well these days.

8:20 pm

We've gathered some supplies for armory and weapons. Half of the team is in the offense position. I'm on the defense side. Our job is to distract the security and staff while the rest dive into the depths of the buildings. I don't have much time to write.

Tuesday, 14th September 2317

8:51 am

These days had me holding onto my life! I didn't get to write. I thought I lost my diary yesterday during the combat one can only describe as a final world war, but within the fog we were left in, I scraped my knee to save my diary from the incoming current of water we were thrown into.

I don't know how many times I twisted my spine just to find Andrew, but my hawk-eyes spotted him trapped underneath a damaged car, one that noticeably fell from the sky. With only half his body in nearest sight, it was hard to tell if he was conscious or not. The hand that was exposed was shaped in a tight fist, and I unwrapped it to interlock our fingers out of a righteous attempt to pull him out of there. However, his palm revealed a golden heart-shaped locket. It remained its shine amidst the dirt and ghastly weather and was entirely molded with a pretty pattern. I was eager to open it, but Andrew squeezed my wrist and whispered to me with all the energy he had left to suffice.

"Only open it when you're ready. Elsewise, you wouldn't understand."

It seemed like he said more, but I was hard of hearing at that moment and needed to leave.

Despite the few words I managed to hear, it was enough to petrify me from opening the locket. I still haven't opened it.

9:03 am

I'm not confident that we reached all the objectives. Andrew's not alive to properly lead the team. We're on our own.

9:15 am

I don't think we can go any longer. I'm seeing people literally vanishing in thin air! They're definitely using something that's out of this world. A random passerby exploded like an inside-out balloon. This isn't just regular radiation they're using. Not sure if it was the armor, but fortunately, most of my entire team were lucky enough to withstand the conditions.

My eardrums burst, and so the rumbling sounds have deafened—now vibrating inside of my brain.

One of the team leaders shouted, "They're testing us!" I don't know what that means.

I'm thinking about opening the locket; it feels cliche, but it must be the key to something.

⋅•⋅⊰∙∘☽༓☾∘∙⊱⋅•⋅

Wednesday, 5th May 2330

3:38 pm

It still fumbles my brain to recall anything that took place after opening that locket. I've tried all these different methods in order to reach inside the black hole of my brain—it still feels like nothing is there.

I'm writing in the same diary that I did in the past, but there are at least 15 years' worth of pages left blank, in resemblance to my brain.

My wife and I can only pray to god history doesn't repeat itself. All in all, I'm just happy there's no more Stanley Copper and the elite to deal with. Like the war I can proudly boast that I was a part of. But who knows, they could still be lurking around us, hidden in the peripherals of our perception.

⋅•⋅⊰∙∘☽༓☾∘∙⊱⋅•⋅

Saturday, 30th July 2331

12:00 pm

Strong winds were storming up a hurricane outside, and I've been staring at the blank ceiling of my room for an hour now. For whatever reason, I had just regained most of my memories.

My wife got out of the shower. She tends to crack open the window to let out the steam.

I was thinking back to where we knew each other. She was one of the members beside me right before I opened that locket—a sudden flash of light that blinded everyone out of their consciousness. Or did it kill them? What did it do?

A breeze entered the room from the window, and I had a large whiff of that same familiar kick of ammonia. After being so used to the smell, I kind of like it.

But I don't like the fact that we might not be on planet Earth.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Kalina Xiong

When you engulf yourself enough in other people's worlds, you eventually fantasize about your own.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.