Fiction logo

Death's Lover

Chapter Two

By E.L.MPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Like
Death's Lover
Photo by Sebastian Molina fotografía on Unsplash

Thanatos

I move towards the door on my right, passing through it to see a frail old man asleep yet coughing every now and then. His chest rising and falling in labored breaths. Moving to the side of his bed I lay my hand over his forehead and give him the sense of peace he has long desired. Instantly his spirit is standing beside me with a look of gratitude in his eyes. I give him a nod and he heads to the door before passing through the two girls who have opened it to see where I disappeared to.

I smile softly at them and make my way back to the hallway, giving them a chance to move to the side before continuing down the hall. They follow me at a safe distance whispering between each other as I make my rounds and steal glances at this beautiful creature that has called to me. She is taller than the average female which makes her companion seem miniature beside her. My heart was given to another long ago and an uncomfortable pang of guilt washes through me as I am unable to stop myself from stealing these glances. Her auburn hair is a mess with parts of it wetly sticking to her pale face. Her moss-colored eyes seem to take in everything at once as she moves with a natural grace. Despite her disheveled appearance a beauty and strength shine through that I can't help but admire.

I attempt to sway my focus as I ponder why Dolus would have these two locked up and what me stealing them away from him might cause. When your Mother is night and your Father is darkness, it is only to be expected that the family is seen as wicked; but of all my brothers and sisters, him and Apate are the worst in my opinion. The rest of our brood may have their flaws and many may revel in the tasks appointed them a bit more than necessary, none of them more so than them. With their deception and falsehoods, they care not for another but themselves. Whatever their reasons behind this, I find myself intrigued by this turn of events.

As I finish the last floor, I turn to look at them again and see the smaller one trying to stifle a yawn as their adrenaline fueled day finally takes it's toll on them. "You must be hungry and tired of being in those clothes." I say looking them over.

"Are you the grim reaper?" the smaller one asks completely ignoring my suggestion.

"No, although I suppose many people confuse such things. I'm sure I inspired that myth though." I reply with a wink, "Come. Let's find you two a good meal and something more comfortable."

Turning away from them I create a rift in front of me and move through it, holding my hand out to them if they wish to take it. My beauty, no not mine, moves cautiously up to the edge of it and sticks her head through before moving into the new place without acknowledging my hand and I can't help the small chuckle that escapes me at the fire inside her even in the face of the unknown. She pulls the little one behind her and as they step through, the rift disappears. "Are we back in the real world?" she asks looking around in awe.

I lead the way into a door to our left as I answer, "Yes, well, you can't really eat in the netherworld or else we wouldn't risk it but this is a safe place for mortals such as yourselves." The sun is shining brightly in the central courtyard, tall columns circling and rising three stories high. They are both craning their necks up to see the terraces above us before we enter a modest room. Stepping away from them I go to the concierge desk and ring the little bell that is sitting there. In a matter of seconds the hostess comes through the curtain that leads to the back parlor.

"Thanatos, what a pleasant surprise." she says with a serene smile upon her face.

"Greetings, Hestia. Could I trouble you for shelter and a couple of good meals?" I ask gesturing at the girls to my right.

"Of course, dear uncle, give me just a moment and I'll have someone show your companions up."

"We won't be staying too long." I say as much to Hestia as I do to the young women beside me.

"Oh, of course, but before you join them you must come catch up. It has been quiet a spell since we've spoken."

I look over my shoulder to see Amara and Cate looking around in stunned silence, the elegant mix of Doric and modern style that Hestia has managed to blend is indeed awe inspiring. Especially, I imagine, for two untraveled souls such as theirs. "Go, get settled in and find something to eat. I'll have some new clothes sent up as well and when I return I will answer all those questions." I say, catching their attention and they both nod softly still seeming in a daze, before I turn back to Hestia and move behind the counter and through the curtain.

As we step into the parlor, Hestia takes a seat in a large cream colored wing backed chair, pouring her self a drink and gesturing to a second glass. I nod as I take a seat opposite her on a love seat of the same coloring and she slides the glass over the coffee table between us.

"Thank you." I say taking a drink of the nectar. "It has been quite some time since we have seen each other."

"Yes, well considering the family doesn't get together the way they once did that's not very surprising." she replies with a small frown.

"Tell me Hestia, do you ever miss Olympus?"

"Hardly," she laughs whimsically, "There might not be as much drama as there once was but I'm sure there is still plenty to go around."

"I fear you are right on that front." I say shaking my head before taking another sip. Silence settles over us as I admire the room we are sitting in; a large fireplace takes up one wall and intricate detail has been taken in the depictions on the walls. One catches my eye that I understand to be a telling of her everlasting solitude. A kettle set between a lyre and a trident, each separated by a lightening bolt. Telling, to the trained eye, her story of being wanted by both Apollo and Poseidon and her choice to ask Zeus to grant her the choice to remain a virgin goddess.

"So, Thanatos, how very unexpected of you to show up at my door. Honestly, I'm not even sure I can recall a time you and I have spoken more than a simple greeting at family reunions." she states recalling my attention and cutting to the point.

"I have always appreciated your no nonsense attitude." I reply with a dry chuckle, "Yes this has indeed been a day of surprises. Imagine, going about my business when suddenly two quite harried girls catch my attention as they are escaping from none other than my brother Dolus. I simply could not stand aside and do nothing." I reply, deciding to leave out the draw I feel towards one of them.

"Dolus? Here I was thinking you despised the family drama as much as me. What exactly do you plan to do with them?" she asks calmly, a subtle knowing in her eyes.

"Of that I am not yet sure. For the moment I would like find out what his plans were and give them shelter from his grasp. I apologize for this inconvenience, dear niece, there is simply no place I could take them at such short notice and we will be gone before you know it." I reply before taking another drink of the nectar.

"I see, and I suppose you would like to keep this little detour quiet?" she says with the smallest hint of frustration.

"That would be most beneficial for us both I believe." I reply giving her a curious look.

"Mhm, I agree it would be yet there will still be a debt incurred for this favor you ask." Any traces of frustration have vanished as she appears her serene self again.

"Of course, I would expect no less. Do you have need of me now or will this be a future favor?" I reply easily, excusing off the strange reaction as my imagination.

"I have no need of your abilities now." she answers, standing and sweeping her arm toward the curtain. "Do make yourselves comfortable for as long as you need and remember to have your wards send their thanks in offering."

"Certainly. Thank you for your hospitality." I say finishing my drink and setting my glass on the table before moving to the curtain.

"It is who I am." she replies on a dry laugh. I look back at her before the curtain falls into place and see her disappear through another door. The feeling that this situation has frustrated her comes up again and I can't seem to shake the feeling that we should get out of here much sooner than I had anticipated. Returning to the courtyard, I turn to the stairs at the right and begin to move up them, looking down at the ever-burning hearth in the center of the courtyard and admiring this safe haven Hestia has created in the middle of no where. The strange feeling of her being annoyed that we appeared at her door step refuses to go away as I look for someone to point me in the direction of Amara and Cate.

As I make my way to the third floor, I hear a muffled voice talking loudly and my curiosity gets the better of me. I move back to the plane I am more accustomed to and drift through the door. There is a mortal woman standing at the window with a phone to her ear and irritation radiating off her. "Fine, we will focus on retrieving the boy for now, but I simply don't understand how they could have disappeared into thin air." she says in a frustrated huff. She goes to a chair and sits, presumably listening to whoever is on the other end. The strange feeling from Hestia increasing, I decide it is time to find my wards and get back to my home quickly. As I move towards the wall, the woman suddenly says, "Stop." and I turn back to look at her. She is staring right at me as she gets up and moves closer before continuing, "I am well aware of the stakes we are facing, and I have already proven to you my devotion to this cause. You will stop talking to me as though I am some dim-witted minion." she says harshly, and I breathe a sigh of relief. I shake my head at myself and continue through the wall, deciding the less people that see me here the better. Too many strange occurrences are happening for my comfort.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

E.L.M

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.