Fiction logo

Dear Mutti

Part One

By Emery PinePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Dear Mutti
Photo by Bianca Jordan on Unsplash

02/06/22

Thursday, September 23, 1937

Dear Mama,

I married this man named Eitan Blettner a few years ago. You would love him. He is tall and handsome and the most thoughtful man I have ever met. He is intelligent and logical. He is so thoughtful and caring. He truly loves me, Mama. I am so grateful for him and adore him more than words can express. I wish you were able to meet him, Mama. The only problem is that he is Jewish, which was not an issue until a few years ago. Hitler has been in charge of the country for the last few years and he has made a decision that the Jewish community is problematic and untrustworthy. I love Eitan and he is perfect, and it makes me so devastated that he is not being valued simply because he is Jewish.

What I mean is: Eitan came home from work today and told me that he was laid off from his job at the bank because of the simple fact of him being Jewish. He has been working at his bank for the past five years and now he was fired over something he cannot control. Honestly, though, I am surprised it took so long for this to happen. The Jewish community here in Germany has been being targetted since 1933. They have been losing their jobs and not being rehired no matter where else they look. A lot of the Jewish families have been being relocated to ghettos outside of the cities around the nation. I find it disturbing that these families are being moved from their homes to these little shacks outside of the cities. The government claims it is for the safety of these citizens, but this is something that I don’t quite understand. They were in no danger before. I don’t like that this is all going on. It makes me uncomfortable and unsure. It doesn’t feel right.

The problem with Eitan being fired is that I don’t work. I stay home all day and care for the house and our daughter, Ruth. She is only eight months old and is so gorgeous, Mutti. She has your chocolate brown eyes and these lovely blonde curls. She is perfect. You would absolutely adore her, just like I do. But this is not the point.

The point is that I do not work and now Eitan does not, either. Knowing the situation of our nation right now, Eitan will not be able to find another job capable of supporting our family. This leaves me in the position to find work. I do not know what kind of work I might do. I have never worked and the idea makes me anxious. Eitan says I should not have to work— that it is his responsibility to provide for Ruth and me. But he is not capable of caring for us right now, so I must find a way to. Perhaps I could work at the launder’s down the road or nanny for one of our neighbors, with their young boys, Walther and Peter. They are wild, reckless linings. Our neighbors, Mrs. and Mr. Stein work all day through the week. Mrs. Stein works at the school down the road, and Mr. Stein works at the same bank that Eitan did until today. They have mentioned needing a new nanny for a while now, so I think talking to them would be a good idea. I will write to you again when I know more of the situation I am now currently in.

Love,

Ema

Series
Like

About the Creator

Emery Pine

I’m a poet with sprinklings of fiction. I write with the soul, so I hope you find it interesting and relatable

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.