Fiction logo

Dark

swimming through a window

By Emad BlakePublished 3 months ago 2 min read
Like
I have to look through the small window in my room

Stop doing this. Stop. You are the only one to know that. Stop. Please stop!

Why am I the only one? The one who has to know the secret! But I don’t know till now, is it really a secret or not, and also, I still have no idea how to be sure of the truth.

There is a gathering of people who are sitting near me, doing nothing, just looking. Crying, some of them shouting ‘you, you, you’.

It seems to me like a dream, but it is not s dream. I am in real life, and I have to face my fate. I am the only one who has to be patient and listen to those people, what do they want from me?

Dark, dark everywhere, but no silence, no riddance, and no horizons for escape.

I thought it was back far away, far away in my childhood time when all that had happened to me, but I am not sure. I have no evidence to justify, has this happened to me or not.

I was so tired, that I couldn’t sleep well, the overthinking made me like a robot, with no specific direction to go or words to say.

My father was in his room reading. I think so. He loves books, all his life is surrounded by papers, books, and stories. Sometimes I imagine myself as one of the stories he had thought about one day. But that doesn’t mean he is a writer; he is only a reader and has the imagination to have very good stories. Unfortunately, never did before.

In my opinion, I think he has the desire to write something about his life, maybe about me.

I wake up from bed at midnight, still not sleeping, tired, exhausted with no feeling, and dark still everywhere.

I have to look through the small window in my room. I have to see some people walking, shouting, and there was a boy who should know everything. Is that me?

I tried to get rid of the scene in front of me, I thought it might be from my feeling so bad last night.

I have to end my relationship with one of my best friends, as I had been thinking before it was clear to me when I had to see the full hidden picture. He is an enemy of mine and wants to destroy my life.

Still, people shouting outside, in the dark, and suddenly the dark becomes darker, no light, and suddenly there is nothing, but music coming from somewhere! I don’t know!

I shut the window because for me, now, it is very hard to know what is going in front of me, maybe inside my brain. Was that all was an imagination?

But how can I know that? Noting to show, to tell, or to say to me, stop.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Emad Blake

Emad Blake is a Sudanese writer with various published books, mainly novels, he works as a journalist based in London.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.