Fiction logo

Dear Heather

If this letter is late then it’s too late for me.

By J. S. WadePublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 2 min read
13
Dear Heather
Photo by Sebastian Molina fotografía on Unsplash

Below is my response to Heather Hubler's "Write Me a Letter Challenge.

Dear Heather,

I am desperate and the only way to communicate to you securely is through the Vocal platform. They are after me and I am terrified.

It all started when I published my fiction story, Out of the Shadows, on Vocal. First, my phone would ring and the caller would hang up, then I’ve received strange IRS audit letters with weird symbols penciled on them. A black van has been parked across the street for days. They don’t think I see them going for coffee in their lettered windbreakers. A black sedan parked behind them today. After confronting the agents two men in black suits took up the surveillance. I am being followed.

My cats are acting strange. I awoke choking , to find Fabian and Ella close to my face and sucking air from my mouth. Are they trying to kill me?

Please, I need your help. My story of the coven is one hundred percent fiction. None of it’s true. I don’t know anything about a murder of a news media star named Gisele.

This morning the two agents knocked on my door with a search warrant. They didn’t tell me what they were looking for. Strange, the only item they took was my hairbrush. Was it for DNA? I don’t know. Wait, don’t witches need a personal item to curse someone? Omg! I’m dead.

Heather, please get the word out, I will not harm myself. I made up everything on my story. Please tell everyone “Do not believe it.”

An owl just landed on a tree and is guarding the back yard. It’s screech is horrifying.

I’m packing my bags now. It’s the witches, I know it. They are coming for me to curse and kill me.

I’ve got to get out of here. Can I hide out at your place? I have gold coins I can pay you.

Please, I’m begging you. Help me.

Your desperate friend,

J. S. Wade

P.S. - Abcdefghijklmnopqrstubwxyz. I also want you to kno…. (Hold on a second)

Who’s there? Fabian!! You let them in? Arghhhhh…….

HorrorMicrofiction
13

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock7 months ago

    If this sounds familiar, does that mean I'm a paranoid schizophrenic, too? (You're not paranoid if they really are out to get you.)

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    No heather, run and hide. They will get you too. Witches, CIA, Men in Black, I bet it's Will. I see I have some serious competition in the humor department from Mr J.S. Hmmm!. Clever, very clever.

  • Heather Hubler7 months ago

    Oh snap! I mean I'd harbor you and all, but like I can't use gold coins at Sheetz...hahaha! This was short, clever and escalated quickly. Loved it!! Thank you for this thrilling bit of fun today :)

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    Great stuff, Scott! The opening paragraph had me thinking this was going to be a plea for recue funds from Nigeria. This was more fun!

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    I love this, so funny! Well written too.

  • Well, nice knowing ya! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 My favourite part was when Fabian and Ella were sucking the life out of you! I loved your letter!

  • Mark Gagnon7 months ago

    Funny story! I hope you find a safe place to hide but those damn owls are everywhere.

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Humorous horrific tale!!! Loved it!!!

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    If your are reading this then you must have escaped! I hope Heather responds soon. I’m getting paranoid over here for ya. PS: loved your PS 😅

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.