Fiction logo

Dead Ringers; Chapter 11

Names

By Katarzyna CrevanPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1

After leaving the bank, we head back to the Day Division station. We have a slight argument about which station we should go to, and I win using the fact that my car is at my station.

Elliot is out working another case, so Miles sits at his desk.

"So, next steps?" He asks me.

"Well, all we know is that the targets are connected by the fact that we're both in positions that are going to get us more power. What were the full details on the Double Doctor case? I have the feeling a lot wasn't released."

Miles shakes his head. "Not here. I'll get you a copy of the files, but if you want to discuss it in the open, we have to go to the Night Division station."

"Fine. Well, outside of the obvious, are there any other connections or parallels to that case?"

Miles thinks for a second. "Not really. If there were any connections between the victims, it was never determined."

I nod. "Great. So, all we have to go on is the connection we have."

"In Thomas Hardy's case, the only people that we know for sure knew were his father, Mr. Haverford, Mr. Nelson, Mrs. Jones, Mr. Nicholson, and Mr. Wyatt," Miles lists.

"And in my case, it was Chief O'Brien, Laci, and Elliot."

"What are their last names?"

"Harper and Rider."

"No obvious overlap."

I nod again. "Yup."

"So, what we actually have is a whole lot of nothing to go off of."

I shake my head. "There has to be something we're missing."

We sit silently, thinking. My concentration is broken when Laci walks across my vision from the chief's office to her office across the hall.

I blink as a wheel starts turning in my mind.

I was interested. If I wanted it, all I had to do was say the words. It was as good as done. It's never that simple.

My head falls left as something clicks.

"Did you think of something?" Miles asks.

"Hold that though," I tell him as I stand up. I see him start standing. "Stay," I tell him, walking off.

I don't bother knocking on Laci's door. She smiles when she sees me. "Hey," she greets as she continues typing.

"Laci, I have a question," I state.

She stops typing to look at me. "You sound very serious."

"It is very serious."

"What do you want to know?"

"Do you remember when Chief O'Brien asked me if I'd be interested in taking his place as chief someday?"

Laci nods. "Of course. After you told me, I told you that you should say yes, because then we'd be working together."

"Yes, but it's still very far in the future."

Laci looks left, then right, before looking back at me. "So? All you have to say is 'yes' and it's yours."

"Exactly!" I exclaim.

Laci blinks. "Did I miss the question?"

I shake my head, shutting my eyes. "No, sorry." I look at her. "You know as well as I do all the politics that go into the selection of new chiefs."

"Of course. Everyone on the town council wants a chief that will be in their pocket, which is why you'd be perfect. Your focus is on doing the job, not making the council look good."

"And most of the council already knows that."

"That was implied."

"So, I would be the council's last choice."

"Yes, probably."

"So, how can the chief be sure that the job will be mine if I want it if the politics have yet to go down and with no knowledge of how far off that could be?"

Laci shrugs. "Connections and the council likes him. As long as he remains in their favor his pick has a good chance of getting the spot."

"But nothing definite."

Laci gives me an annoyed look. "Can you just ask me the question?"

"Laci, for it to be a definite now, who's approval would the chief need to get?"

"No ones. If he can give you his word now that you'd be chief, then he's already discussed it with the council and they've signed on with his decision."

Of course. That opened things up a bit. I stand. "Thank you, Laci. You're a lifesaver."

"You're welcome? How did I help?" She calls after me.

I'm already gone though. Reaching my desk, I plop into my chair. Miles looks at me.

"The council knew," I tell him.

Miles blinks. "Knew what?"

"For the chief to be able to assure me then that I would be chief in the future if I wanted the job, he would have had to also have the council on board with the decision. The council also knew about the chief offering me the job."

Miles sits up. "Mrs. Jones's husband is on the city council."

I nod. "We have a definite link."

"Only one problem. How do you question the most powerful couple in town without causing a media blitz or lawyer frenzy? We can't touch them without any evidence. As far as any judge would be concerned, this is all just speculation."

I shake my head. "We can't get anywhere."

Miles sighs. "I hate to say this, but maybe we should call it quits for today. We can start again tomorrow. We can set up shop at Night Division station. There we can openly talk about full details on both cases."

I rub my face with both hands, then nods. "Might as well." I stand up. "I will see you tomorrow, Miles." I begin collecting my things.

"Miles? When did you decide to drop 'detective'?"

I pause, realizing what I said. When had I stopped referring to him as Detective Miles? I look at him. He's smirking at me. My eyes narrow to a glare as I grab my purse off my desk. "Don't push it."

He holds up his hands in surrender. "Fine. Goodnight, Fullin."

I turn from the desk, holding up a finger. "Strike one."

"What?"

I don't bother glancing back as I walk off. "I said don't push it!"

Series
1

About the Creator

Katarzyna Crevan

Hi! I enjoy writing and have been writing for some years now. I hope you enjoy my writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.