Fiction logo

Destination Where?

2/17/Destiny

By More Than WordsPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 12 min read
1

The train was moving faster than the speed of light! Nance wakes up in a cold sweat terrified at how fast he was moving! Seated in a pitch black cab all alone, no one else in sight! He looked out the window trying to get his barings, suffering from memory loss and not remembering anything at the present time, drawing a total blank.....until flashes began to rush back into his mind, but not present memories, the first one that came to mind was that of his childhood, an early age, around 8 years old! He could see clear as day, a young version of himself as he watched a man raise a gun firing three times into another man's chest. He remembers watching this from a distance, before fleeing the scene without being noticed....His next flash of memory was that at the age of 13...He remembers an older teenager bringing him along on a crime spree and how much money he was making along the way! He remembers getting addicted to the life and the money that came along with it! He then remembers graduating from High School and then College with Honors! Although he was a genius by most people's definition, he had become addicted to his life of crime...

He remember taking the profits from his life of crime and starting his first legit business straight after College, which would pose as a front for his criminal activities. He had done many criminal acts, but his main source of illegal income had come from being a high profile hitman. He was one of the best at what he did, which kept him in heavy rotation, and he always seemed to evade the authorities. He had learned to stay unseen, operating well in the shadows. He was well respected in the community, no one would ever suspect him of the heinous crimes that he was committing. Flashes of these hits came back crashing back, one by one, he could see every single shot he made, every body crash to the floor, and even though he didnt see every victim take his or her last breath, he could now see this, causing him to sit back down in his seat, and gasp for air! Seeing them take thier last breath, made him literally temporarily lose his! He eventually loses consciousness for a few minutes and when he wakes up, the train is still moving at the speed of light, but in front of him, clear as day he can clearly see his first kill about to happen, right in front of his eyes. There he was standing there, with a mask on, a father of two, begging for his life, saying "please spare my life, please?!" He could see himself looking at his victim and uttering the cold and calous words," This is just a job, sorry it's nothing personal!" This would become his Mantra, he would say it underneath his breath at every kill and it would get him through it, allowing him to take on his next job without feeling the guilt! It had gotten to a point where he took all the emotion out of it, not taking thier lives or the loved ones of his victim's lives into consideration. Nance had brought himself to truly believe in his heard that these jobs were just that, jobs, no emotion involved whatsoever! He built a reputation on not ever missing his target, by getting very close to them, up close and personal, so all of his kills would be executed at close range! He took pride in this, and the dark world would admire his tactics, his sucess rate and when a big job was required, so was he! They knew who would get the job done, quickly, effectively and his name would be the only name that would come up! He remembered how he stayed to himself, for the most part, only entertaining the opposite sex one night at a time, never forming an emotional attachement to any of them! He hadbuild a wall around his heart, that would allow him to take care of his business at hand and not get attached!

There he was sweating, trying to figure out what was going on, why was he seeing these visions, where was he, and where was this bullettrain going, where was it taking him? He gets up and runs straight through his vision and heads to the doors in front of him that led to the next cab, seeing it clearly as the moonlight shines bright through the windows of the train. He pulled and pulled with all his strength until he pried the doors open and as he entered it, he could see that it was completely empty, not another person present, there were no seats in this cab, and the walls were covered in blood, there were dates on the wall, drawn in the blood! The smell was almost unbearable, the stence of death filled the cab. He looked up and everytime he saw the dates, he would see a vision of what happened on that day! He focused on 2/17/14.... it was his first kill that was not a man, it was a woman, a ruthless woman, but nonetheless a woman! Something that he thought he would never have to do! He was a cold person, but in his eyes not that cold! He wrestled with this in his head, when first given the assignment, but after further evaluation of who she was and what the payout was going to be, he brought himself to where his motto had taken him, to that place that had him on top of his game for years at this point! He could see himself approaching her, as she stood there in her bedroom, she had just slipped on her shirt and looked as if she was about to head of for the evening, when he appeared out of the shadows, mask on, standing there face to face with his next mark. She goes to say something, and before she could utter a word, Nance raises his gun, says his Mantra out loud and shoots her once in the head,watching her body hit the ground,he drops his head, shaking it in disbelief, when he thinks he hears something, he looks around seeing no one in sight, pauses for a moment and gets out of the vicinity as quickly as he could! He is taken back as he relives that memory and then looks at a few other dates , reliving each of those moments each kill at a time! A tear drops from one of his eyes, then decides that he had to get out of that cab, he couldn't take it anymore! He takes off running towards another set of doors, when he sees another date on the door, larger than the other dates, it read 2/17/18, it was the day of his final kill, the one that he vowed would be the last! The exact date to the day a year earlier, his life would change, out of the blue, he would meet Destiny, the only woman that could seem to break that hard shell, the one where he didnt allow anyone in! She was everything that he didn't know he needed, but did and slowly but surely, he fell in love with her and a year later, he was determined to turn the corner and turn over a new leaf. He was determined to start a new life, far away from his trangressions! He would cement this by asking her to marry him near the end of the the year and decides to move away with her by the beginning of the next year! He decides to take one more job before taking Destiny with him to move away from the choas and without even realizing it, he would carry it out....2/17/18 the exact date that he had met Destiny a year earlier......He would carry it out,close his local business, and vanish from that area for good, not taking one look back! He was ready to start his new life with Destiny far away from his past! He was determined to escape the hell that he had created, and join Destiny, in this new found paradise. They would finally marry on 2/17/19, and he could now remember all of the good times of their first year of marriage, away from it all, living his life now for the first time on the straight and narrow, crime free, genuinely living his life happy, loved and loving his Destiny! All of his good memories were coming back to him quickly, as the moonlight was shining bright into the cab and alll of the blood on the walls seemed to dissapear! He began to smile and could see Destiny's face clear as day, there she was standing in front of him, when another date flashes quickly before his eyes...2/17/20, a tear out of nowhere dropped from his right eye this time! The vision in front of him, now included Nance walking up to Destiny from behind, he hugs her from behind, turns her around and kisses her on the forehead and then on the lips, before telling her, " I love you, Happy Anniversary baby, can you believe that we have been married for a year now! I can not believe that you got me to love you the way that I do, I wouldv've never believed this would be happening, not to me!" Destiny looks at Nance and says" Why not baby, you are worthy of love aren't you? I know I am, so why would you say such a thing?", as she continues to put her lipstick on! He notices that she is looking different than normal but can't figure out why, but decides to open up to her about his past life, just a bit! Nance sits on the bed in front of her, looking at her intently and says," Baby, if you only knew the things I have done in my past, you probably say that I do not deserve you, deserve this life we are living, you see, I haven't always lived the most honest lifestyle, I didn't get all of these blessings from doing the right thing, but for the past year, everything I have earned, that I have done, have all been done honestly, and genuienly and I appreciate that you have been here along for this new ride with me! It is a reason that You are my Destiny and that You are the one that got through my emotional brick wall that I built! My Destiny is Love! Destiny smiles, leans down and kisses him deeply, then pulls back! She looks at him, now with not so much of a loving look, and then says to him, " I was not supposed to fall in love with you, but I did! You see I know all about your past, all about it!" Nance begins to stand up and say something when Destiny cuts him off and says, "You probably don't want to do that, you should sit for what is about to come next! You see, I know all about your illegal activities in your past, I did my research about you, and wow you were something to deal with, and I get it, but when you took away from me, one of the most important people in my life, that is where I draw the line, but before we get to that, I want you to know that, we are now with child, and I know you are excited and it almost made me not do what I set out to do all those years ago, but it won't!" Nance looks at her and says, "Baby, what are you talking about, none of this is making any sense, we are about to have a baby? That is great news, and what are you talking about doing, took away someone from you, I.m lost, slow down!"as he goes to hug her, she pushes him back down on the bed, giving him a stern look. She begins to cry and says, " I can remember it like it was yesterday, she was the most beautiful woman, ever, I wanted to be just like her, she made sure that I never lacked anything! She took me places and we were getting ready to fly out of the country to celebrate my graduation from that past December, something that she pushed me to accomplish and push through even when I thought it was unattainable, but she believed in me and because of her I did it, I had finally acheieved it! I was in the basement putting somethings up, and I was headed to tell her something, but I was on my phone on the way to her, and that is when I saw you, standing there, looking at her, and I can still hear you say those cold and calous words, "This is just a job, it's nothing personal!" "I watched her body drop, stuck in disbelief, I wanted to say something, I wanted to scream, but I couldn't, I was frozen in time, I saw you as you just looked down on her removing your mask for quick second to wipe a few tears from your eyes, which to this day I will never a undrstand and now I do not care to, I got out of there as quickly as I could, fearing I would experience the same fate! She had always told me that this day may come because of the life that she led, and I was prepared to do what I have to do, but when the time came to step up, I didn't I was either too scared or hurt, hell it was probably a combination of both, but I was determined to avenge her death, and what other way to do that, than to find this man, make him fall in love and when his gaurd is completely down, I finally take my shot! Brilliant don't you think Nance?" She then pulls out a gun from her purse and aims it at his head! Nance's eyes get big, not believing what he was seeing nor what he was hearing! His life had come full circle, while he thought he was escaping his past, his past had literally caught up with him and was living under the same roof with him, loving him and he was loving it back, but this is how it would all end at the hands of Destiny! His heart dropped as he attempted to beg for his life, saying, " What about our baby? What will you tell him or her?! Please Destiny, I love you, we can work this out we can get past this!" As tears streamed down both of thier faces, she looks him in the eyes and says," Although I do love you, and you have shown me an amazing side of you, who would I be if I allowed the man that took my mother away from me, my child will never meet her and that is all on you, Nance. I will tell your child that you were a good man in the end but unfortunately your past caught up with you and for that, you could no longer be here with us!" She raises her gun, steps foward , placing the gun to his temple, Nance closes his eyes, accepting his fate, and Destiny utters the words, "I love you Nance, I truly do, but this is just a job, it's nothing personal!" She pulls the trigger, his body falls to the ground! Destiny cries as she watches life leave his body! The vision, his memory, vanishes from in front his eyes, as the blood on the walls of the cab reapperar, the cab becomes very dark, with little light coming through the windows! He hears behind him a slow creaking noise coming from behind him, he turns around and sees the doors behind from the cab he woke up in earlier opening and one by one he sees all of his victims quickly approaching him, the bullet wounds that he inflicted on them brightly visible to him, he tries to run, but he is stuck just like Destiny was when he had killed her mother, and out of the shadows, he sees Destiny's Mother walking through crowd of victims, now leading the pack of corpses, grabs Nance and says, "We have been expecting you! THIS is YOUR DESTINY!" As he is pulled into the darkness as the train continues to speed off through the Night!

Mystery
1

About the Creator

More Than Words

Bringing you Creative stories from different genres, ranging from Mystery, Sci-fi an a good selection of Erotica(some fact and some fiction) I hope you enjoy, Subscribe Subscribe subscribe!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.