Fiction logo

Diary Notes 1

Research Notes

By Emily Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
3
Diary Notes 1
Photo by Zoran Borojevic on Unsplash

January 17, 2086

Dr. Doty

Diary Notes 1

How do I start this? I suppose I start with a ‘Dear Diary’... Okay, Dear Diary, today I finally decided to write down my feelings in this journal. I’ve been thinking of starting a Diary and today was the day I made my final decision. It’s early in the morning and I was already in a bad mood. As I very well know, I’m a researcher and my job isn’t the easiest. Especially since I'm researching independently. I’ve been keeping all this anger and sorrow to myself and I lashed out on my flower, the seeds to be specific. I threw the seeds in the small bag across my backyard ground. As if they’ll even grow… It’s my job to find out why flowers haven’t been growing for the past fifty years. How am I supposed to research something I’ve never seen before? Flowers stopped growing in the wild long before I was born... And now I realize how weird it is for me to be researching this. Yeah, I’ve seen pictures and photos but never the real thing. No one in my generation and the next knows what real flowers smell, feel, even look like. I’m sure the generation before me doesn’t have a clue either since I'm only thirty-two.

The research part isn’t hard, I know everything about every flower. How each flower needs a different environment in order to grow, how much sun and water it needs, you name it, I know it all. I live in a house full of un-grown flowers. Every single flower seed has refused to grow. The hard part is knowing why it doesn’t grow, which is exactly why they need researchers like me in the first place. Everyone just hopes and prays for them to grow but they never do… “What am I doing…?” The Researcher sighed to themself. Perhaps a Diary wasn’t all that great of an idea after all. All I’m doing is venting to a journal that I’ll only read. The discouraged researcher closed the journal, placing the pen on top of the closed book.

The researcher walks around his house full of books about flowers, flower seeds, and pots of dirt that had flower seeds in them. Like he wrote down, a house full of flowers. The house itself is like a small greenhouse, a gardener’s dream to own. All the researcher has to do is constantly check-up and write reports on the flowers that, they very well know, won’t grow.

Hi Diary, I'm back. It’s been a couple of hours since I set you back down. How have you been? Sorry, bad joke. Anyway, strangely enough, I think I feel a little better today than any other day. Even though I do the same things over and over, the same routine. The only difference is my diary. I guess it wasn’t that bad of an idea after all. What should I write? Nothing really special happens in my day-to-day life… Maybe the weather? Nah… I can’t write in my diary like a bad first date. Well, the sky does look a bit darker than normal. Unfortunately, bright blue skies and zero ‘clouds’ is a normal day, even at night. ‘Clouds’ is in quotes because I don’t think I've seen a cloud either. This poor Earth must hate us for ruining it. One of the prettiest things it could offer to us is now gone. Instead of flowers, our grounds are filled with trash. I should try picking some up around the neighborhood some time…

Dear Diary, something amazing is happening! Water… water suddenly started pouring from the sky. And clouds, clouds all around the darker-toned sky! Myself and all my neighbors went out in shock. Kids and adults all danced around like they were in a ballroom. As I looked up to the sky, I recalled what this phenomenon was called. ‘Rain’. I admit, I was so shocked and surprised that it took me longer than normal to remember something that I should know off the top of my head. Rain… I wonder what this means for me and my flowers. Now that I'm writing inside you, Diary I realized that rain can’t magically be transported into my house to water my flowers. How foolish. If anyone else were to read this they surely think that I was a fool.

March 14, 2086

Dr. Doty

Diary Notes 56

Dear Diary, today, I feel empty. My hope of the sudden Rain 8 weeks ago of helping my flowers grow is gone. I’ve been staying indoors for these past 8 weeks, in the hopes that my flowers would at the very least show some sort of sign that they’d grow. But, I was wrong. Now I’ve just wasted 8 weeks of my life on something I should’ve known wouldn’t grow. I should just quit. I could quit my job, and live a vacation-filled life. I won’t ever get to see a flower but…

The researcher looked up from the journal to look out a window. The sky was the usual bright blue. Closing the journal and getting up from their seat, the researcher made their way to the sliding glass door that led to the backyard. With the thought of a vacation life, they stopped at the glass door, staring outside. A sudden gasp came from their mouth in shock. They drop their journal without realizing it. Outside their house, A flower, a lone flower, right in the middle of their backyard floor. A beautiful, brightly colored flower. One that they could only dream of. A Marigold Flower.

Short Story
3

About the Creator

Emily

I like to write, I'm sure you do too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.