Fiction logo

Darkness and Light

Why?

By Barbara Gode WilesPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Darkness and Light
Photo by Chris Barbalis on Unsplash

Becoming aware of the sound of silence, my eyes adjusted to the darkness. “Where am I?”, I thought. I remember going out with friends last night for drinks at the pub. I think I left around midnight, slightly drunk. Did I make it home? I remember the cab dropping me off at the end of my private road and I walked up the drive. Suddenly, there was someone there. A knife at my throat making one smooth cut. I looked quickly at my killer and mouthed one word. Why? Now I know, death has no light or sound.

Mystery
Like

About the Creator

Barbara Gode Wiles

Barb is a young widow, having lost her husband and best friend at the age of 58. She is now devoted to her two daughters and her two beautiful granddaughters. Her dog is a constant companion.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.