Fiction logo

Diaries from the end

The scavengers

By Amanda DellPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1

Chris saw the isolated cabin set off in the woods behind the lake. As he approached, it was evident that there was no one around. No footsteps in the snow or tracks of any kind. The door had a drift of snow concealing it.

He dug out the snow from in front of the door and forced his way into the cabin. Immediately he was confronted with the frozen body of a woman on the floor by the window. Chris bowed his head and uttered the lord’s prayer.

“Amen,” he said as he turned to walk further into the cabin. Out of the corner of his eye he saw a book clutched under her arm.

“Wow, I haven’t seen a book in years,” he said out loud to himself as he reached down and pried it from the stiff frozen body. A heart shaped locket flung out of the pages and hit the floor when it broke loose.

He thumbed through the pages realizing it was her diary and she had passed years ago. The freezing conditions preserved bodies extremely well when not exposed to the elements so it was hard to tell how long someone had been dead.

Chris bent down and picked up the locket. When he opened it , tiny scraps of fabric of assorted colors fell out like confetti.

“What the, shit, now I have to take my gloves off,” Chris grumbled as he removed his gloves and began to gather all the pieces from the hardwood floor. He carefully put all 10 scraps back into the locket and placed it and diary in his inside coat pocket.

He rummaged through the place and found some socks and maps in a drawer. A few military rations were tucked away in the pantry and appeared to be sealed still. He gathered the items and stowed them in his gear. Seeing the fireplace was still operational he decided to camp for the night. Taking the curtains that still hung on the windows, he covered her body and went to the other room to get warm.

Cozied up by the fire he read page after page. His heart touched by the similarities in their stories. The struggle of that first year was hard to forget. After the super volcano in Yellowstone blew its top, life ceased to be the same. The fabled nuclear winter has become reality. The Earth has now been dark for 4 years and nearly all living things have perished.

Day 182

Everyday when I begin my entry, I ask myself, what for?

No one will ever read this.

Not a single soul cares what I think.

When I die, this will be tossed in the fire along with my body. As if I had never written a word.

It is so hard to be happy to be alive. Everything I have ever loved is gone.

They say the worst is far from over. We must risk it all and try to scout for resources tomorrow. I volunteered for the first time. Maybe I won’t make it back, and maybe that is okay with me.

Day 183

We are suited up and heading out. I have not been to the surface since I entered this haven.

I am not even sure what it will look like now.

I know there will be snow, but will all the plants be dead?

I have heard rumors from the scouters that there is nothing left within a days walk.

Maybe this will help me feel like I still have a purpose. I hope so.

Day 184

We managed to make it to the old farmhouse with a fireplace.

I have never been so cold in all my life.

All the trees are dead. So dark you can barely see 10 yards in front of you, even at high noon.

Hank says we will be in uncharted territory by tomorrow afternoon. Hopefully we are able to secure some resources soon.

Pretty sure I have frost bite starting on my little toe.

Day 185

We have found an old strip mall. Usually they are cleaned out of anything useful but we scored.

I found some boots in a back storage room and lots of socks. Pretty sure these socks are going to save my toe.

Alice found some batteries in a drawer and a nice roll of tape.

There were some maps in the desolate gas station so we have back ups now.

All in all I think today has lifted my spirits in this tundra. Every little bit helps.

Going to post up here for the night and press on tomorrow.

Day 186

I thought we were going to head out today but Hank has taken ill. His fever is so high that we need to camp here for a day or two.

I found some jewelry under the broken glass in the mall. Somehow, this little heart shaped locket gleamed in the faint light of the day. Begging to be rescued.

I was happy to oblige.

The first genuine smile I have had in months. I will take this as a sign that I am where I am supposed to be.

Day 187

Hank is not doing well.

We all accept the 50 percent survival rate of scouting when we volunteer. This is his fourth trip so he has beat the odds many times.

I don’t know him well but I know he is a good man.

We can’t wait here much longer or we will all die. I know he knows that, but how do we just walk away from him.

After so much loss, what is one more? I can watch my humanity slip away with every breath.

Day 188

Hank didn’t make it through the night so I guess that made leaving easier. I cut a tiny piece of his shirt and placed it in my locket. I can carry those lost with me until the end.

We made it to a Ranger station near the lake. It wasn’t on our original map but the state park’s map I found has proven useful.

Like hitting the lottery around here when you find virgin property. Looters haven’t ravaged the area and I think we may be able to head back to the haven tomorrow.

We took most everything but I couldn’t bring myself to take it all. Just as we found boots and socks and maps, we too will leave a little so others who find this place have hope.

Chris held the locket in his hand and realized he had ten people in his palm. She had kept a small scrap of each companion that died close to her heart as promised.

“You have not lost any of your humanity ma'am. In fact, you have restored mine,” Chris said as a tear rolled down his cheek. He placed the diary on his chest and drifted off to sleep, warm, with new socks on his feet and hope from the heart shaped locket’s dedicated owner.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Amanda Dell

I am a writer, an artist, a mother, and a cultivator.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.