Fiction logo

The Blended Family

A Cultural Assimilation

By J. S. WadePublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 2 min read
15
Freepik

Ginger folded her arms to fight off the chill, not from the fall breeze but from the baldheaded man she had known for forty years sitting at the other end of the park bench. Four decades; now she wondered whether she had ever known him.

Pfffffffffffffffffffft ripped from his lifted rear.

Their eyes met, and his snarky smirk feigned innocence. The gassy fog, akin to rotted cabbage, assailed Ginger's nostrils, and she gagged. Covering her mouth and nose to shield the onslaught of methane, she tamped the snicker welling up from her belly. His attempt at levity failed, and her newfound anger overcame the moment.

I will not be distracted by his childish antics. This is serious and not a time for comic relief, she thought.

Clarence rolled the wedding band with his thumb on his left ring finger. He had never grown accustomed to the precious metals presence. When nervous, he twirled the circular symbol of his commitment.

Ginger hasn't said a word since I told her my secret. Will she forgive me, or will I spend the last years of my life alone, he thought.

Tears welled in his eyes at the unanswered question.

What will I do without her if she leaves me to move in with her sister across town? Who else would put up with my antics? She pays the bills, does the laundry, and keeps my meds straight. Every meal is a demonstration of her love and care.

Clarence's chin slipped to his chest, and he looked away to conceal his fear as a slight whimper escaped his lips.

Ginger whipped her head to him as he turned away.

Is he crying? Clarence is shedding a tear? Ah, he's afraid I will leave him. I haven't seen him show this much emotion since he returned from serving the Army in Europe. It serves the old coot right. He should have shared his secret years ago before we tied the knot. I deserved to know. What else has he hidden from me?

Clarence's wrinkled and quivering hand covered his face.

I should have told her. Though it was before we met, she deserved to know. I don't think I can live without her. What will I do? What can I say or do to fix this? The silent treatment is killing me. I wish she'd communicate with me. Does she still love me?

Pfffffffffffffffffffft ripped from her lifted rear.

Dropping his hand, he waved away the stench of greasy bacon permeating the air and looked at her with contempt.

Ginger laughed.

Clarence laughed.

A seventy-year-old woman stopped in front of the park bench. Beside her stood a middle-aged woman with a familiar snarky smirk.

With a distinct French accent, the older woman said,

"Monsieur Clarence, it's been a long time since Paris, you have aged well. This is your daughter, Felicia," she said, "Is this your Madam Ginger?"

Clarence and Ginger stood together to embrace and brush the cheeks of their visitors, their newly discovered extended family.

"Papa. After so many years, I am pleased to meet you," said Felicia as the two French women parted for a teenage girl who stood behind them.

"This is your granddaughter, Clarice. Her father could not make the trip."

Breaking the uncomfortable silence, Clarence's former paramour sniffed the air, "Is that cabbage and bacon I smell? I'm starved for some good American food."

Ginger hand-signed to Clarence who was almost deaf,

"Turn your hearing aids up, you old fool, and introduce me."

MicrofictionLoveHumor
15

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    I already subscribed before. I got bump

  • This is so delightfully sweet & real.

  • Awe this was so good!

  • J. Delaney-Howe7 months ago

    This is great. Very well written.

  • JBaz7 months ago

    OMG, I had no idea where this was leading too. I liked where it went even with the gaseous additions. Great story

  • Threw up a little in my throat from all that air pollution 🤣🤣🤣 Loved your story! I loved what Ginger signed to the deaf fool 🤣🤣🤣

  • Donna Renee7 months ago

    🫣🫣🤣 that was funny and sweet too!

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Lol. That was great.

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    Things that bond us, eh?

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Splendid storytelling!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.