Fiction logo

Dagda's Cauldron

Dana's Quest Part Two

By Lolita CivicPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

I was surrounded by black feathers, instead of a monster I opted for an animal, a raven. The raven was my spirit animal, the raven had gifts of prophecy and protection. My golden hair shined like the sun, standing out against the backdrop of black. A young man, who was fair and tall, hair like the raging sun was walking towards my father and I. My father’s sadness turned to uneasiness, the change in the atmosphere made me want to run back home and hide in my bed, I was not good with confrontation, I was meek and found it easier to just do what was expected of me. My father made room for this young gentleman, a name that he went by was Cuidightheach, my father arranged with Cuidightheach father for us to be wed by the next full moon. All that I know about my groom to be was that he was tall, handsome with red hair, his father was a carpenter. I never spent any time with him but there was a week until the next full moon and I guess meeting at some point was inevitable.

“Dana, I would like you to meet Cuidightheach.”

He was sitting in between me and my father, our bodies were not close enough to touch but it was still too close for my comfort.

“A pleasure to finally meet you. I am happy that our families have come to this agreement. You seem like a good strong sturdy woman, fine traits to make a good mother and wife.”

I know this may seem fanciful of me, that my ideals are not realistic. But when I thought of marriage and being a wife and a mother, love and friendship was involved. The way that Cuidightheach described it, there was no life, it was grey and boring. I do not even know how to respond to him with that. I nodded and smiled at him.

“Pleasure to meet as you well. I hope that I do not fall short of your expectations.”

“I am sure that you will not fail my expectations.”

He tucked my errant hair behind my ear.

“Because if you do consequences will be had for errant wives.”

I shifted a little be bit back on my seat, needing to have more space between us. Call me crazy but I was curious as to what these so-called consequences was going to be.

“If you don’t mind me asking, sir, but what do these consequences entail?”

My father was clearly uncomfortable, he was folding and re folding his hands in his lap.

“Dana, this is not the time.”

My father rarely scolded me, I sunk down into my chair, ashamed of voicing my opinion. I do not know what I was thinking, curiosity got the better of me.

“I am sorry father.”

Looking Cuidightheach straight in his eyes, though they were dancing with amusement which upset me more than it should have.

“I am sorry for my rudeness.”

I bowed my head, sorry and contrite for my insolence.

“You are forgiven sweet Dana.”

His hands went around my neck, pulling me closer towards him, his face once attractive was a sneer, matching the rest of the monsters.

“Do it again and you will be finding yourself tied to our bed counting out lashes. I am your husband and I do expect obedience.”

“Yes sir.”

My neck was bruised and raw, my father just sat there, no defence, just a look of sadness and shame. My father, even though he was overprotective, and he would get nervous if I ventured out of his sight was never truly affectionate towards me. I could only assume that all his affections went when my mother did, he had nothing left but that shattered soul. I still loved him, he was my blood, there was no blame, I could not even fathom what it would be like to lose your soul mate.

“I will see you my dear Dana, Monday, when the moon is at its fullest, perfect time to come together with mutual intentions, the full moon making those intentions stronger. I want you carrying my sons as soon as possible.”

He let my neck go, putting my mask in place, making sure that I looked in place and proper. He bowed to my father and then left our presence. I pleaded to my father through my eyes, but I was denied.

“Excuse me father, may I leave for a moment just to get a closer look at the fire.”

He gave me a tight smile and a slight squeeze of my shoulder giving me an affirmative answer. I kissed my father’s cheek, knowing the pain that we were both feeling but bound by pact and bound by strengthening our families. I felt the warmth of the fire all over my skin, I was lost in my own world, trying to escape the struggles that I was going to have put on me in a couple of days. I did not feel the presence behind me, looking at the fire, getting rid of the old and taking in on the new, my negative thoughts and my bad habit’s slipping away and becoming a new Dana. Fire was there to protect her and everyone else in her village against the Fomorians, this was the beginning of the new. Before I could react, my mouth was covered with a hand, I tried to pry them off, but these hands were too big and strong, I was no match against a man, as I just found out prior to this incident with Cuidightheach. I felt guilty about leaving my father’s side. Whatever that was about to happen to me was not going to compare to the pain and the suffering that my father was going to be inflicted with. I just wish that I just stayed where I was, with my father, regardless of all the anger and the hurt that I was feeling. I should have just stayed and enjoyed a hearty meal with my ancestors. But whatever wishes that fell from the silence meant nothing as I was dragged away from the safety of the celebrations that were being had. I was being surrounded by wildflowers, more colours than I could even imagine was surrounding me. Wherever this stranger had dragged me to, it was a place that I had never been before. I had never seen such beauty in one setting before. At least if I were going to die, it would be in the presence of infinite beauty. Maybe this was a answer to my prayers, the Gods way of getting me out of being married on Monday. That at least was a comforting thought. A figure stepped in front of me, a small gasp escaped my lips, I thought what I was surrounded by was stunning, but oh how wrong I was. Compared to this specimen this field dull lustre. He was the epitome of beauty and love, even the birds could not keep themselves away from the light that was emanating from him, surrounding him like he was a magnet. Was this man even real or did I just happen to fall asleep in front of the fire and I was not even taken at all, but I was just in a dream state. But all I could do was stare at this glorias being. I was too stunned to speak, what could I possibly say to this ethereal being? Even when my name left his lips, words were still paused. His voice was the twinkling lights in the night sky, diamonds cutting through my soul. “Are you alright lass?”

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Lolita Civic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.